We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inn Flight Suites(Piarco)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Irvine Bay Resort(Mount Irvine)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
124
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglishman's bayessex cottageinfinity poolgreat hoststhe main housecaribbean seanorthern partself cateringspent nightsus feel at homeair conditioningbird speciesshort drivelovely housenight lifepeace and quietvery special place
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Forget the city and book a stay at this amazing place north of Tobago that I named "Parlatuvierian Paradise". I stayed at the Essex Cottage with my cousin and grandmother and it was wonderful. The cottage is perfect and has all the amenities needed. The surrounding and the views are truly breath taking. The sweet sounds of the birds and peaceful sounds of the ocean are surreal. I did not meet Wyn and Bea, however, I was blessed with Carolyn Senior who was equally as great as all the reviews I read. Let me rephrase, she surpassed my expectations. Firstly when I communicated with Carolyn via email and telephone, I felt like I knew her for years. When I finally met her I felt like we were great friends. She was very kind and accommodating with an awesome personality.Go to Gloucester Place and I assure you, you too will have your very own happy story to tell :)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank latoya w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile


Absolutely amazing! We stayed at the Essex cottage from June 3rd to 5th of 2016. This place is absolutely beautiful, the scenery is breathtaking, the air is so clean and fresh, the area is very safe and the sound of the birds daily is priceless. Carolyn, the manager, is a total sweetheart! She came and chatted with us when we arrived, she checked on us the next morning to ask how we slept, she took us to the nearby beach, she even spent time with us by the pool the night before we left. On the morning of our leaving she dropped us to get the ferry at a low cost compared to all other drivers due to the distance of the cottage to the city. That was a great save on money for us ! Also she took pics of me and my family when we arrived to get the Trinidad ferry. This lady is such a pure soul, really friendly and has a very pleasant attitude, and she even made jokes lmao. My family loved Carolyn dearly and we still can't get over the cottage and infinity pool up to this date. I recommend this place to everyone! I even gave the info to friends back home who are in love with the photo I posted on social media. I wish to return one day, we will never forget this experience! The cottage has no wifi or TV but WiFi is accessible by the pool which is a 2 min walk away. You should visit this place! I miss it so much!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank shinise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

If you look for some place away from the busy, touristic part of Tobago - that's the right place to start. It situated right between Englishman and Parlatuvier Bay and has a wonderful view down to the sea, surrounded by nature. You can see lots of birds and iguanas right on the terrace or swimming in the pool.
It is a good starting point to make trips into the nature retreat, do some hiking or also to visit the northcoast at Charlotteville and the southcoast at Speyside. On the other hand, the drive towards the airport and all the tourisitic sites at Storebay and Pigeon Point is about an hours drive (narrow, winding roads).
There are a lot of restaurants close by for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but all of them are not always open, so better ask before you go. The same applies for the supermarkets (quite small ones). Or you ask the neighbour and caretaker of the place, Carolyn to cook for you, which we also enjoyed a lot.
Alltogether we stayed a very nice week there and will probably come back one day!

Room Tip: we chose a room in the big house instead of the cottage, because it is farther down from the road
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belgararion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Don't stay in the midst of the tourist resorts, hire a car and head to this wonderful guest house. Bea & Win are excellent hosts, very laid back - helpful when you need it, discrete when you don't. The rooms are lovely. The two we stayed in didn't have doors between the bedroom and the bathroom, so if you are a shy couple or just friends sharing, be aware of this. It's great that you can keep food/drink in the kitchen - we ate our main meal out during the day, then snacked & drank beers on the lovely veranda overlooking the bay in the evening. There's a cliff top bar just 100m away. Take the opportunity to walk down to Parlatuvier Bay to eat in a home 'restaurant'. Parlatuvier is brilliantly situated to drive easily to anywhere on the island and we are confident that we didn't miss anything in our 10 days there.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with views over the garden, rainforest & onwards down to a little bay. Try to get one of them.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lyn100296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We spent Easter (2016) weekend in the main house at Gloucester Place. What a great location to stay. Bea and Win are terrific hosts. Breakfast is amazing. The building is very nice, very solidly built and therefore essentially sound proof. The room and bathroom are adequately sized and ours had a veranda. They know the area very well of course and were full of suggestions as to where to eat and what to do. The location on the island is ideal from our point of view. Being on the western side of the island there is less wind making it a peaceful site. It is also near the northern end of the island where the vegetation is greener, prettier all around. The view from the main veranda is beautiful. The garden is very lush. The infinity pool, although small, is a great way to cool off in the afternoon while enjoying the view at the same time. There are several very nice beaches nearby. We went to the two closer ones and enjoyed them very much. Englishman’s Bay beach has a small restaurant for lunch and drinks throughout the day. Not far away is the road through the Main Ridge Forest Reserve, established in 1776. Amazing. The Gilpin Trace comes off that road and is a must see for people with an interest in birds. Unless you are an expert birder, a guide is essential to make the most of the walk. Renting a vehicle is necessary and Bea or Win can arrange a rental. They recommend Taylor Rental. The service was excellent and the owner was very responsive to a minor issue I had (not really an issue at all). I would recomment that visitors to this part of the Island have adequate cash (TT) for their length of stay. ATMs in the area do not, at least at the time we were there, accept foreign cards even though the “Plus” logo is displayed. Bea and Win have become small time bankers to bail out their guests. I am sure that you will enjoy your stay with Bea and Win as well as enjoy this part of Tobago should you decide to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews