We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star accommodations; 4 star amenities”
Review of The Regent Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Regent Grand
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“5 star accommodations; 4 star amenities”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Regent Grand for our 25th Anniversary. There are so many wonderful things to say about this hotel. The room we stayed in was spectacular. Ocean view. 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. Beautifully decorated. Very comfortable bed. Every thing we needed was there. Washer and dryer was very helpful.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Special shout out to Calvin (who does everything) and David at the bar. The cleaning staff did a great job too. Turn down service very nice as well.
The hotel acknowledged our anniversary with a very nice surprise. So thoughtful!

This hotel is probably the best location in T&C. We were able to walk around the shops and there are nice restaurants in walking distance too (Thai Orchid was our favorite). It's really a prime location. Check out The Caicos Bakery. Fantastic French bakery. We went there almost every day.

We rode bikes provided by the hotel. You can ride safely on the sidewalks, which is nice.

Cabs are expensive. You'll be expected to pay about $13 per person each way to travel to places like da Conch Shack. No matter how many people are in the cab.

Things we didn't like so much:
Not having a restaurant is a pain. They did provide a basic continental breakfast. Delicious pastries. But never decaf coffee, which is what I drink. I was able to track down staff a couple of days to make some. But if no one was around, I really didn't want to go looking for someone. Also, I know this is mentioned in other reviews - there was NO staff at the beach. I never was offered a drink (and I would have bought one!). I did get bar service at the pool, but not as often as you would think. The gym was adequate, but there were some issues. The phone was not working all week. I mentioned it twice. The elliptical machine was out of order. And there is a step between the machine room and the free weights. The flooring is the same and there is no warning so it's hard to see the step - I tripped twice during my stay. It's a safety hazard. So be careful.

Beach is smaller than at the other hotels in Grace Bay but it didn't bother us.

The island is very quiet - too quiet for my taste. There is really nothing to do at the hotel. No music by the pool. Total quiet. Many people like this, including my husband. But I was a bit bored. So the hotel was really wonderful but not my cup of tea. If you want quiet, you'll love it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank iliketotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    80
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
270
333
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Regent Grand the second week in November, it was truly an amazing experience. This is a top-of-the-line hotel (not really a resort as its not full-service and there is limited staff) however, the staff there is absolutely amazing...when we arrived at the resort, Calvin ran to the taxi to cover the fare, he greeted us by name and walked us to our room and showed us around. Not very many resorts do this...The building's architecture is incredible very welcoming, relaxing and luxurious.

The location is prime, close to the gourmet supermarket, to shops, truly in the middle of everything. Right across the street you can find a car rental place, the front desk staff will arrange for delivery and pick-up of the rental, beware that the island has limited vehicles so make a reservation early to book the $39.99 car and not the $65 we paid for. The front desk staff was really helpful in helping us decide what to do and in making dinner reservations. Coco Bistro, Anacoana and Hemingways are great dining options. We heard the Restaurant Seven was also really good. The Regent Grand has bikes to borrow.

Overall a great place to stay, I will return to the Regent Grand anytime!!

Room Tip: rooms are either ocean front or pool side, either one of the rooms is great. We stayed at the pool s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Our 3rd trip to Provo and 2nd stay at Regent Grand... very pleased, as in the past! Everyone at the resort from security to front desk to housekeeping is friendly and attentive, and service is top-notch. The pool area at the resort is serene, and from the residence owners to the guests, everyone is respectful of others and very friendly. David at the pool bar is wonderful -- he always has a smile on his face, and makes a mean vodka mojito!

A few restaurant recommendations: Coco Bistro, Sevens restaurant & bar (next door at the Seven Stars resort -- Ben the bartender can juggle bottles like no one I have ever seen before!) Coyaba and for those of you who need your java fix away from home (since there is no Starbucks on the island), take a trip to "The Green Bean" in Turtle Cove.

While the tide was a bit high when we were there -- likely due to the storm brewing near Bermuda -- water was still clear. And, if you haven't experienced the T&C sand, you won't believe it until you get there -- it is like talc!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txntravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Trust your eyes - the pool, the grounds and the rooms really are as goregous as they look on the website! And because this is a small property the staff gets to know you by name quickly. The location is ideal and extremely close to great restaurants. We were on the island a week and only took a cab twice. If you're looking to get away from it all and be pampered - this is your hotel!

Room Tip: Our room had a gorgeous balcony, but it had large cement ballasters which were tough to see through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatheAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

for a total relaxation vacation, The Regent Grand is the place. just about a perfect stay. The only complaint my wife and I had was the high mattress in the master bedroom. It was a bit difficult getting on to because it was very high off the floor. Other than that, a great vacation!

Room Tip: the pool and garden view rooms are beautiful and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at the Regent Grand from Oct. 26-Nov. 2, 2011. For the most part, we really enjoyed our stay. We requested a one bedroom, oceanview room and were upgraded to a two-bedroom oceanview room on the 4th floor (room 407), which was just enormous and very nicely furnished. The hotel is in a great location - close to shopping, dive/snorkel shops, and restaurants. It has a beautiful, huge, mosiac-tiled pool (I am very much missing that pool already!), two jacuzzis, and is located directly on a gorgeous beach right on Grace Bay. Room service came twice a day - once in the morning and once to do turn-down service, so the room stayed pretty clean. We had a great balcony overlooking the ocean, and we would eat breakfast on it most days. The resort is architecturally very beautiful. When we were there, it was the low season, so the hotel was not busy but I understand it becomes far more busy starting in mid-November.

I would say our only disappointment with this place was the food. We had a breakfast included, and it was made up by the Vix (a restaurant across the street from the hotel that serves as the hotel's onsite restaurant). We found it to be very light and not particularly appealing. It included thin slices of meats and cheeses (which were fine but not really my cup of tea for breakfast), two croissants (which were fine), sliced fruit (which did not always seem fresh), yogurt (which was fine), and juices in small cans which we found smelled of fish for some inexplicable reason. They also provided coffee, which was not very good. But this problem was not insurmountable - we walked to the local grocery store to buy eggs, cereal, and fresh fruit for breakfast.

Oddly, though, apparently the Vix closes on Mondays (or at least it had been doing so for the previous few weeks when we visited). When this happens, you will still get your breakfast, but you cannot order any food during the day at the hotel, which created a minor inconvenience for us one day that we were there.

Also - there is a bar next to the pool where you can order food and drinks. However, the hotel is really not set up to be full service like most five star resorts. There is a staff member who walks around near the pool and beach and offers free water bottles periodically during the day, but, unlike most five star hotels, there is no one who walks around by the pool or on the beach asking if you would like to order a drink or food. And if you order something from the bar by the pool, a staff member will usually (though on small number of occasions the bar tender brought us our drinks by the pool) come get you from wherever you are sitting to ask you to come and get it yourself. Again - this is not that big a deal, but it is still not quite the way most big five star resorts would handle it.

Additionally, on a number of occasions late at night, we found that no one answered our phone calls to the front desk. Breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning, and one time we tried to call around 11 pm to request breakfast around 9:30 AM the next day, rather than 7:30 AM as we had requested it for the previous morning. But we could not get anyone to pick up the phone at reception and there was no one sitting at the front desk, so, since we could not communicate with anyone about wanting a late breakfast, we were woken up at 7:30 AM when our breakfast arrived the next day.

While the housekeeping staff generally did a good job, we discovered that when they put the dishes in the dishwasher for us, they were not running the dishwasher with soap - they were just sticking the dishes in and pressing "rinse." I don't know why they did this, but sometimes we had to run the dishwasher again after they did it because the dishes frequently came out of the dishwasher dirty.

During our stay, we met several individuals who were owners of condominiums at the Regent Grand. We found them to be extremely welcoming, and several of them provided very helpful recommendations regarding restaurants, dive shops, etc. in the area.

I should probably also mention that my boyfriend, who has a bad back, did not find our mattress very comfortable. It had a huge dip in it, which kept waking him up. I'm a heavy sleeper and tend not to be bothered by such things, but I figure it is worth mentioning for anyone else out there who needs a more dependable mattress. Of course, it is definitely possible that other condos have better mattresses.

So in summary - in several respects, we found that the Regent Grand was more like a mass of condominiums in a beautiful location, rather than a true resort, but we still very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ESSStopa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The Regent Grand was definately the best part of our vacation. Everything about the facility was excellent. From our welcome to the final goodbye, we were made to feel so special. The service at the pool was great. Always there when we needed them, but never intrusive. This is the slow season, so the property was quiet and truly relaxing. The beach was amazing. At times we were the only people for hundreds of yards in both directions. The room was such a surprise. It may seem silly to do laundry on a vacation, but in room washer and dryer was an unexpected perk. We will definately be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CATraveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Venetian on Grace Bay
The Venetian on Grace Bay
#2 of 45 in Providenciales
227 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#1 of 45 in Providenciales
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Grand

Property: The Regent Grand
Address: Regent Street | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#6 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#8 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Regent Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful, boutique and beachfront property, continues to be highly regarded among the hotels in The Turks and Caicos Islands. During 2016 this hotel has been voted as Turks and Caicos Leading Boutique Hotel for the second year in succession by The World Travel Awards. It has also received the prestigious Travelers' Choice award and its 4 Diamond Status from AAA. 2015 saw The Regent Grand ranked (#1) property in the Turks and Caicos in Trip Advisor's category of Caribbean Luxury Hotels (#9 in the Caribbean), 2015 Turks and Caicos Leading Boutique Hotel by The World Travel Awards, AAA's 4-Diamond rating and voted #1 by US News Top Hotels. Facing 300ft of pristine Grace Bay Beach, The Regent Grand is where memories are made and traditions created! Our staff pride themselves on their personalized service and warm Caribbean hospitality. The Regent Grand is ideally situated in the heart of Grace Bay, adjacent to The Regent Village and seconds from shops, restaurants, bistro bars and duty free. All one, two and three large Ocean-front Suites boast private terraces and the luxury of unobstructed views while our more intimate Pool and Garden Suites overlook our mosaic infinity pool. Full rates include daily housekeeping, breakfast, welcome cocktail and WiFi. Amenities include heated mosaic pool, tennis, bikes, Nautilus gym, pool & beach service, pool bar, Teona Spa and fabulous Concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Grand Hotel Providenciales
Regent Hotel Grand
Regent Hotel Providenciales
Providenciales Regent
The Regent Grand Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing