We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sting Ray Encounter”
Review of Gibbs Cay

Gibbs Cay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.99*
and up
Grand Turk Supreme Snorkeling Tour
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Grand Turk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uninhabited island with some of the most beautiful beaches and the best diving sites the islands have to offer.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Sting Ray Encounter”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Real Muzic Radio set out on a mission to find some awesome, rare excursions during our travel show on the Carnival Breeze. When we got to Grand Turk we heard about Papa J'S Tours. All of the locals recommended it. They took us on a boat out to Gibbs Cay where we were able to swim with Stingrays. They were wild Stingrays, but very tame. They were so friendly and used to interacting with tourists. Our guys from Papa J's were able to get great pics of us interacting with the Stingrays and sent them to my iPhone for no extra charge. That was a once in a lifetime experience! They then walked us around Gibbs Cay where we were able to see thousands of hermit crabs, collect shells and take in the beautiful scenery of the island. Real Muzic Radio totally recommends this as an excursion to Grand Turk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank realmuzicradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    56
    10
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kevil, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful.... Watch out for shells”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Amazing views and clear blue water. My family and I chartered a private boat to Gibbs Cay to snorkel and see the rays. The water was rough on the way there and we got soaked. We arrived and within 10 minutes of exploring the area... My mom sliced her foot on a huge shell that was hidden under the sand... Which led to 6 stitches on the boat. While waiting for an immediate return boat ride back to the ship... We snorkeled with our son and he saw the rays up close. It was amazing. We would have had a perfect day, minus the hidden shell. Wear watershoes. I still recommend this place. Views are amazing.

Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best of the trip”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was an amazing experience. After making a port stop at grand truk from a cruise;which i don't recommend for a million reasons.(Going on a cruise,that is) we rented a boat from one of the local .I guess water private tour people and went to gibbs cay. I highly recommend to rent a boat instead of going on the tour. You get more time and you are free to do what you like. About an hour after us being there a tour came in and the guy was talking for about 25 min before he let anyone else out. And after that they had to wait one by one until the stingrays came to them. While privately we held them as we pleased. Afterwards we went and snorkeled at a great spot. Make sure no negotiate with them, you can always get a lower price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank airruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Unique Experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

One of those things you don't often come across and tiny and beautiful island with clear blue water, where stingrays brush past your ankles like a cat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“rays galore!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

we did a snorkel trip here with Blue Water Dives. The reefs around Gibbs Cay are swarming with colorful fish and coral. The best part about Gibbs Cay are all the sting rays. They swim right up to you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Corey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibbs Cay also viewed

Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Gibbs Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing