We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the walk from the pier”
Review of Jack's Shack

Jack's Shack
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Turk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Enjoy the local flavor from our grille and tiki hut bar while relaxing on our deck overlooking the crystal blue sea and sandy beach. We are only open on cruise ship days except for special occasions (Call or email us.)
Pekin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the walk from the pier”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Don't waste your money at Margarita Ville and make the walk to Jack's Shack. Leroy cooks some mean Jerk Chicken and it's only $9.00, Grand Turk Lager beers for $4.00 by the pier they were $7.00. Nice place to relax and meet Tropher the local celebrity. Jack & Janet are nice down to earth people. You can't go wrong at Jack's!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jake3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    215
    72
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great local flavor”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Food was great. Jack's Shack is aout 1/2 mile down the beach from the cruise ship docks and well worth the walk. Right on the beach. The "cracked fried conch" and grouper were really good. The service is a bit odd.....you place your order and then take it over to the cooks----it took us more than 30 minutes for the food to be prepared----kind of chaotic, but they have cold beer to drink while you wait----so life is not all bad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Worth the five minute walk down the beach just past all the cruisers. Water was clearer and beach less crowded. Free chairs available and umbrella for $10. Didn't eat but drinks were not skimpy! Go see Jack and his family!

Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Jerk Chicken - Drink prices better that Cruise Center”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After a couple of obligatory drinks at the cruise center we took a planned walk a couple of hundred yards down the beach to Jack's Shack. It was as expected. A little beach shack with a colourful drink menu (drinks named for adult content) and really, really good jerk chicken. you can grab a local beer for $3. As I said it's right on the beach. We had our snorkel gear with us and snorkeling in the area was pretty good (head towards the pier/jetty to the right. We say a good variety of sea life including a good sized barracuda. Also in the area (to the left about 100 feet) is a lady selling the privilege for kids to use a water trampoline and iceberg type climbing floaty. She charges $10 a kid and ours hung out on the equipment for a couple of hours (she took $25 for three kids). Jack's Shack was just a fun place that had a local feel to it and didn't feel so touristy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bodocomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD.....but the cook was not too friendly”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We came here because of all the great reviews about the food. We were a bit disappointed because they do not serve alcohol on Good Friday...which is not their fault...it is what it is. The food was delicious. We had the jerk chicken...licking my lips jus thinking about it. The MOST disappointing thing was the grumpy old man that was cooking the food...NOT friendly AT ALL...no small talk with this guy cus he aint having it. People were just being friendly and trying to joke or have a convo with him and he was just plain rude! Wish I coulda warned everyone that approached him...it was pretty painful to watch. Maybe he was upset that he too could not enjoy a cool alcoholic drink as well. Don't know what his problem was but U HAVE BEEN WARNED...stay away from the grumpy old man.Just let him man the grill and cook the food! =)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack's Shack also viewed

Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Jack's Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing