We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An incredible paradise!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dataivilla info Welcome HOME!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
dataivilla info
Welcome HOME!
COOL !!!
Gathering with family and friends
The 'cordon bleu' kingdom....
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Please... enter the second pod
One Bedroom
second bedroom
Third bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whitby, North Caicos, Turks and Caicos

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Victor L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An incredible paradise!”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed several times at the Datai Villa, either with my family, my girlfriend or with friends. It is a wonderful beachfront property separated into two buildings, a main building with one master bedroom/bathroom, the kitchen, the dinning room and the living room, and a second building with two large bedrooms/bathrooms. All the rooms except one bedroom are facing the sea, you therefore have an incredible view of the turquoise water from sunrise to sunset. The villa is really clean and well maintained, the owners live 150 meters (0.1 mille) away. The garden is really beautiful and well arranged with tropical plants and coconut trees. The kitchen is well furnished, I really enjoy the expresso machine available, which is a welcomed improvement on the typical filter machine you get in a rental, the coffee connoisseurs will be able to enjoy their cups at the 6AM sunrise like I did. If you want, Jean-Louis (the owner) can offer a really good catering service with a 24 hour notice, he is a really impressive cook (ask for his pizzas or singapore noodles). Activity wise the villa offers 3 catamaran kayaks which are unsinkable and really stable, I was using them almost daily to go fishing for snappers, groupers, parrotfish and triggerfish at the shallow reef 500 meters (0.3-0.4 mile) in front of the property. The beach is one of the best I have ever seen... Almost nobody on the beach for miles (I am pretty sure you could go swim naked without disturbing anyone if you wanted to.) The water is mostly really calm as the area is protected by a coral reef barrier about 1 km (0.6-0.7 miles) offshore, the average depth between the beach and the coral reef barrier is about 1.5 to 2.5 meters (5 to 8 feet). This depth is perfect for swimming and snorkeling, I normally snorkel the coral reef barrier several hundred meters and come back with half a dozen of lobsters and several fish (spearfished), which makes a nice lunch for 6 people. There is a nice large palapa (shade area) right on the beach for 4-6 people to relax on lounge chairs protected from the sun. There is also a hobiecat wave catamaran (13 feet) you can rent for the week if you have some sailing experience, I enjoyed it alot with my girlfriend and friends on my last trip to travel to the pumpkinbluff's beach 1.5 km (1 mile) west from the villa or to the public dock 3 km (2 miles) east from the Datai-Villa. You will have to bring your own snorkeling gear and fishing gear to fully enjoy the reef. I personally bring my kitesurfing gear everytime I go there and my father brings his windsurfing gear, the beach is perfect for water/wind sports as the water is calm and the wind is steady with a perpendicular orientation to the beach and slightly onshore, which is the best orientation possible as you don't drift away from the beach. I highly recommend this place to people who want to disconnect, love nature and enjoy a peaceful vacation away from the crowds. I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and the fact it is better than advertised
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Y
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING VACATION -- Private & Serene”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed at Datai Villa over the first two weeks of May 2015. It was true to the photos and the descriptions --- actually more amazing in-person! This property is truly the best on Whitby beach in terms of how how well set-up it is for living every moment outside --- the attached deck by the house, the detached covered deck by the beach, the hammock under the palms, and the boardwalk directly to the water. The entire villa met our every expectation, and hosts, Jean-Louis & Martine were very helpful & friendly, yet respectful of our desire for privacy.

Walking to the Silver Palm for dinner, prepared with tremendous care by Karen, was like having a private chef (get the lamb!). Miss Bs for lunch was a treat as well (get the curried grouper!). We rented a car for the entire second week, which offered some adventure (we drove the length of the island and over to Middle) after a solid week of solitude. We plan to return to Datai for a longer stay next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W
Golden Valley, Minnesota
1 review
“Spring Break Vacation”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife and I and our three children stayed at Datai Villa for one week and had a wonderful experience. Jean-Louis was a wonderful host and the house was immaculate. The location is simply stunning and right on the beach with an amazing view. We decided not to rent a car and spend the entire week at the house and didn't regret our decision. We walked the beach, read, snorkled, swam, played ping pong and just relaxed.

We did not stop in Provo for groceries due to a two hour flight delay but were able to find enough provisions at the two local grocery stores to make meals for the week. Walking the beach on the way to the grocery store is easy and we did this a couple of times during the week. Jean-Luis was even kind enough to drive us one day to the grocery store and liquor store.

The only regrets we had were leaving this wonderful home and that it was very windy the week we were there so we did not take the kayaks out. We would definately recommend staying at Datai and look forward to returning again someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location was ideal
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrukTravl...
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolute fantastic vacation rental for a family and friends”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

By far, the best vacation rental experience we've had as a family! The property and accommodations are better than advertised. We were able to sunbathe, walk, shell, snorkel and kayak right from the beach. You can be as connected or disconnected as you wish. For us, it was a perfect time for our family to spend some quality time together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location right on the beach afforded us many opportunities
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleks814
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
“great place to de-stress and to get rejuvenated”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A great house, hosts and a very quiet beach spot. The place is perfect for a couple or a small group of friends. It's right on the beach. You fall asleep and wake up with relaxing sounds of waves. Jean-Louis was prompt in responding and easy to communicate with. He helped us with arranging transportation, getting some food and made us a great pizza the night we arrived. You can relax or be active, weather permitting. We had strong winds the week we were there so it was not ideal for kayaking but that also meant there were no mosquitoes or sand bugs at all. If you plan on cooking, it's worth stopping for food shopping on Provo before boarding the ferry. We hope to be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyMomm...
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect family vacation on North Caicos, a surprising undeveloped piece of paradise”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed with our family of three adults and two boys aged 4 and 7 for a perfect eight days of sun, beach and relaxation at Datai. It was our fourth time inTurks and Caicos. The first three, we stayed at Beaches in Provo (a Sandals' resort). While the all-inclusive thing is nice, we decided on going the vacation rental route this time because, for us, a beach vacation is primarly about the beach. After our stay at Datai, I can definitely say that we made the right choice and none of us (even the boys) missed Beaches. We've already booked our return trip to Datai next year.

We were sold on Datai based on the description and rave reviews and Datai does live up to everything described on the website and TripAdvisor.

The house: was a great open concept layout, with the master bedroom off of the open living/dining kitchen area and we ate almost all of our meals on the shaded sun deck. The deck wraps around the entire house, and connects the main part of the house with the two other bedrooms which are in their own separate building a few steps away (which also lends itself to privacy). The furniture and beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots and all the kitchen implements you need (including a blender). The palapa/gazebo down by the beach was one of our favourite features. What is not evident from the pictures, but is another great feature is the contained yard (on either side of the boardwalk,in the space between the house and the hedge in front of the beach). This palm tree-filled sandy yard was a great contained space where the kids would play freely for hours tossing balls and frisbees, playing croquet and imagination games and fooling around on the hammock. Another great feature for us was the a ping pong table in the garage, which the boys used almost daily. The TV set-up with amazing movie selection was also great for the kids for down time in the late afternoon and eveng. There is a DVD player also brought some of our own must-have kid DVDs from home. Jean-Louis also had a giant container of sand toys that supplemented well the ones we brought ourselves. There was a good trade wind throughout our stay, which meant that the bugs were much less of an annoyance, and although we were still able to swim easily and enjoy the beach every day, the choppy water made us reluctant to try out the sea kayaks that come with the house. That will be for another visit.

North Caicos: is only a twenty five minute ferry ride from Provo, but it feels like another world of unspoiled spectacular beaches that stretch on for miles with hardly any development, buildings or other tourists around. When we first arrived, we marvelled at all the conch shells we found, but by day three, we took them for granted and started tossing them out of the way so as not to step on them. The actual infrastructure on North Caicos also seems underdeveloped (driving on the left on very bumpy roads, with no sign posts anywhere was a challenge, but zero traffic made the task lest daunting). Still, you will find everything you will need on the island. Our favourite place for groceries was Nique's and Kendra, the owner, kept the place spotless and was extremely helpful and friendly. No, grocery stores are not like grocery stores at home, but if you are flexible with your menu, you'll be satisfied with what you'll find "on North." We did do a big grocery run at the IGA on Provo, but it was a pain to haul it all onto the ferry and we felt we could have done just as well had we done all of our shopping at Nique's. That said, Jean-Louis suggested we bring coffee and cheese from home, which was good advice. We also brought with us other staples for the kids like breakfast cereal, maple syrup, sugar and other easy to carry dry goods. We also had Jean-Louis cook a few meals for us (which were delicious - a great option not to have to cook some evening meals). The one time we ate out, we had a great lunch at the Silver Palms a short walk up the beach. We would have eaten out more, but we found it was easier just to eat at the house. We did one outing to Middle Caicos, which was beautiful, but we arrived after the lunch crowd on day trips from Provo had already settled in and we (or rather the kids) were not patient enough to wait for a free table (true for both places we tried in Middle Caicos, so head out earlier in the morning if you plan to each lunch in Middle Caicos or pack a pic nic in the cooler that's at the house). We also loved our outings to Three Marys Cays, and the beach just south of it. The beach there was more lagoon-like and shallow, perfect for the kids to wade in and snorkel.

Jean-Louis and Martine were gracious, friendly and helpful hosts. Jean-Louis, who owned and managed high-end hair salons in many world-renouned cities in his previous life, also gave my husband a great haircut and shave. He'll even do your hair on the beach.

What vacation rental can you find out there that gives you all this? We felt the house was great value, and of all the houses we looked at while on North Caicos, we were convinced we had the best place on the island. We can't wait to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HlWil
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Paradise Home- Gilligan Island setting”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a Stunningly gorgeous setting, both in home and beach, then this is your island getaway home. The home itself is actually better than pictured with a vista to the beach that is unsurpassed. Beautifully designed, this home is absolutely perfect for a large family, girls getaway, or several couples, as it has separate areas for retreat and respite..and 3 full bathrooms. The ocean lulls you to sleep and the beachfront Gazebo is intoxicating both for morning coffee and afternoon cocktails. The hosts are wonderful....and the shopping service and dinner upon arrival was well worth it! A wonderful way to start our holiday. Be prepared, this island and surrounds are made for RELAXING.....not entertainment. You go here to RELAX and UNWIND. Do not expect glamorous shops, restaurants, and grocery stores...this is REAL island living...and clearly a well kept secret. The colors will astound you, the water will sooth you, the locals will bring a smile to your face. And the natural wonders on the island are enough to keep you enthralled. A day out with Capt D is well worth it! Or hire a jeep for a few days and venture around the island and to Middle Caicos. Be sure and learn how the trade winds work and bring Bug spray, as the Sand flies were a nuisance when we were there.... a small price to pay for such paradise, but still annoying. Enjoy! Loved every minute at Datai Villa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was lovely...and the beach was amazing! The colors and water superb!
Liked least: The bugs...sand flies and mosquitos
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing