We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Gem!”
Review of Gloucester Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northeast Coast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloucester Place
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived at Gloucester Place late in the evening, having rented a car and navigated our way (driving on the left side of the road with immense caution) through the island in the dark. Not an easy drive in the dark. To say we arrived feeling somewhat fragile would be an understatement. But Bea and Win, the incredible, gracious owners of Gloucester Place greeted us with beers and food and open arms. We stayed the first two nights in the main house of the B&B, our room was spacious and airy, as is the whole house. One of the best features of the house is the amazing balcony, that juts out over the hillside and overlooks the infinity pool and and the ocean below. The house itself is open and lovely.

After the first two nights, we moved into the cabin, 20 yards up the driveway away from the main house. This was the best bit of our stay. We loved the self sufficiency of the full, open kitchen, the wall of windows that opens onto a beautiful hillside covered with trees & flowers. And the cabin itself is simple, spacious, open-plan and elegant. Off the kitchen is a porch where we spent hours lounging, watching local birds come and go from the feeders hanging above. A bonus was Wonder, Bea & Win's dog, who befriended us and would come up every now again to check up on us and hang out. Don't be turned off by his initial barking. He's a lovely, sweet (and intelligent) dog.

The place down the street is a local bar/dance place with an irregular, strange schedule of being open/closed. But if you're looking for a close restaurant meal or bar, that's the place to go and Bea & Win know the owner.

If you want to explore the island or go into town for a meal, having a car is essential. But we found that relatively inexpensive and there is parking at Gloucester Place. We were looking for somewhere off the beaten path with a feeling of both remoteness and self-sufficiency and Gloucester Place definitely ticked those boxes.

The locals at every place we went to were warm. We never felt out of place.

The island is lovely, the diving was great, but the real gem (and the reason we would go back), is for Bea, Win (& Wonder!) and the great home they have created in Gloucester Place.

Jay & Jecca

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jecca2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Gloucester Place for 10 days over the holidays and had a wonderful time. Bea and Winn are super sweet and helpful. The house is very clean and the grounds are beautiful, especially the pool/yard. We woke to the lovely sound of birds each morning and then were treated to yummy breakfasts and great conversations. The rooms are perfect - all that we needed and more. Fresh beach towels were provided each day. In addition, they did laundry for us twice! So awesome. It was also nice to have a balcony facing the beautiful Caribbean Sea. You definitely need a car on the north side of the island, which is more quiet and less developed. But we found this side pleasant and next to our favorite beaches and restaurants.

I highly recommend staying at Gloucester Place for a nice and peaceful getaway in Tobago.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our three grown up children (19 yrs - 26yrs) It was like staying in Paradise. Beautiful location, friendly hosts and wonderful food.The breakfasts were different each day. We requested an evening meal one night and it was delicious. Our bedroom had an amazing view looking down through the lush vegetation to the sea. All three rooms had an en suite bathroom and access to a balcony - very clean and comfortable. Bea and Win made us feel very welcome and were interesting and interested hosts. If we ever have the fortune of returning to Tobao we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonPotter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This well-designed well-run B & B hosted by Bea and Win exceeds expectations combining comfortable ambience, thoughtful hosts, well-appointed rooms and fabulous views. They have heaps of local knowledge and are happy to make suggestions and bookings as well as setting out to be as helpful and accommodating as possible. They have snorkelling gear for you to borrow, and bamboo sticks to help walking the trails. Wellies (I took short ones) or ‘water shoes’ are very useful by the way.

Set above a forested river gorge with sea views and landscaped gardens Gloucester Place offers tranquil days spent reading, looking out over the terrace, with an afternoon dip in the pool, watching the humming birds feeding on the flowers, or adventures on foot to the bottom of the sloping garden where there is a mini waterfall, I found a humming bird nest, and saw my first agouti, or .... to Glasgow Bar just a few mins walk up the road with wonderful views over Parlatuvier Bay and a walk down to it from there. As well as that there are at least two other rivers to be explored on foot – one for a short distance, and one for longer with more opportunities to spot birds.

If you’ve hired a car, 15 mins drive North takes you to the Main Ridge road that traverses the forest from coast to coast where there are plentiful birds to be seen, and to Bloody Bay with its herons, sandpipers and pelicans, and to Castara in the opposite direction (10 min drive), again with pelicans and snorkelling/swimming where you’ll find sting rays and Hawksbill Turtles, while flying over head at regular intervals, the Magnificent Frigate Birds. The coastline up here is very empty and unspoilt with the most touristy place being Castara.

Thank you Bea and Win for a very special introduction to Tobago.

Room Tip: Concord room has its own terrace with steps to the garden as well as double aspect views on a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getawaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at Gloucester Place for 4 nights over the New Year holiday. We wanted to stay on the northwest side of Tobago in order to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the rain forest as well as the coast and visit some of the lovely, undisturbed beaches we had read about.
The location was perfect for exploring the area. It is a quick 10-minute drive south to Castara and about 30 minutes to Charlottesville at the northern tip. The property is just off the main road so it was not too difficult to find, although we did make use of Google maps just to be sure. Despite being next to the road, once you go inside, it is very quiet and peaceful. The open layout makes the most of the fantastic view that greets you as you pass out onto the veranda. Although I did not try the infinity pool during the stay, it was certainly inviting!
From our corner room on the second floor, the Concord, we had a wonderful view of the water below. There are flowering plants all around the house which attract hummingbirds. It was a wonderful treat to walk out on our private balcony in the morning and wait for a hummingbird to flitter about the flowers. We not only enjoyed the lush greenery of the grounds in the day, but the bountiful stars in the night sky! I haven't seen that many stars so bright and clear for some time! It was a most welcome surprise.

The room itself is simply decorated, but it needs little else. The high, wood-beam ceiling is splendid. And it has an unusual onsite bathroom. It is separated from the main bedroom only by a partial wall. The only issue I had with the room was the shower. The water pressure was very poor, basically a trickle, and the hot water lasted about 2 minutes. A lukewarm or even cool shower may be pleasant and refreshing after a bit of time in the sun, but I like to shower in the evening before bed, and there is no substitute for a nice warm shower to relax you before bed!

Bea and Win are generous, easy-going hosts. They give you the run of the house to come and go as you please, and are very helpful with advice about activities to do to fill the day if you decide to do that instead of lounging by the pool. When my husband suddenly had his fishing plans cancelled, Win was very helpful, introducing him to a local fisherman who was willing to take him out on short notice and despite the difficult weather. It was nice to see how they really supported the community. After admiring the bird feeders handing in the dining area, Bea informed me that they were locally handcrafted and that she knew the artist and would happily take me to his place, or else I could simply purchase the ones she had and she would replenish them afterward. So, I bought two right then and there! They are unique souvenirs that will be going to family in Japan and Canada. They'll love them I'm sure!
We enjoyed their hearty homemade breakfasts as well, which was a nice change from the buffet style of hotel restaurants.

It had been awhile since we stayed at a B&B and our stay at Gloucester Place certainly reminded us of the appeal of doing so. It is much more relaxing and personal, and I think the best way to enjoy the local lifestyle.
We'll be back again I'm sure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triggersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCS44, Owner at Gloucester Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

The guests did not inform us of the problem with the hot water while they were with us. It was fixed immediately when the next guests brought it to our attention. We pride ourselves of being attentive to all aspects of our accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Even by the standards of the wild North Coast of Tobago, Bea and Win's B&B has an exceptional setting, overlooking the sea down below , the rest of the view being nothing but rainforest stretching up to the sky.
The room was lovely, the infinity pool spectacular, the breakfasts varied and full of home cooking, the evening meals we arranged were delicious, but best of all was the friendliness, and how we were made to feel part of the family.
Make no mistake, this is a very special place.

Room Tip: We were in Concorde, big, airy (but with a/c as well), and with a lovely balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I had revisited Tobago for our 25th Wedding Anniversary after being there from 1985-88 during Carnival. We were looking for a little different taste of the island since we had stayed in the Crown Point area during our previous visits. We wanted to explore the upper 2/3rds of the island, both the Caribbean and Atlantic sides of the coastline along with the Rainforest.

Our research led us to the Essex House at Gloucester Place. Essex House is the cottage on the grounds of the main house, Gloucester Place. There are four guest rooms with private baths in the main house with delicious meals cooked by Bea and enjoyed at the dining room table with other guests. That’s if you choose to eat your meals at there home. The more private cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, open living area and two guest rooms with private baths. Windows open an entire wall to allow in warm breezes from the sea over soaring trees.

But the true gem of this place is the Infinity Pool. The view from this pool is breathtaking. Curved Roman steps lead you down into the crystal clear pool whose water seemingly spills into the horizon of the blue sea and sky. There are so many beautiful shades of blue you are amazed.

The owners Bea and Win could not have been more delightful, giving us experienced insight on fun things to do around the island. They were right on point with tour guides (hikes/birds), local restaurants and pubs, and any other thing you could imagine.

Gloucester Place is a masterpiece of architecture with soaring verandas and hidden views. Personal touches of local art mixed with artifacts from around the globe help make this place unique as does the landscaping on this old banana plantation located just south of Parlatuvier Bay. Majestic flowers and plants dance around the pool area creating a euphoric experience that attracts hummingbirds and various other species of birds. It is awesome; you can literally feel the stress drain from your body.

The Essex House was perfect for cooking, fish and lobster bought right off the local docks. We were able to cook feasts you could only imagine back home. Win also has a grill that any patron can use to get their barbecue on. Well fed, we would retire to the cottage veranda to gaze at incredibly brilliant stars while enjoying a nightcap before bed.

Bea and Win’s hospitality was outstanding. We enjoyed talking with them about any topic from politics to sports etc. There can be a lot of interaction with the homeowners and house-guests from around the world, which we found exhilarating. If you’re looking for more privacy, just tell Bea and Win and they will make that happen and are very understanding. They have a lot of experience.

We couldn't thank Bea and Win enough for helping us attain the serenity that we so much needed from our hectic lives back in the States. Everything was absolutely fantastic! We certainly couldn't have asked for a better vacation destination.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rocco11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Coast
10.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
13.6 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
654 reviews
6.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
6.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
84 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Place

Address: Northside Road | Parlatuvier, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Northeast Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Northeast Coast
Price Range: £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester Place has three double air-conditioned rooms and a two bedroom self catering cottage. It is situated on a cliff overlooking the sea and the Forest Reserve. It is walking distance from Parlatuvier Bay on the northeast coast of the island. The property contains an infinity pool, gardens, nature trail and small river with a waterfall. It is a 5 minute drive from Englishman's Bay, and a 10 minute drive from the Forest Reserve entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gloucester Place Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing