We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
124
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglishman's bayessex cottageinfinity poolgreat hoststhe main housecaribbean seanorthern partself cateringspent nightsus feel at homeair conditioningbird speciesshort drivelovely housenight lifepeace and quietvery special place
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016

If you look for some place away from the busy, touristic part of Tobago - that's the right place to start. It situated right between Englishman and Parlatuvier Bay and has a wonderful view down to the sea, surrounded by nature. You can see lots of birds and iguanas right on the terrace or swimming in the pool.
It is a good starting point to make trips into the nature retreat, do some hiking or also to visit the northcoast at Charlotteville and the southcoast at Speyside. On the other hand, the drive towards the airport and all the tourisitic sites at Storebay and Pigeon Point is about an hours drive (narrow, winding roads).
There are a lot of restaurants close by for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but all of them are not always open, so better ask before you go. The same applies for the supermarkets (quite small ones). Or you ask the neighbour and caretaker of the place, Carolyn to cook for you, which we also enjoyed a lot.
Alltogether we stayed a very nice week there and will probably come back one day!

Room Tip: we chose a room in the big house instead of the cottage, because it is farther down from the road
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belgararion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Don't stay in the midst of the tourist resorts, hire a car and head to this wonderful guest house. Bea & Win are excellent hosts, very laid back - helpful when you need it, discrete when you don't. The rooms are lovely. The two we stayed in didn't have doors between the bedroom and the bathroom, so if you are a shy couple or just friends sharing, be aware of this. It's great that you can keep food/drink in the kitchen - we ate our main meal out during the day, then snacked & drank beers on the lovely veranda overlooking the bay in the evening. There's a cliff top bar just 100m away. Take the opportunity to walk down to Parlatuvier Bay to eat in a home 'restaurant'. Parlatuvier is brilliantly situated to drive easily to anywhere on the island and we are confident that we didn't miss anything in our 10 days there.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with views over the garden, rainforest & onwards down to a little bay. Try to get one of them.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lyn100296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We spent Easter (2016) weekend in the main house at Gloucester Place. What a great location to stay. Bea and Win are terrific hosts. Breakfast is amazing. The building is very nice, very solidly built and therefore essentially sound proof. The room and bathroom are adequately sized and ours had a veranda. They know the area very well of course and were full of suggestions as to where to eat and what to do. The location on the island is ideal from our point of view. Being on the western side of the island there is less wind making it a peaceful site. It is also near the northern end of the island where the vegetation is greener, prettier all around. The view from the main veranda is beautiful. The garden is very lush. The infinity pool, although small, is a great way to cool off in the afternoon while enjoying the view at the same time. There are several very nice beaches nearby. We went to the two closer ones and enjoyed them very much. Englishman’s Bay beach has a small restaurant for lunch and drinks throughout the day. Not far away is the road through the Main Ridge Forest Reserve, established in 1776. Amazing. The Gilpin Trace comes off that road and is a must see for people with an interest in birds. Unless you are an expert birder, a guide is essential to make the most of the walk. Renting a vehicle is necessary and Bea or Win can arrange a rental. They recommend Taylor Rental. The service was excellent and the owner was very responsive to a minor issue I had (not really an issue at all). I would recomment that visitors to this part of the Island have adequate cash (TT) for their length of stay. ATMs in the area do not, at least at the time we were there, accept foreign cards even though the “Plus” logo is displayed. Bea and Win have become small time bankers to bail out their guests. I am sure that you will enjoy your stay with Bea and Win as well as enjoy this part of Tobago should you decide to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Staying with Bea and Wynn was like staying with old friends. We spent 11 days at Glouchester Place and can't say enough about it. Bea made exceptional breakfasts, and made special versions for me because I am gluten free. The room was spacious and comfortable. Bea and Wynn told us all the best places to go to eat, and we were never disappointed- favorite of course being the Suckhole! We feel we found the best accommodations on the island!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jsjte49071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Unspoilt area with divine views.The reviewsabsoultely live up to expectations. . Bea and Wynn are lovely and generous hosts.The night before we left was the night before Carnival and most restaurants were closed. Bea set to makng a delicious pasta and salad for all the guests Really appreciated. We then chatted well into the night to the other guests. As Bea said, those who stay at Gloucester Place all appreciate the really good things in life.
You will need a car, and if you hire thru Taylors Car Hire, they drive you to Parlatuvier which is a boon - especially if you arrive at night. Oh those twisty roads!

Only 15 mins to Castara for a selection of good restaurants. Dont miss Wednsday night when there is supper and drummers at the Boathouse on the beach at Castara. NINE local young men producing the most thrilling sound I have ever heard.

A wonderful stay, which we appreciated even more after staying in Trinidad the following week!

Room Tip: We always opt for twin beds. Only one room in the main house and doesnt have a sea view.- but you can see flowers and trees on the hill
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews