We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, fun atmosphere, great view!”

Chinson's Grill Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere, great view!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great chicken wing appetizer (sweet and sticky), awesome jerk chicken entree. Friends enjoyed their conch, goat, and Chinese dishes. They live on the island and return frequently and have been everywhere.
Got lots of food for a very fair price (Provo's expensive, this is below average pricing I've experienced). Fun outdoor seating at picnic tables (if you're looking for fancy go somewhere else). Views of the island and ocean (sure it's in the distance, but it's better than no view!).
Want casual outdoor islandy fun that's a good value? Go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    145
    44
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food slow service”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Chinson has a nice view of the water in the distance during daylight but you will be looking over the hi way and the roofs of several buildings. We sat at a picnic table and started with the conch fritters which were good. My wife had the island shrimp & chips which she really liked especially liked chips. The pineapple slaw was just ok with no real pineapple flavor. I had the jerk chicken which was good, spicy but not to bad. I'm a huge fan of rice and peas and this was just average lacking a bit on the seasoning side.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MacLuvBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Oxtail, jerk chicken, sandwiches and mini patties!! yummy everything! We go there several times during our frequent visits to the island. Highly recommend!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville
Level Contributor
162 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Average to poor”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I really would not recommend going here. It is not a great location & the food was just average to below average at best. The prices were high for what you got.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at Local Eatery”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our first time in turks and caicos. We were recommended to go to Chinson. Its a local place, nothing fancy or pricey. The food way surpassed some of the food we ate in the expensive hotels. Jerk chicken and pork is to die for. Fresh salad, plantains and you must try the mini chicken pattys!! Excellent service and friendly staff!! I recommend anyone to try Chinson if they want a local dining experience with excellent Jamaican home cooked food. They will not disappoint!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKLucky37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinson's Grill Shack also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Chinson's Grill Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing