We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach,quiet no frills hotel”
Review of Osprey Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osprey Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Turk
Certificate of Excellence
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach,quiet no frills hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I traveled to this Grand Turk hotel with my 8 year old daughter and 70+ father for my niece's wedding. We stayed in a ground floor room that had 2 queen-size beds and a kitchenette with an excellent view of the beach. Overall we enjoyed our stay...housekeeping was very good, air conditioned room,etc. The hotel had a pool but it was dirty and even after mentioning it to the staff it stayed dirty. Would have been nice also to have a small commissary on site for snacks, toiletries, etc as everything operates on island time. Another downside is that we were FAR away from any amenities and had limited (PRICEY!!!) food choices. We had to call a cab every time we wanted to go somewhere (at an average cost of $7 per person one-way) even to an ATM! If you are looking for a place that's laid back, away from the tourist traps, love diving and truly want to 'get away from it all' then consider this place. My daughter really enjoyed it though and I have to admit I slept very well. Would consider staying again but will probably try a hotel on Provo first.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have great access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    101
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
38
135
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Recently tried this hotel out as an alternative to the Bohio (which isn't that spectacular) and I enjoyed the stay. As with other places on Grand Turk, it's generally a two to two and a half star hotel but it is clean and comfortable. The facility is located primarily on the beach, but there is another separate section that is across a fairly-quiet single-lane street. There was a large dive group that consumed all the beach rooms the day I was present, so I ended up in the other area across the street. Was in room 1, which was great as it was on the top floor at the very end of that section of the complex, so very quiet. Piddly beach view, but not a big deal as you'll only be there at night or in the morning and the rest of the time you'll either be diving or over at the restaurant or the small bar or wandering around the island. Most rooms there have their own private balconies, which is a nice addition. Beds (two doubles?) were comfortable, all bed and bath linens were in great shape. There is a noisy window-type A/C unit, but it definitely cooled the place down enough to then just run the much-quieter ceiling fan at night. Room had a small refrigerator, no television. Lots of blinds in this room, so lots of light in the morning. If you need darkness to stay asleep you may want to bring your eye shades! No mold in the bathroom, which was a nice addition in this high-humidity country. Hair dryer provided, good lighting in the bathroom, took awhile to get hot water in the shower but once there it stayed hot with good water pressure. Iron and ironing board and hair dryer present. The restaurant and bar are both open-air so be sure to bring your DEET insect-repellant. Lots of mosquitoes (and Dengue Fever) on the island! Restaurant had a limited dinner menu, but food was good. Service was surprisingly (and disappointingly) sullen. On Thursday nights this is a hot-spot for the local community and visiting government dignitaries, so get there early on Thursday. Good reference? The Premier of the Country stays here sometimes. If it's good enough for him, will be good enough for you! PS Do NOT drink the water in Grand Turk - is well-known to be contaminated, so much so that cruise lines stopped docking there for several weeks earlier this spring. Stick with bottled water!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caljogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Osprey for a week on July 2012. We booked a room with an ocean view. Osprey has a convenient location - Mitch's Blue Water Divers is right across the street, and there is a restaurant in the hotel. There is also a bar within walking distance run by two very nice canadian girls that is right nearby. Even though the room is very clean and nice, I was not too impressed with the beach at the front of the hotel. Don't get me wrong, it is indeed your typical Caribbean water with the turquoise hue, but it is not nearly as nice as other locations such as Grace Bay in Provo or North End Beach in Salt Cay, because there are several man-made walls at the beach in front of the hotel to break the waves. I understand it is necessary, but it is just not pretty. I much prefer the view of ocean front at Bohio where there is no obstruction of the view, as far as I remember. I also snorkeled a couple of times in front of the Osprey hotel, not too much marine lives to be found there, mostly small fish. A final comment I'd to make about Osprey is that I almost got charged one extra night at check-out. I don't think the girl at the desk did it intentionally, but it is always a good practice to double check so that you don't get overcharged.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angleton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

the Brazosport Underwater Club went to Grand Turk for a dive vacation. The hotel is across the street from Grand Turk Divers so it's a very convenient location. the rooms were fine - what you expect in a dive resort - tile floors that sort of thing. Housekeeping was fine. The restaurant has a limited menu and they most definitely operate on island time. Prices are pretty high and the service is slow to non existent. If you want coffee in the morning you'd best go get it. The people are friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0uglasT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

There are lots of reviews here on the hotel and relaxing...but I was there to work. and I did love the hotel and GT.

I started out in room 12 - which was nice - at the end of the hotel, quiet, ....but the internet was minimal....which I need when working.

I asked to change and was moved to room 43, with many more amenities ..12 had fridge but 43 had fridge micro toaster, dishes, etc. If I go again, I will pay a little more for all the extras and reduce eating out all the time.

I understand when other reviews talk about slow service but I talked to them after the first day breakfast. I would order earlier (the staff arrives at 7 am, shower, return to eat). That worked great. The food was really good and I had a couple of lunches and the wonderful Wednesday barbque.

My co-workers stayed in a B.B which was a little more expensive but they were also happy. We met a few evenings at the Sandbar, enjoying a cocktail, light dinner, and even played in trivia night.

all in all...I loved GT. I am from the US Midwest and I felt it was a medium size (4000) town placed on a 7 sq. mile island...homey and comfortable, tropical...like a comfort food and lodging place...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel have nice front beach room with sea view, rooms are comfortables, hotel crew is lovely and helpful. Restaurant and bar are also friendly. We love that place, so, so peaceful and quiet. Hope to get back soon. Thanks a lot.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christophethuau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

First of all, let's understand that if you are in Grand Turk, you are here to relax. Being that said, Osprey offers clean rooms with friendly staff that will be your friends during your stay. As everything here, the word 'rush' is non existent; food takes 35-40 minutes to arrive and no one is in a hurry...but once again, where do you have to go other than to the beach or scuba diving?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardoFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Turk
0.3 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
31 reviews
24.2 mi away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
196 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Cockburn Town
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Sailrock Resort
Sailrock Resort
#2 of 3 in South Caicos
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#2 of 4 in Cockburn Town
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Raker Inn
Salt Raker Inn
#4 of 4 in Cockburn Town
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Beach Hotel

Property: Osprey Beach Hotel
Address: Duke St. | PO Box 216, BWI, Grand Turk
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Turk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Osprey Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osprey Beach Hotel offers 27 beachfront rooms, and 10 atrium rooms. Enjoy the unhurried pace of island life, and relax at the beachside pool, hotel restaurant and bar. Osprey Beach Hotel books scuba-diving packages with all three dive shops on Grand Turk Island. The dive boat will pick you up on the beach in front of the Osprey Beach Hotel - mere steps from your room. No shuttle buses or long boat rides necessary; you are just minutes away from your dive.Osprey Beach Hotel's restaurant offers poolside dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the ocean. Menus change daily, and often feature fresh fish, the catch of the day, lobster in season, as well as steaks, lamb and chicken. Our famous BBQ nights happen twice a week on Wednesdays and Sundays. Listen and dance to live music entertainment from Mitch and The High Tide Band! Please contact us by phone or email to reserve your stay. We look forward to your stay here on Grand Turk, and hope we can make your Caribbean getaway vacation a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Osprey Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey Beach Grand Turk
Hotel Osprey Beach
Osprey Beach Hotel Grand Turk, Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing