We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family escape to the Caribbean!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northeast Coast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandcastles Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We are a family of four, two thirty something parents with two small boys. One of the reasons we decided to contact Sandcastles in Castara was because other families reported that they had had a great stay there and that it is run by a family with small kids themselves.
We were not disappointed! We spent three weeks plus in the large apartment atop the house and enjoyed having a large central space partially open to a big starry or sunny sky, a gorgeous sea view, flanked by two bedrooms that practically separate kids and parents, each side with its own spacious bathroom, fronted by a well equipped kitchen at the entrance. The apartment feels safe to stay in, has sufficient space outside for play and a shady refuge when the midday sun gets too hot.
A big plus was the hosts' willingness to support our stay in ways like giving us good contacts to do exploration tours, car rental connections or take us on a half-day trip to Scarborough market and Pennysavers. It was most welcome and helpful of Adam to take us on a walk though the village and beach area on the first day to point out where one can shop for what. To have a knowledgable and generous host that can explain, suggest and advice readily available allowed us to quickly familiarize ourselves with the area and to understand what this cozy little village is all about.
The location is a bit up the hill, about 500m up a hill along the road to the west, so if pushing a push-cart to the beach or for shopping, be prepared to get some leg-excercise while you're at it. On the other hand, it was great to be able to regularly enjoy fresh and delightful dishes served by the hosts right on the balcony at sunset after a day of Castara beach exploration.
Adam and his family have a couple of friendly pets, a female dog that is friendly and a chicken that laid us one beautiful egg each day. Close to the house there is a little kiosk from which you can buy water and some basic supplies, this is practical since this means that you need to carry less things up the hill. We decided not to have a car during the majority of our stay, this worked fine for us, but if you would like to rent a car there is space for parking in front of the house.
We can warmly recommend Sandcastles apartments and restaurant for anyone that is looking for a genuine Castara vacation. We only found a telephone number to contact Sandcastles on the mytobago site but he set up his facebook info-page (http://www.facebook.com/sandcastlestobago) while we were there to make it easier to get in touch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I visited here in novemeber 2010 and was more than pleased with the great food,ambience and family atmosphere ! my friends,family and i spent the evening there being waited on hand,foot and finger.the head chef went out of his way to ensure we had the finest quality red snapper ( caught that day ) and fresh veggies to go with it.his adorable children,lizzie and laura also kept us company till it was time for bedtime ! great views also and the manageress Nickisha was on hand to offer us tips and travel advice on the island.would visit again,if ever i went back to the caribbean,thanks for a wonderfull evening !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justinmarley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

My boyfreind and I recenctly stayed at Sandcastles. We stayed in the smaller apartment which was very spacious and worked well for us since we had tons of bags. We had supper at the restaurant which was the best meal during our vacation. I had red snapper with capers and my boyfreind had roast pork in a wine sauce. The apartment was stocked with great books and recent DVDs. The house has a beautiful view of Castara Bay. Adam and Ria were great hosts and made us feel welcome in new town.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kgirlmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2006

We stayed 9 nights in August at the nice guesthouse Sandcastles in the small village Castara (with about 1050 inhabitants) in Tobago. This was our first visit to Tobago, but not the last!
Already when we read about this place we got the right feeling.
The centre of Castara and the beautiful beach was only a 5 minutes walk from Sandcastles.
We rent the whole 2-Bedroom Apartment on the upper floor. It was very clean, and we had a marvellous view, and even from the bed we could watch the sky with the stars and fireflies. On the backside of the apartment we had our own garden, ‘next door’ to the rainforest.
For those who are bird lovers there are plenty of beautiful birds to watch from the verandas.
The hosts Adam and Ria were nice and warm people and took so good care of us, they were always there for us when we needed help.
We did also have the pleasure to play with their lovely little daughter Elisabeth. As we are dog-lowers it was an extra bonus with the three nice dogs Big Boy, Xina and Marbles, beside that it made us feel safe living at Sandcastles.
The flat was self-catering, but you could also order dinner in Adams small restaurant, and so we did some times. The Shrimps and the Tenderloin was marvellous, but the Pumpkin soup was our favourite. Together with a good bottle of wine it was a relaxed and homely atmosphere sitting dining at the terrace, and talking with Adam and Ria. We felt like having our own home, and were sad to leave the place and our friends Adam and Ria.
We rent a car which made it easy to se other parts of the island. Tobago is so green and beautiful, and the people are very friendly.
We highly recommend Sandcastles.

Jytte and Roger

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Rotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sandcastles Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastles Holiday Apartments

Address: Castara Main Rd | Bay Top, Castara, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Northeast Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Northeast Coast
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sandcastles Holiday Apartments Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing