We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crabtree Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cockburn Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crabtree Apartments
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place to Unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 10 day stay at the Crabtree Apartments. We went to Grand Turk to scuba dive and were looking for someplace other than a hotel--Crabtree was perfect!

The units are right on the beach. I'm not sure which I enjoyed more, the constant warm breeze or the sound of the ocean. The middle unit was spacious and we appreciated having the second bedroom to store our scuba and camera gear. When we weren't diving, we were either scouting out Cockburn Town or relaxing on the beach (which we had to ourselves :)

No need to rent a car, simply take the bikes to town. We were able to tote groceries home either in the rack on the back of one of the bikes, or by backpack. The whole island is easily accessible by bike and the local people always greet you with a warm hello.

My only recommendation for someone looking to stay at Crabtree is to bring any food items that you are particularly fond of, as the grocery stores can offer some challenges. I missed our evening cheese and crackers, but made do without. Other than that, this island truly does exude the charm and ease of the old Caribbean. We were a bit concerned with the fact that the cruise ships stop here, but the vast majority of the cruisers remain in the port area where there are shops and activities for them, unlike other Caribbean ports of call.

I would recommend Blue Water Diving, if you are serious divers. They cater to on-island divers :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaSherrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna BC Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at Crabtree for almost a week (Jan 5-Jan 11, 2013) and then another week at the island Providenciales. We both felt we would have enjoyed staying both weeks in Grand Turk at Crabtree. We were pleasantly surprised to find the apt so clean and cozy. It has everything you need.(except snorkel gear) We didnt need to use the a/c at all due to warm breezes flowing through the apt. The beach was virtually ours the whole time, even when the cruise ships were in.We probably saw about 2 people walk along the shore past our place, the whole time. We did , however, see the cows, and donkeys walking along the beach a couple of times. : ) The location and privacy of the apartments are better than any we've been to. You open your door and step out onto your beach. Amazingly beautiful !!! The two potcakes (dogs), that come with the apt are so nice and gentle. I was sure to buy them dog kibble and gave them fresh water daily. The location of the apt was ideal for walking or biking around the island. It takes a bit to find your way around and get your supplies, but we didnt need to rent any vehicles, we did everything, and saw the whole island, by bike. We also took our first scuba lesson and had our first dive while there, with Blue water diving. It was amazing. The people are all friendly on the island, and the history is very interesting. Hanging out at the Sandbar overlooking the water was lots of fun. (the potcakes followed us everywhere, including the restaurants).We will definitely be returning to Grand Turk and will be getting apt #1 at Crabtree. Thank you Jessalyn for making this a memorable holiday for us.

Room Tip: We think we had the best of the three rooms. Apt # 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cfkmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed at the Crabtree Apartments this past December 2012-January 5th,2013. We had a wonderful stay in the South unit, unit 1. Beautiful location with the beach and ocean right outside of the back door. Sound was never an issue between the aprtments or from the road. You do hear from the veranda just because they are attached but the wall between makes it private. The pictures are exactly what you get. The veranda was my favourite spot in the morning to read and have my coffee....it was my hubby's favourite spot for an afternoon catnap and reading his book in the late evening. The ocean breezes kept the apartment cool through the day and night. Both bedrooms have air conditioners which we sometimes used. The sounds of the waves when you wake up is amazing. The apartment was just what we needed, and the bedrooms spacious and bright. We ate in the apartment most evenings and went out for lunch on some days. Kitchen is well equipped to eat / cook in, if that is what you wish. We enjoyed fresh fish a few times that we cooked ourselves....people are so friendly...just ask and you will find where locals go for fresh fish, to eat, or to buy groceries/food...It took some time to navigate ourselves but the apartment is in a great location for getting to restuarants or grocery stores. You could use the bikes provided or walk. The merchanidise choices in the stores are not what I am used to, but was ready for that. We are a family of 4 and tavelled with our 2 boys (9 and 11). Some comments on various review sites said that 11 days on Grand Turk would be too sleepy for 2 energentic boys but that was so far from the truth. They snorkled everyday right in front of the apartment. Found that this was the best location compared to all the other beaches we visited. Of course a trip to some reefs in the middle of the ocean is still the best. Could walk the beach in both directions also, which I did everyday. Great beach to collect shells and sea glass. We rented a golf cart for a week and this was a great way to explore and find grocery stores or just visit various sites. The dogs are wonderful too. Be sure to pack some dog kibble and treats with you to feed them. They are lovely.
It was a wonderful trip....hubby and I came back more rejuvinated than we have from a vacation EVER! Kids are asking when we will return ;)
Feel free to email me if you would like more information at morgan13@rogers.com if you would like further information.

Room Tip: We stayed in the south unit-unit 1- and felt this was the most private of the 3, but all 3 are super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morgan13travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We spent six night at Crabtree Apartments. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartment is very nicely decorated and there are lots of thoughtful touches. We really appreciated having some food essentials and many spices provided at the outset. The full kitchen is wonderful. Most days we chose to make our breakfast and lunch and then went out to dinner.

The location is phenomenal! We walked all over the island from there. It is close enough to easily walk to restaurants but far enough away that it was always quiet.

If you are coffee drinkers, we advise bringing some good ground coffee. We appreciated the coffee provided for us but wished that we had brought some with us. Also, know that groceries are not cheap because everything, with the exception of seafood, must be flown in. Also, this is an apartment and not a hotel, there is no front desk or services once you get there.

Our only gripe is that the bed wasn't very comfortable. However, we are already talking about going back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keeptraveling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had the most fabulous and relaxing time at the Crabtree! What a fantastic place - right out of a dream. So close to the water with stunning views, sea breezes and the wonderful sound of waves 24/7. Absolute paradise!

In addition to the perfect apartment (we stayed in unit three), we had the loyal companionship of three adorable dogs throughout our stay - Smiley, Susie and Bella. They accompanied us on beach walks and just hung out with us on the beach. I miss them so much! If you go, please hug them for us.

Be sure to visit the TCSPCA in town to learn about the animal situation on the island and make a donation - they are doing a wonderful job.

You can't go wrong staying here - it was perfect!

Take a day trip to Salt Cay if possible and ask about visting the "white house." Google "white house, Salt Cay" for more info.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LantzMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We had the best time at the Crabtree. We kept saying this is one website that does not do justice to the beauty. The warmth of the sun, the sound of the waves and the feel of the breeze is just something that can't be captured by the photos. It is completely relaxed . No fast food and no one pestering you on the beach. Tshirts and shorts were the fanciest we got. The cruise ship docking were completely a none is issue. We maybe had one or two people walk by on the beach a day. We would step off the porch onto the beach having our coffee and swim, snorkel and read all day. The locals were all so very kind and helpful. We found our "spot" for dinner at the Sandbar. My children who did not like fish, LOVED their fish. We went scuba diving, and snorkeling, and simply enjoyed the sun and the surf. It turned out that the three families at the Crabtree took a snorkeling trip together for a conch lunch on a beach where we swam with stingrays and enjoyed a wonderful meal of the fresh conch. It was a wonderful day trip. When we got on the plane to go home, we already started thinking of when we can get back there. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paradise0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Our experience at Crabtree seems to mirror what many others have already said: it was great. We've been taking diving trips to the Caribbean for several years now and this was by far the nicest accommodations that we've had. The apartment was clean and thoughtfully prepared for our stay. Grand Turk doesn't offer a wide selection of dining options so being able to cook at home was a huge benefit and all the basic kitchen supplies were there. The bikes made getting around the island very easy and have attached baskets to facilitate trips to the grocery store. There are even some very sweet resident dogs for those who miss pets at home (although they will keep their distance if not invited on the porch for some attention).

We will certainly stay at Crabtree next time we're on Grand Turk.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tortybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockburn Town
0.7 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
24.1 mi away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Cockburn Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#1 of 4 in Cockburn Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabtree Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabtree Apartments

Property: Crabtree Apartments
Address: Close Haul Road | Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos Islands, Cockburn Town TKCA 1ZZ, Grand Turk
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk > Cockburn Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cockburn Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Quaint - 2 bedroom, 1 bath, apartment units, in a single story building, nestled on a sandy beach overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Each unit has gorgeous views from almost every room and a comfortable covered veranda where you can listen to the gentle lapping of the sea and view the beautiful sunsets. Come enjoy our wonderful swimming and snorkeling beach, the best of both worlds. Walking distance to town and restaurants Google us on the web - Crabtree Apartments Grand Turk. We have been renting on Grand Turk for 10 years and have received high praise from all our guests! Find our contact information right here on TripAdvisor - Search "Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos" and then click on the "Vacation Rental" Tab. You may have to click on "View all 12 rentals" just above the pictures. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing