We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely beach and village”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castara Bay

Ranked #5 of 98 things to do in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely beach and village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Castara is our favourite place in Tobago where the rain forest tumbles down to the very pretty, village and its two lovely sandy bays, Big Bay and Little Bay or Heavenly Bay, both of which offer lovely swimming and snorkelling. We preferred the main beach which we found clean and uncrowded; most days we were the only people on it! Snorkelling highlights included spotting eels, rays, squid and turtles.
Castara is an unspoilt, very friendly and welcoming fishing village. You can watch the fishermen at work pulling in the seine nets and purchase fish from them at excellent prices. There are a number of good restaurants/cafes where you can sample tasty Caribbean cuisine- the Almond tree and Marguarite's being our favourites. We also enjoyed time in Marvin's bar, liming with the local people and stopping for coffee at Chino's which offers excellent breakfasts.
There is a very pretty waterfall, a refreshing alternative to the sea and just a 10/15 minute walk from the beach. If you are in Castara on a Wednesday or Saturday don't miss ordering freshly made bread and cakes, baked in the traditional clay oven.
Castara Bay is a delightful place for a day trip or holiday base with a number of accommodation options.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank jjlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    69
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best beach on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This had to be my most favourite beach of them all (and we certainly saw lots of them during our 2 week stay!). Slightly out of the way, secluded and with the most beautiful views. Can safely sit under the shade of the coconut palms. There is a small restaurant and Mr Taylor, the owner is happy for you to use the bathroom there throughout the day. A small shop for drinks also.
Lovely warm seas, great for snorkelling, swimming, and fishing off the rounds round the edge of the bay. Saw several large stingrays swimming in the shallows just minding their own business and enjoying the sunshine. This was much to the delight of the family! A fantastic day out. It really does feel like paradise on earth here. You MUST go!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Restful visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

2 small bays to the middle north of the island, 40 minute scenic drive from Scarborough. The beach was not full, but there were about 30 people there on a Wednesday. Green waters, calm enough to swim in. Some friends went snorkelling and saw - a green turtle, a ray, a school of squid, and of course lots of fish. I found just lying on the sand or mooching about in the water very restful and relaxing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olaivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Spot in nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

A beach so beautiful but spoiled with trash..wonderful waves and friendly people..it's a beach where you want to stay for a while..it's safe and small children were snorkelling here..just another beauty on this Island

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Assie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not the best but lots of baby frogs hopping about on the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We enjoyed some of the other beaches much more but were intrigued by hundreds of baby frogs about as big as small spiders, hopping everywhere on the beach>

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Imatravellinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castara Bay also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Scarborough, Tobago
 

Been to Castara Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing