We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch on the beach”

Hemingway's Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 155 Restaurants in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hemingway’s Restaurant is located at The Sands at Grace Bay, a luxury Caribbean resort nestled on the world-famous Grace Bay Beach on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies.
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were staying at the Sands Resort. Shame on us for not trying this restaurant sooner! We ate lunch here on our last day before leaving for the airport. The fish tacos were so delicious and what a deal- less than $15.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kblazydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn R, Manager at Hemingway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for submitting this review, I am glad you enjoyed your lunch at Hemingway’s. Hopefully next time you'll enjoy more meals with us.

Sincerely,
Carolyn Robinson, Restaurant Manager
Hemingway's on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,560 - 1,564 of 2,575 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

First meal was fish tacos and it was fresh grouper with mango chutney sauce in a soft flour tortilla. Wonderful fish and chose salad as my side. It came with two tacos and really large enough to share $13.00.

Second meal was dinner and had salmon on a bed of garlic mashed potatoes and veggies of carrots and broccoli for ($33), pasta with shrimp ($23) and pasta with chicken ($22). Appetizer was mozzarella cheese on tomato with purple onion ($11). The meals did not come with a salad, soup or bread so prices are a little high but you are on a small island so somewhat expected for dining outside right over the sand.

Thank swimdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn R, Manager at Hemingway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your review and photos with our trip advisor readers. Sounds like you had the full beach dining experience, glad you enjoyed it.

Sincerely,
Carolyn Robinson, Restaurant Manager
Hemingway's on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice setting, good service, tasty food. All in all, a very nice dining experience. We stopped in on a week night with no reservation and were seated immediately. The conch soup was very good, our entrees were nice and the shared brownie dessert capped off the mea nicely

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hughwgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn R, Manager at Hemingway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for stopping in to visit us, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience. “Conch Soup” is a local favorite, glad you enjoyed it.

Sincerely,
Carolyn Robinson, Restaurant Manager
Hemingway's on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Okay, this is a very subjective matter so let me qualify it by saying my "best in class" opinion is linked to staying at The Sands Resort 5 of our 7 trips to Provo. "You're there, it's there". Fact is Hemingway's is both a convenient and pleasurable outdoor casual dining experience. Even if not staying at The Sands, anyone can wander in off beautiful Grace Bay's beach for breakfast lunch or an alfresco dinner under the Caribbean stars. The menu is basic island fare but if you have a hankering for a robust burger, The Pappa-Burger will transport you to The Running of the Bulls and remind you That the Sun Also Rises. My personal favorite are the signature Fish Soft Shell Tacos. Local grouper and Caribbean salsa make this my #1.

1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn R, Manager at Hemingway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for the repeat business and for the recommendation, we appreciate it! Our main goal is customer satisfaction, fulfillment of expectations and enjoyment. Reviews like yours help us understand we are accomplishing our objectives.

Sincerely,
Carolyn Robinson, Restaurant Manager
Hemingway's on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

To be honest, we didn't really want to go here but went simply because it was just a short walk on the beach from our hotel. The staff was friendly but the food average. We waited a few short minutes for a table outside on the deck. We ordered a salad and their beef skewers to start. The beef skewers were really small, two of them for $12. It was good but not worth the money. We decided to split an entree since we weren't too hungry and they were nice and split it evenly among two dishes for us. All in all, the meal was fine but nothing to write home about.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn R, Manager at Hemingway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We fully appreciate that you took the walk down to try Hemingway’s, and I am glad we could accommodate the shared entrée. Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your review.

Sincerely,
Carolyn Robinson, Restaurant Manager
Hemingway's on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hemingway's Restaurant also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Grace Bay, Providenciales
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Hemingway's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing