We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our honeymoon”
Review of Grand Turk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Turk Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We wanted a quiet, relaxed honeymoon in the Carribean where we could learn to SCUBA. The Grand Turk Inn was perfect. It's intimate with a low key feel. The staff are responsive and wonderful, picking us up from the airport, and also driving us on a little tour of the island. It was easy to borrow their bikes and ride around town. We stayed in the Flamingo suite, complete with kitchen, door to the deck, living room and large bedroom. We asked for blender in our room and they were happy to accommodate. We ate our breakfast on the beautiful deck overlooking the ocean each morning, and cooked most of our meals, and make pina coladas every day. Blue Waters Divers came and picked us up each morning for our dive lessons, sometimes in the boat right across the street from the Inn - talk about amazing service. If I had it to do all over again, I would not have changed a thing. It was the perfect place to relax, soak in the sun and breezes, learn to dive, and celebrate our new marriage. I hope we make it back here some day.

Room Tip: We stayed only in the Flamingo, and loved it, particularly because it has a door from the living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were looking for somewhere a little different and slow paced for a few days of our honeymoon and found the Grand Turk Inn via Tripadvisor, so here's a review of a truly lovely Caribbean gem. We had the Conch Cottage which has its own entrance, a full kitchen, and separate sitting / eating areas and bedroom. So plenty of room for us to stretch out for a few days. The owner, Katrina was on hand and very friendly and together with her manager, Donovan we had a terrific time, relaxing on the sun deck, diving and touring the island on the Grand Turk Inn's free bicycles. While we could have used the kitchen to cook our own meals we enjoyed visiting the range of restaurants and bars in Grand Turk - tourist and local. We only stayed 3 nights but wished we had stayed longer. I can't vouch for the other options in Grand Turk but I don't see why you'd need to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aneil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We're just back from 5 nights at the Grand Turk Inn and were able to make the trip exactly what we wanted with the help of Katrina and Donovan. We spent a lot of time on the deck relaxing and reading but took their suggestions for whale watching and dinner/drink spots. We were able to enjoy our beautiful suite even more by buying groceries and cooking many meals "at home." The bikes they loaned us and our morning runs were great for exploring the island. We found plenty of secluded beaches and good diving/snorkeling just offshore. We felt like locals after just a few days; everyone is extremely friendly. If you are looking to relax with a beautiful environment and wonderful hosts, this is the place!

Room Tip: Flamingo Room gives you direct access to the deck for sunrises, sunsets and watching tourists from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We were looking for a vacation unlike our typical resort\large hotel experience. We chose Grand Turk because the island is small, friendly and beautiful. We chose Grand Turk Inn for the same reasons. Katrina was patient and helpful with my many questions and requests, both before and during our stay. Donovan was exceptionally kind and attentive. Being a family of four the flamingo was the only room suitable for us and it served us well. We were surprised to find the beautiful deck off the room with lounges as well as tables and chairs. The deck is meant for the entire hotel, but no one ever used it and we enjoyed sitting out early in the morning with a book and coffee looking out over the ocean and watching the sunset at night with a glass of wine. We had a terriffic time and I felt like we got to know the island and the people of Grand Turk like we never would have in a secluded, gated resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is a long overdue review. We stayed at the Grand Turk Inn in the spring of 2012.
Katrina is an amazing host from the time she picks you up until she drops you off at the airport. Helpful, available but never intrusive. She has great tips about where to eat and what to do — and what to stay away from. The Grand Turk Inn is gorgeous, quiet and well appointed. Bikes and beach gear are available at no additional cost. There is a menu to check off what you'd like for breakfast in the morning (bagel, English muffin, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, juice) Donovan brings it up to your room.
Flamingo Room has a second story deck which we had to ourselves everyday. Airy and bright, very comfortable bed.
A small beach on the other side of a seawall perfect for swimming and we had that to ourselves as well.
Groceries are VERY expensive. 2 times we bought pasta and both time it had bugs in it. Bring whatever you can food-wise because there are only a few restaurants and most are closed Sat. night. Everything at the cruise center shuts down the minute those boats leave. Also if you are going there for quiet beach time — the cruise center feels like a mall on the weekend before xmas. We couldn't wait to get away from it. It's down on the end of the island so the area around the Inn stays pretty quiet — the cruise folks go by on trams and small buses and segueways.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MXM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Grand Turk Inn is a laid-back, lovely, island B&B run by a warm, friendly, ever-helpful team of Katrina (owner) and Donovan. Flamingo Suite is large, bright and well-equipped, with a bedroom, bathroom, separate living area with a couch and two comfy chairs, full kitchen with eat-in countertop and bar stools. Door leads from kitchen to sun deck which has loungers and tables where you can have breakfast, cocktails, whatever. Swimming beach is across the street. Free use of bicycles means you can easily get anywhere on the island, whether to visit the lighthouse, have lunch (highly recommend Sunshine Cafe and Sandbar), etc. Grocery, liquor, pharmacy stores are walking distance as are several dive shops and restaurants. (We dove with Blue Waters, see separate review.) If you're a dog-lover, Katrina's potcakes are adorable. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erika363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

In choosing our honeymoon destination, we wanted a more quaint destination and eventually stumbled on the Turks & Caicos. We split our time between Provo and Grand Turk where we found the Grand Turk Inn. The experience from beginning to end was one of the most amazing experiences ever and we couldn't have been happier!

Katrina picked us up from the airport and was super-friendly right off the bat. She told us all about the island, gave us some island history, showed us where to go, drove us to the grocery store, introduced us to some locals, etc. We were blown away by how friendly and accommodating she was. We honestly found it hard to say good-bye to her as our trip came to a close. She is there every day willing to help in any way she can.

The Inn is beautiful! We had an amazing room that led directly to the outside room-deck where you can see out over the water. We watched sunsets here every night and were in awe of how beautiful it all was. They have a small private beach to enjoy and plenty of chairs, umbrellas, etc to take with you to the beach. They also have bikes you can use to explore the island. Grand Turk is pretty small so we were able to get everywhere we needed with the bikes. The one exception was the lighthouse. As we discussed this with Katrina she immediately offered to drive us up there. We took a great ride through some of the neighborhoods and she took some pictures of us at the lighthouse.

Grand Turk - it's not an island you go to for amazing scenery and to simply sit on a beach all day. It's an amazing island you go to to experience and explore! The first thing to mention about Turks & Caicos is how friendly everybody is WITHOUT trying to sell you stuff as a tourist. Every other island destination we've been to (Mexico, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, etc) is a constant barrage of islanders selling stuff to you. Here, they will simply smile and say hello. They are used to the cruise ships bringing tourists for the day but they seemed genuinely happy to meet people staying on the island. We ingrained ourselves in the island and local culture and went to local restaurants, bars, music (I now love ripsaw music!!) and we even bought fish directly from the fisherman off the boat. I felt out of my element at first but the locals were so friendly they pushed us to the front of the line so we could buy our fish.

We had an amazing time and can't wait to back to see Katrina and play with her Potcakes (the local dog breed)! If you go, tell Molly hi for us!

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms for a great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bofunk6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockburn Town
24.3 mi away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salt Raker Inn
Salt Raker Inn
#4 of 4 in Cockburn Town
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Cockburn Town
456 reviews
23.1 mi away
Sailrock Resort
Sailrock Resort
#2 of 3 in South Caicos
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Turk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Turk Inn

Address: Front Street, Cockburn Town TKCA 1ZZ, Grand Turk
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk > Cockburn Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cockburn Town
Price Range: £149 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Turk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the hammock swaying under the palm trees to the complimentary continental breakfast served each morning to your private suite - the Grand Turk Inn welcomes you to relax in one of their five ocean front suites. Awarded Best Guest House in Turks and Caicos by the Turks and Caicos Government Tourism Bureau, Four Star Rating. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Turk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Turk Hotel Grand Turk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing