We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A rustic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Fort Cottage

Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bedroom 2 - with queen sized bed and en suite bathroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bedroom 2 - with queen sized bed and en suite bathroom
Living Room
Bedroom 1 - 2 full sized beds
Beautiful blooms
Fully equipped kitchen
Hammocks
Breakfast nook
Cozy reading nook
View of Scarborough from the back porch.
Sunset view from historic Fort King George - just a short stroll away...
Holiday lights
View of side deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Scarborough, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rachelle...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rustic getaway”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Fort cottage was so beautiful. The perfect mixture of a rustic historic house and a modern decor. As the description says, the house has been there for many years and yes the floors do creak but we loved the homey feel. The bedrooms are great size and can sleep 6 or 7 comfortably.
The view is spectacular! Sunrises and sunsets that will just make your day. We quite enjoyed feeding the resident chickens off of the balcony. They don't bother you they just like food lol

On the inside of the house, the kitchen is not modernized but clean and comfortable. The living room has great seating and a flat screen TV with DVD player or Hdmi connector that you can play movies from your laptop etc. WiFi 24/7.
It's literally 5 minutes away from the port if you are taking you car like I did. I recommend it. Tobago is so much more enjoyable when you can do everything on your own pace.

The fort cottage was really a fantastic stay. A home away from home and the owner is very accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your generous review. Please come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R H
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Cottage made us feel welcome and at home...”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed the cottage, fruit trees, and chickens minus the mosquitoes. The fruit trees were the highlight for me since I hadn't been home in 13+ years. I was in Julie mango, chennette, zabuka aka avocado, sapodilla, and soursop heaven. If you're local or familiar with fruits of the Caribbean you'll understand what I mean.

The view from the deck was fantastic, and the distance to Fort George was less than 10 minutes for an even more fantastic view overlooking Scarborough, Tobago and surrounding areas.

Given the opportunity to stay here again we certainly would.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
We are really glad we could help make your homecoming even better. You came at the perfect season for fruits too. Come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint cottage, charming touches throughout.”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage with all the necessary amenities in place. It doesn’t take long to truly become attached to the house, fruit trees and even the chickens. It’s a short stroll to Fort George for the panoramic views and a quick drive gets you to a choice of many beaches and restaurants nearby. Our group had enough seating and comfortable lounging areas, including hammocks, throughout the Cottage – we never felt crowded. We cooked, hung out and rested. It was great to relax. I didn’t want to leave and will definitely come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gathering on the back porch, the option to pick fruits
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review. We are really happy you enjoyed the place as much as we do. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, Comfortable and Rustic”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I loved the house. It reminded me of my days growing up and it brought back a lot of memories. The fruit trees and pet chickens in the yard. It's a little oasis located in the heart of the Captial. Cant ask for a better combination of the "ole time days" with all the modern amenities. I would visit again without a doubt.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was not anything that I did not like.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Historic House ”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at this guest house for 6 days. I must say we had a great time and felt very comfortable. The kitchen we used a lot to cook, all utensils included, with a big refrigerator and stove. There was also a new washer and dryer which came in very useful for us. The view is overlooking Scarborough and the Fort King George is 1 minute walk away. We had a great time there, we took some pictures and gain some knowledge about the island. We will definitely return to this place for our Tobago vacation. I would like to thank Chris and Glenn for keeping available anytime we needed them. God bless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for the review and for the tips you gave us in person.

We look forward to your return.
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valanddav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming historic house”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fort Cottage is in a wonderful position with sea views over Scarborough and within easy walking distance of Fort King George. It is spacious and has a lovely verandah at the back overlooking the garden which has a lot of flowering trees attracting many birds and butterflies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden outlook
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael B
Scarborough, Tobago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Over the Christmas holiday, my family came to Tobago for a Tobago Christmas and stayed at the Fort Cottage. The biggest regret was not staying longer! They loved everything about the cottage. The house has been refurbished with modern touches to meet your everyday needs, yet still retains its historic character. My family was able to cook a full traditional Christmas dinner without having to go out and purchase anything but the food to cook! The home was also tastefully decorated for the Christmas holiday which was a thoughtful touch, so much so that my family felt right at home.
The cottage is cozy and can comfortably accommodate six people. The view from the lovely back veranda is stunning both day and night. You can also relax in the hammocks under the house and take a nap during the day. There are many cozy nooks in the cottage where you can sit and read a book (you don’t have to bring any because they have an eclectic collection at the cottage) or just relax and enjoy the cool breeze that comes through the well ventilated home.
The beaches in the main tourist areas are a short car ride away. Fort George, one of the main tourist attractions in Tobago, is in walking distance of the cottage and access to Pennysavers in Scarborough (one of the main supermarkets in Tobago) is easy.
If you are looking to have a true Tobagonian experience in a setting that is a home away from home, the Fort Cottage is the ideal spot for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, coziness of the cottage, how well stocked it is and the juxtaposition of historic features with modern ammenities.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing