We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A nice place with a beautiful view in a nature...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plantation View

pool and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool and garden
verandah kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
pool and garden
verandah
kitchen
Large spacious kitchen with washer etc. overlooking front garden.
pool table
pool table
lounge area
TV lounge
Master bedroom
upstairs bedroom
family bedroom dwonstairs
family bedroom
View over the lowlands of Tobago
View of the garden
Garden
Porch
visitors to the villa.... a pair parakeets
woodpecker visiting
View over the lowlands at night
Ideal space for bar.b.q's
Upstairs Layout
Downstairs Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
pierredic...
La Plata, Maryland
2 reviews
“Not as good as it looked in the picture”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

First, let’s start with the good. The house itself is beautiful, and the scenery overlooking the bay is breathtaking. The grounds were impeccably kept, and the mosquitoes were not as bad as I was preparing for. The house itself is beautifully designed, but I would make two suggestions; (1) get better mattresses for the rooms, (2) each individual room should be able to control its own AC temperature. I am also happy that someone was able to meet us near the airport, because we would have never found the house on our own…never.

Now to the bad. The house would have been extremely difficult to find if it were not for the guide that was waiting for us near the airport. Many turns, and poorly lit areas, would have most people lost very quickly. The house was not very clean, i.e. dusty and a nasty smell coming from the kitchen area in the basement added to the initial let down. The room I stayed in had two uninvited guest, i.e. birds making a nest in the light fixture facing the bed. Not a welcome site when you are spending $300 plus dollars (USD) per night. In addition, I went to take a shower and noticed the shower handle was broken, which prevented me from turning the shower on. I had to call the management staff in order to have this repaired. Again, this is something that should have been easily picked up if staff had actually reviewed and cleaned the room prior to our arrival.

In addition, when I read your advertisement that included a description entailing a “hot tub”, that’s what I expected. Instead, there was no “hot tub”, because it was not heated. This was also a huge let down, because I really wanted to use that feature of the house.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review . All of the issues have been addressed . But I can't do anything about the roads and lighting on the roads leading to the villa . Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwd2015
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place with a beautiful view in a nature loving setting.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family at the end of June 2015. It is on a hill overlooking the sea shore. It is a little removed but surprisingly close to things when you get settled. You will take a winding road to get to the house which takes about 5 minutes from the main road by the Grafton Hotel. There is a nice beach called Grafton beach just before you head up to the house on the main road. The road that Plantation View is on is undergoing some construction so it can be paved and improved but usable. If you like a natural setting and a view that is beautiful this is a great spot. Having morning breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea coast is very relaxing. You can hear an abundance of birds in the trees and flying overhead. The grounds are well kept with nice flowers and plants. There is plenty of rooms that can fit a family of 10. The greatest thing is that they all have there own bathrooms with showers. The swimming pool was nice to relax in and is just big enough for all to enjoy. There is an outdoor shower next to the pool which is nice. There is some furniture to use by the pool but may need to be updated. The location gives you nice breezes in the evening to enjoy the weather. Furniture is good and comfortable. Beds are good as well but don't expect luxury bed like a hotel. Bathrooms were all in very good condition and the water pressure was great. On top of that there is a hot water heater which is nice for warm showers.
I have rented houses in many places so as a traveler you have to take into consideration the location and what are the normal housing conditions of your surroundings. With that in mind I would like to see a few improvements. Being a tropical climate there are bugs that will come into the home. If your from Florida, USA you know the deal. I would suggest adding some screen doors and window screens to reduce the bugs from coming into the home. The linens on the bed can be improved upon to show a little more inspiration to such a nice home. I few more television in the rooms would be nice to keep the kids busy.
All in all it was a nice stay. Barry was very nice to deal with on TripAdvisor and his local property manager Collin was equally as nice in person. Collin was always available and only lives a couple of houses away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the sea shore and the openness of the house.
Liked least: Bedding and the bugs.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your comments on your stay and about the villa .I am glad you had a good time and i will look into the matters you mentioned .Thank you .Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cher0601
East Elmhurst, New York
1 review
“Spacious and Private. Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This house is about 20 minutes from the Crown Point Airport. It has plenty of space. Collin, the care taker was very helpful, and available when we needed help with anything.
The view of the city lights is stunning, and breath taking. You also have a view of the ocean. The landscaping is beautiful. This is a perfect place to relax and enjoy peace and tranquility. The beaches are 10 minutes away and also shopping areas. All the rooms have baths and toilets, which was a plus for us. The kitchen is huge and the pool was a plus. My family and I had a wonderful stay. I will recommend this place to others and I will stay there for future vacations.
Thank you Barry for letting us enjoy your beautiful place.
Cheryl

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space and the view
Liked least: It is a few miles away from the beach.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Hi Thank you for letting me and other people how much you liked and enjoyed your stay .Thank you for your comments about the villa i am so pleased you enjoyed it .I will look forward to you staying again .Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexGrimm...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views, great villa.”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great villa for large group of friends with all facilities provided. Nice to relax in the jacuzzi and swimming pool. Accomodation is at the top of a mountain which gives amazing views and is well secluded, but be prepared to drive or use taxi. Overall great value for money. Can't wait to go back !!!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2015
Hi Thank you for letting me and other people know that you enjoyed your stay at my villa and Tobago .I will look forward to you staying again some time and will look forward to welcoming your friends .Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven In Tobago”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have stayed here on a previous occasion and again i was not disappointed. Sitting on the balcony in the morning and the evening looking out towards the sea is just wonderful. The views are awesome. We went with some friends and they were equally impressed especially at the airy and spacious accommodation. I had read some of the previous reviews and have to say i do wonder what people expect! There was a comment on the electricity being different and the lights low powered!! This is Tobago and that is all part of being there, the electricity is not the same and as the UK or US for example. I love these things it shows what Tobago is really like. The owners were very accommodating. I would strongly recommend this villa which is not too far from the airport, the beaches or the shops. A trip round the island through the rain forest is also very worthwhile with other beaches to visit en route.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the pool, the beaches.
Liked least: Tobago roads leave a little to be desired but - thats Tobago
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2015
Thank you for leaving you thoughts on my villa it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to you staying again some time .Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday hideaway, return visit”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Yet again Plantation View exceeded our expectations as we had another fabulous stay at the villa. The accommodation was a good as we remembered with some nice upgrades on seating and décor. The pool and gardens all very well maintained and a delight to relax in overlooking the tremendous views that has to be one of the outstanding features of the villa. All the facilities again were excellent which made our stay so relaxing and trouble free. Car hire was organized by the owners prior to our visit which made our meet and greet and island travelling so much easier, well worth asking for advice. So another amazing holiday at Plantation View which all our party thoroughly enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views from the balcony
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
Hi thank you for your review and for staying at plantationview again . I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming back another time . Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Hi thank you for your review . I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the villa . I would look forward to you retuning for another stay . Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;