We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serving creole lunch”

Basil's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serving creole lunch”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

While our month stay in tobago we visited this restaurant almost very night getting to understand they served creole food for lunch what a meal creole fry fish an coconut shrimp simply delicious as other restaurant served fried food so not our style at lunch time but surely return

Helpful?
Thank christosteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected!!!!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I had a reservation for another restaurant, while passing by Basil I decided to stop in for a drink.
The atmosphere was great, it has character I decided to stay. It was certainly a good decision.
Dinner was excellent!! The part time waitress was very friendly. I certainly recommend BASILS to locals and tourist. It's works for family and a nice romantic dinner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply but amazing”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

At first i thought this place was still under the same mangement ashton upon realising its not this place is now run under the name basils as in the seasoning leaf which i find is very creative an unusual so there we are a party of 9 no reservation just enter on curiosity it was well worth it we decided to order diffrent dishes to put this restaurant to a test for apitizers where crab cakes garden salad callaloo herb soup its the best callaloo soup ive ever eaten i had to order another to take away for main basils meat platter seafood pasta king prawn an catch top it all all 9 parties couldnt be better we ask to see the chef surprisinly it was a young woman in which i dought it much she greated us with all smiles an chat with us getting to find out shes also the owner of basils awww so nice to see what she have done as a young woman ms basils i cannot remember your name but u no we will definitely be back an we will spread the wrd so have faith and hold on god bless

Helpful?
Thank christosteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Rock, Tobago
2 reviews
“Excellent service great food”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Some friends and myself drove by this place an was so amaze by the ambience all the diffrent colour lighting so we took the cell number of the main sign an call to make a reservation a party of 5 we so not sorry at all i must say great service excellent cocktails 3 of my friends had the crab cake soup an shrimp cocktail for our main we had basils meat platter kingprawn an catch an pork tenderloin serve on crips bacon fresh catch of day and they where all anazing the vegetables where fresh i must say this restaurant is a must try u cant go wrong with the prices either they surely meet your pocket

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natashaslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Basil's is formally known as Melange. The service was good, atmosphere inviting and the food was impeccable. A must visit in Tobago!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Basil's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing