We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant

Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited the Salsa Kitchen twice recently, firstly in May (just my hubby and I) then again in June (party of 4). Amazing freshly prepared food by great hosts Ian & Pauline. THE place to eat in Scarborough.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JillyatSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    19
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I visited Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant last weekend and had one of the best meals and experiences I've ever had.

We got lost on the way to the restaurant and called- the owner was a very jovial, good-humored gentleman who knew exactly where we were and led us to the restaurant. It's a beautiful place, hidden off the road but decorated with lights and a great ambience. (Just some advice- the map on this website is wrong, and they have tried to correct it- it might be better to call and ask for directions, or take a taxi).

The menu was delicious, and the service was prompt, friendly, and warm.

We had some really yummy goat cheese tapas, calamari, and the lamb special with some tamarind sauce over it. The meat was tender and really flavorful. We also tried out the garlic bread and it was wonderful. The owner was always checking on us for food and for drinks, and for friendly conversation.

It was affordable as well, which we appreciated since there tends to be tourist traps around the island for dinner choices.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who visits the island of Tobago.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
184 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I visited this quaint restaurant recently for dinner. The place is very small, it's someone's house converted into a restaurant in the gallery area... You need reservations here because there were only 4 tables out that night... The lamb and seafood tapas were very tasty and so was the garlic bread which we were advised to try, which was similar to an indian 'naan' bread. The tapas were a bit pricey and smallish portions, but they were very flavourful. They do not have a wide variety of drinks but the house wine was good. This is not a fancy place at all but the food made up for the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ADM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best restauraunt on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

You can't ask for friendlier owners. The food is amazing. There is no other food on the island that compares. This is the best food on the island. AMAZING.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Finney2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sublime skills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

If you want ordinary - don't come here. If you want fine dining don't come here. If you want fresh ingredients, skilfully prepared with flavours enhanced by innovative combinations of herbs and spices, then this is the place for you. Tobago tapas style plates which focus on intensifying the taste experience, accompanied by homemade garlic flatbread and a choice of salads. Rest assured it takes sublime skills to make food this good and a passion for sharing it with others. Magic!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank christopher289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing