We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn in an excellent location”
Review of Salt Raker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salt Raker Inn
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming inn in an excellent location”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week-long stay at Salt Raker, and can't say enough great things about this charming inn and Erika, its incredibly helpful proprietor. We stayed in a sun-soaked room on the second floor with a balcony (with a hammock) overlooking the turquoise water. The beach is a stone's throw away and the location is literally steps away from other restaurants/bars, dive shops, and historic sites. (No need to even wear shoes if your trajectory is like mine was: Salt Raker to Oasis Divers each morning, back to Salt Raker after diving, then straight across to the beach and a drink at Sand Bar.) We also ate at Salt Raker's restaurant, The Secret Garden, several times and enjoyed the food, friendly service, and pretty surroundings. Some of the photos uploaded here do not do this place justice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcbinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
12
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My team and I recently had the privilege of staying at the Salt Raker Inn during a volunteer vetting trip to Grand Turk Island. We loved Grand Turk but one of the biggest reasons we felt so at home was Erika and her fantastic family of staff. We looked forward to spending time with Erika, Zeus, Mitzie and Ruby every day -- and were disappointed when our schedule didn't allow for spending time with them. They are warm, welcoming, funny and will treat you like part of their family. The rum punch was amazing, and the food was excellent as well! Try the conch bites - they are soooo delicious!! The rooms are charming and well appointed with some of them dating back to the 1800s - with a/c, TV, a fridge and coffee or tea maker -- and it is steps away from the beach. On Friday nights, the normally quiet Inn becomes the hottest spot on the island when Zeus and his band provide live Caribbean and reggae music. Great music and dancing in a fun atmosphere. I can't say enough great things about the Salt Raker Inn - but I will definitely be visiting there again and again and miss being there already!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandhelpervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at another hotel nearby, and we were really looking forward to dining outside here on our last evening. The Secret Garden restaurant is really lovely and quaint with a fun Christmas tree made of cans. We loved the whimsy. At the rear of the restaurant is the bar - on the night we went there, the entire garden smelled entirely of cigarette smoke. We tried the furthest table away, and couldn't escape it. It was as if we were surrounded - we also saw that every table had big ashtrays on them. We stayed a week on the island, and never had this issue anywhere else, so it was very strange. We didn't even sit down.

Another caveat. Although it is advertised as such, this hotel is not beachfront. It is across the street from the beach, and views are obstructed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank renheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had breakfast and dinner here and then came for drinks on Friday night. The food was delicious and the staff were very helpful in helping me find food that would be OK with my food allergies. On Friday there is a live band that plays. It was a lot of fun to sit and listen and watch people dancing. The restaurant is located behind the inn in a secluded garden area. It's a lovely atmosphere.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LaurenRebeccaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Salt Raker Inn is a perfect resting place on this amazing island. Erika, Mitzy and Ruby are always warm, welcoming and smiling. Ready to help in anyway they can and really make you feel like a friend not just a patron.

The food is delicious, please believe that the chicken schnitzel and garlic potatoes are some of the best I've ever had, as is the chicken pasta!

The rooms are spotless, clean, clean, clean, and the A/C is cold :-) What more can a girl ask for!

The answer is...Live music from Zeus and friends on Friday night! It is outstanding, never saw someone rake a saw before ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Salt Racker Inn was next door to our Bungalow and we ate dinner @ their restaurant several times. The food was great tasting, It was always fresh and had wonderful flavours. The patio was very comfortable and even thought there was a lot of vegetation we were not bothered by any insects. They also have a full bar, so anything from beer to wine to cocktails is available. They have an entertainment night which we really enjoyed. The local band was excellent. A great place to have a quite meal or choose the entertainment night for a really fun night out. Go for the Garlic Shrimp dinner, is was amazing. Tip: on a busy night it could take a while to get your food, so enjoy a rum punch while you wait!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is a great place to have a drink. There are sometimes bands playing music and there are both locals and tourists to mingle with. The only downside to the Salt Raker is the mosquitos there seems to be a lot more here than anywhere else on the island. I woke up the next morning covered in mosquito bites, so make sure you bring some spray if you go, although they do provide it sometimes. Otherwise great music, food!!! Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JR108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockburn Town
0.1 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
279 reviews
24.3 mi away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#2 of 4 in Cockburn Town
92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Cockburn Town
450 reviews
23.1 mi away
Sailrock Resort
Sailrock Resort
#2 of 3 in South Caicos
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Raker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Raker Inn

Property: Salt Raker Inn
Address: 12 Duke St, Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk > Cockburn Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cockburn Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Salt Raker Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Salt Raker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Raker Hotel Grand Turk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing