We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved Splonking in the Conch Bar Caves” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conch Bar Caves

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We Loved Splonking in the Conch Bar Caves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We took the Ferry and were exploring Middle Caicos when we stumbled upon the caves. We were greeted by a friendly Belonger that worked for the National Park system and she introduced us to Rhiney who gave a fantastic and comprehensive tour of the caves. Beautiful limestone and adventurous stories about each room. We sipped from the waters of the "Fountain of Youth" and saw bats up high in the crevasses. We had a very exciting tour, and took many pictures. I chose to share some with you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
481 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Learn the difference between stalegtites/mites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

A nice afternoon out walking through the cave complex that apparently stretches as far as Conch Bar and Daniels. Help support the local tour guides, even if a bit pricey. They know a lot, although their patois takes a bit of concentration to comprehend. The Christmas Room is a bizarre story and the bats throughout give the place a mysterious feel. Apparently inhabited as far back as the Indian tribes on the islands before Columbus' visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very cool, but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Pretty neat place to visit, but didn't really feel like we'd gotten our money's worth. Very limited facilities, but the guide that was working there was very friendly and gave us the basic tour. We were most excited about the brochures we were able to buy that described the local critters and vegetation (again a bit pricey but the only thing like this we were able to find on the island). We justified the cost by knowing that it was going towards the preservation of the natural resources on the Island, which are pretty spectaculare.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mostew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Caicos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Cave System”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

As soon as leave the first chamber you start to realize how vast this cave system really is.
Its really awesome to see and if you get to meet the bats you better be ready for hundreds of beady little faces (5 species live here) peering down at you!

Great fun and worth getting a good guide to take you out the back!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingLizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not really worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

If you are passing by, you might as well stop and check it out. To do so will cost you $10/person. The areas you walk through are nothing special. There are no facilities (but an adequate outhouse) and no lighting (bring a flashlight). There is grafiti on many areas of the cave complex. It's nothing like caves or caverns you've toured in the US or other countries.
It is a complete waste to take the $30/person guided tour. The "cave man" is a nice enough guy who's been doing this for 24 years. His commentary is basically, "This is a stalagtite, this is a stalagmite. This is the bat room. This is the Christmas room." I wanted to know how old is the cave. How did it form? Skip it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gjfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conch Bar Caves also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Middle Caicos, Turks and Caicos
 
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
Middle Caicos, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Conch Bar Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing