We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overheated and saw one bird”
Review of Little Tobago

Little Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tiny island off the coast of Tyrrel's Bay, also known as Bird of Paradise, that has been transformed into a wildlife reserve popular among birdwatchers.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overheated and saw one bird”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were in Tobago in November 2013, so, to be fair, it WAS the rainy season with super-high humidity. While we were on the island there was no breeze at all, so we were dripping with sweat before even starting up the steep trail. We saw only one bird - underwhelming for sure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MacnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    31
    5
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Looking at Little Tobago”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We toured the island of Tobago with a guide and we had lunch at Jemma's Tree House which has an excellent view of Little Tobago. We were there to write an article on the destination for the magazine The Light Magazine. The restaurant has an excellent view of the island and we also visited Blue Waters Inn which also overlooks Little Tobago island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussytraveler440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for birdwatching”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We are keen birders, and loved our trip to little Tobago. A guide is definitely recommended. We went with Peter Cox Nature Tours, and I would highly recommend going with him if you are interested in wildlife. He was very professional and a nature enthusiast, and he even took us to see a bird we had never seen before (blue backed manakin) the following day (for free!) because he was interested in seeing it too! We took a glass bottom boat to the island, spent an hour or so on the island (saw brown boobies, mot mot, tropic birds). Then we spent another hour or so snorkeling where we saw fantastic corals and fish. Peter Cox tours also included lunch at "Miss Jemma's Treehouse restaurant" overlooking the Speyside bay. The final stop is at the Argyle waterfalls, a fresh water pool.Highly recommended tour, especially for birders!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nomahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boat trip out of Blue Waters Hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We just turned up at the hotel looking to get onto a trip across to the island (they go at 14:00 according to the lady at the Bird Watchers restaurant), and were met by Jordan who got us on the right boat. The trip across was fast and not too bumpy although I understand others have had rough crossings. The boat took about 15 minutes to reach Little Tobago and then we were led up the winding path past the new museum being shown Motmot and Hermit crabs on the way. At the top of a fairly steep climb you reach a viewpoint where you can see down to the seabird cliffs and the jewels of the island are revealed. Our guide was very good at pointing out the different types of birds to those who needed his help but was switched on enough to spot the keen birders and point out specialities to them as well.
Even better - when this bit of the trip was finished we all marched back down to the jetty and those who were not interested in snorkelling were ferried straight back to the mainland while the swimmers were left on Little Tobago for half an hour to themselves before the boat returned to take them on to their reef destination - I had thought we were going to have to kick our heels on the boat for an hour while they swam but we didn't.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birding heaven”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Took a glass bottom boat out to the island with birding guide, Newton George. Hike the island seeing all kinds of spectacular birds, many nesting. Came upon a pommerac tree with ripe fruit and enjoyed each juicy bite. A must see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zobofb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Tobago also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Northeast Coast, Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Little Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing