We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!. May be a little less!...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miller's Guest House
Ranked #8 of 92 Tobago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!. May be a little less!...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

You get what you pay for!... Very basic rooms, wash basin next to your bed, bed cover for blankets, no wifi signal anywhere in the place and the owner accepted it, wildlife all around you. I am not joking, there are a bunch of roosters which start screaming about 4 in the morning and stop around 10AM. So if you don't care much about sleeping on vacations, go ahead. There are also cats which just walk around freely. Its great if you like all these animals around you with no control but i just wish i was told before about it. The owner, Winston is actually quite helpful although he thought were trying to steal his towels and called us back from the cab when we were leaving, instead of just looking properly in the room!... Like I said, you get what you pay for, may be a little less!...

Room Tip: Dont stay in Bucco. It looks nice on the map but is in very remote location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajgopal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mghvibe, General Manager at Miller's Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
It is unfortunate that your accommodations and overall experience here was not to your satisfaction. At all times we strive to interact with our guest so as to ensure their concerns and needs are addressed in an efficient and expedient manner . In regards to the colorful "wildlife" reference, I must admit being located in a rural area/environment roosters/chickens are not uncommon and in this regard we are somewhat constrained relative to controlling their natural urges/tendencies for this I apologize. I do wonder though how can one control cats from walking about freely?? Nonetheless the unit reserved was well documented on our site {both visually & content} , and in our various email exchanges prior to arrival we answered all your queries candidly so it is somewhat paradoxical that you would initially refer to the accommodation as "basic" and summarize said review by saying "you get what you pay for" Finally on the initial examination of the room post check out ,one towel was not visible/located, therefore the client was requested to return {as they had not yet left} so as to inform/indicate as to where said towel was located, no accusations of theft {on our part} were made, as it is standard operating procedure for us to check the room inventory as soon as the client vacates the respective room. Hopefully we would again have the opportunity to offer our services/accommodation to you in the not too distant future with a view to an exponential improvement to our service/product offered. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    63
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
54
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed several nights at Miller's in early June and had a really nice time. The accommodations are simple, but for us the location was just perfect. We arrived in time for "Sunday School" the weekly street party,which was within walking distance. Word of warning: bring earplugs! From our room we could hear the steel drum bands which was great, except they played until around 5:00 AM - don't plan on getting much sleep! But other than that night, it was very quiet at Millers. The motel is right on the bay with plenty of fishing and sightseeing boats coming and going. There is a small dock right outside the motel and we were entertained watching the ""catch of the day" coming in and all the activity involved. There is a tiny little beach area just out back of the motel, and I did see one couple swimming there, but a better option would be to walk a little to the left, past the plaza area to an absolutely beautiful stretch of sandy beach that stretches to the other side of the Bay. We were told it was safe to go there, just don't bring any valuables along. The other reason we chose this location was that it was just around the corner from the Healing With Horses Facility which offers riding tours. As far as the amenities, the restaurant is right on the property and has a small bar. It is closed on Mondays, but they have a breakfast, lunch & dinner menu most other times. We had dinner there and it was very good, prices seemed Ok. And the beer was cold! We had an efficiency apt., so were able to heat up water for coffee, but you'll need to bring your own supplies. The motel fact sheet mentioned a communal kitchen, but we never checked that out. Wi-Fi seemed to work best outside in a "tiki hut" area with some picnic benches and a thatched roof, just to the left when you entered the grounds. Winston the manager was very accommodating, and the rest of the staff was very pleasant too. They have a laundry service, or if you choose to wash out your own things there was a clothesline available. Our apt. #8 had a tiny balcony with a great view, a separate living area, a full size kitchen, separate bedroom, adequate bath with shower, no tub. Fridge was full size and worked great. Gas stove, small microwave. Husband says the small TV was lacking, I never even bothered to check it out, since the views outside were much more entertaining! The bed was pretty comfortable, maybe could have used a couple more pillows. The AC worked well, but we needed to make sure to keep the bathroom door closed as there was an open area (maybe a transom?) above the mirror cabinet and we didn't want to be sending the cold air out. There is a small open patio with some wooden chairs, when it rained (briefly) we retreated to the "tiki hut" with the picnic tables. All in all we enjoyed it, but we are more location based than amenity based. If you're looking for a resort experience, this property probably isn't right for you. If you're looking for good value, great service, and a relaxing atmosphere it's a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect to recharge batteries after working in Trinidad. Buccoo is a sleepy place and doesn't have much to offer itself but the beach is breath-taking and deserted. Lovely helpful staff. Attached restaurant nice, but a little overpriced. Be warned you must pay in cash for rooms and wifi is poor with handheld devices. Perhaps a message from the gods to put the iPhone down and enjoy the view and different pace of life. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you are looking for an affordable,friendly place to stay in the beautiful village of Buccoo, Miller's Guest House is the place. my husband & I would recommend Miller's Guest House which is located right on the beautiful Buccoo Bay.There is a lovely restaurant on the premises with warm friendly staff, and Winston the owner makes you feel very welcomed.
I would definitely be going back to Miller's in the not too distant future.
Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Miller's Guest House for a few days in March and had a great time! At a very affordable price (relative to other accommodations on the island), you are right on Buccoo Bay, one of the best spots on Tobago, with plenty of boats to take you on a fishing/snorkeling adventure. There are even lots of food options nearby if you don't want to dine at El Pescador, the restaurant at Miller's, which serves up delicious food (I had very tasty fish). One of the nicest aspects of Miller's is its proprietor Winston, who was very friendly and conversant in economics and politics that kept us up fairly late one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Me and a group of friends stayed at Millers for three nights. We booked two rooms, a family dorm and a two person apartment. Right from the start Winston, the owner, was prompt to answer my emails giving me all the information I needed. I sent a lot of emails with lots of questions all of which were answered.

Two drivers had been arranged to take us from the airport to the guest house and when we arrived WInston was on hand to greet us give us a litter tour. Throughout the stay he would also make sure everything was fine and we were enjoying our stay.

For the price we paid we were extremely happy with the location and rooms. The apartment overlooked the stunning bay in front. The beds were comfortable, they were air conditioned. Pots and pans if we wanted to cook, a fridge, towels were also provided.

Overall our stay at Millers Guest House was amazing. Our first day we were able to drop our bags in the room and walk around the bay and have a tip in the sea! Everyone who worked in the restaurant on site were lovely and gave us some great tips for the trip.

If any at Millers are reading this thank you so much for having us and we definitely want to come back :D

Room Tip: Get the apartment that has a view over the bay. It is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naylovesu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My girlfriend and I spent three nights at Millers Guest House this past week and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Millers was everything we hoped it would be and we would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to avoid the hectic resorts in favor of a more intimate, relaxed vacation in Tobago.

Location - Right on the bay in Buccoo. There is a fishing dock that you can look out on and see the days catch. You are a five minute stroll out of the back gate to a beautiful, often private beach perfect for swimming and soaking in the sun. There are also ample food options including the onsite El Pescador which offers delicious, fresh food. Make sure to stay here on a Sunday as Buccoo is the site for "Sunday School" - basically a block party with good music, shopping and street food! Buccoo felt safe to wander around and was an excellent launching point for excursions around the island.

Service - Winston and the staff were always around and available when we had questions. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. What more could you ask for?

We chose Millers Guest House because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and I am happy to report that Millers exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobago hotels
3.1 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
2.7 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
2.4 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's Guest House

Property: Miller's Guest House
Address: #14 Miller's Street | Buccoo, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Tobago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miller's Guesthouse is situated in the rustic fishing village of Buccoo Point, the property overlooks Buccoo Bay official departure point to the world famous Buccoo Reef. Buccoo Point is located 6.5 miles West of the main ferry terminal {Scarborough} and 3.5 miles North of the A.N.R International airport. The accommodation offered is varied in nature with emphasis being placed on affordability,convenience&functionality.Located on the Southern end of the property is the restaurant El Pescador, the cuisine is themed after a Latin/Caribbean food fusion that is a gastronomic delight and served in an ambient atmosphere with the picturesque backdrop of Buccoo bay completing the exhilarating experience.We here at Miller's give our professional guarantee that your holiday will not only be affordable but memorable as well!! We look forward to serving you....God Bless!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Miller's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller's Guest House Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing