We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed here at the end of Oct/2010 to the beginning of Nov/2010, leaving just after Hurricane Tomas hit the island.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the kitchenette nice, the BBQ by the pool means simple (inexpensive!) grilling for you, and it's a short walk to the fully-stocked grocery store.

Clean, very well kept, and just a hop-skip-and-jump (30 second walk) to the beach!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adfernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    185
    42
    12
    2
See reviews for
246
340
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Perfect for families, retirees, couples, singles - everyone will enjoy their stay here. Managers, Tendra and Alan went overboard to make sure we enjoyed our stay while celebrating my birthday. I have never been treated better anywhere in my 50 years and many years of traveling for business and pleasure. This place is that good!
The location is perfect - steps to beach with chairs and towels setup especially for VDM guests. Walk to great restaurants, shops etc. right in Grace Bay and no need for driving which really appealed to me. The property is extremely well designed and built to perfection. apartments are clean with first rate furniture and appliances. Pools perfect for all levels of swimmers - small kids to adults and heated so very comfortable. We heard people staying at really expensive places complaining about how cold their pool water was. It can get breezy and cool at times so this is a major plus.
All staff members were polite and provided prompt professional service. As impatient New Yorkers we were impressed by this unusually prompt service in the Caribbean.
The guests we encountered added to our great time as the VDM attracts some very nice people, our seven year old son made some great friends and was never bored - a minor miracle in itself. Also not overcrowded and noisy as we witnessed at Beaches, which had a Disneyland type vibe - I want to relax on vacation and we did just that. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Villa del Mar is fantastic for families. The pool is amazing for little non swimmers as it has a large shallow area for play. It gradually gets deeper (no sudden drop off) and also provides plenty of room for those who like to swim. The location is amazing with a less than 5 minute walk to the beach. We enjoyed the beach service provided. Sun umbrellas and lounge chairs were always available and our children enjoyed the assortment of sand and water toys. For us the walk across the street to the beach was well worth the savings in our room cost and the ability to have two bedrooms and a well appointed kitchen.

Our two bedroom suite was clean, quiet and had everything that we needed. From Villa Del Mar you can walk to a large assortment of great restaurants and to the Graceway grocery store.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lfamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Don't listen to the negative reviews. This place was fantastic. You could stay on the other side of the street, but not worth it. VDM is ideally located: easy access to the beach, the best places to eat and the satff is extremely attentive.

The studio rooms are perfect for two people, cleaned daily and spacious. Close to grocery store, most places to eat can be walked to.

The Staff:
From Check in to Check out, the staff was very cordial and want to assist you. They recommend places to eat and things to do. They can make reservations for you as well. They are extremely friendly and will make sure you enjoy your stay.

Food:
Jimmy's Dive Bar has a great burger and even better Rum Punch. They even let you ride their bikes or write on the ceiling!!!

Conch Shack was a great place to eat and sit by the water.

Horse Eyed Jacks. Reasonable prices and great food.

Coco Bistro was a very nice, resonable priced, great food.

Walk to breakfast at the Salt Mills Cafe or enjoy sitting on your balcony.

The hotel can book you a half or full day day snorkle trip, stop at iguana island, enjoy the fresh conch salad.

We rented a car the entire week. Not needed, but nice to have. You can visit some very remote parts of the island. Some of the beaches were completely empty. Go to Sappadilla bay and rent Jet Skis for an hour or two and see some incredible beach side homes and yachts.

A map is good, but after a day or two you feel like a local. The locals are very friendly.

Minor Negative: As our friends mentioned earlier, wish the pool bar stayed open a little later, but really not a huge issue.

Highly recommended! we will return and will feel comfortable bringing the kids.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgrg2599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Excellent trip. Upon arrival we were greeted with rum punch and smiles. Villa Del Mar is beautiful and kept spotless. The front desk was extremely helpful especially Tendra. One of us fell ill and she personally drove us to the doctor and pharmacy. We traveled with 4 children ranging from age 5 to 14. The kids had a great time during the day with water sports ( banana boat, parasailing, snorkeling, swimming and a day trip to iguana Island) The only thing i suggest is that you check prices for activities with the front desk versus the beach attendants. The front desk seems to get better prices than the beach attendant. ( Dudley) on certain activities. Alan ( the manager) was very nice and was present daily making sure everyones accommodations were to their expectations. All staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I chose Providenciales and Villa del Mar for my trip with my mother because it was her very first experience in the Carribean and I wanted her to have a great time. Well, thanks to Villa del Mar, my mission is accomplished! We especially loved the all-around comfort, the quietness of the place, the wonderful balcony where we had breakfast every morning, the proximity to the beach and to lots of restaurants. My mom is somewhat of a workaholic and I never saw her relax like she did here. Coming from Montreal and our mountains of snow, it was almost life-saving to spend a glorious week here.

I rented a car from Grace Bay Rentals. Great and friendly service, plus you get to learn to drive on the left side of the street as the British do, that is with the steering wheel on the right side of the car. That was a blast!

We went to different restaurants: Caicos Cafe (excellent food, great atmosphere, very efficient service); Seaside Cafe in Ocean Club West just next door (very friendly service, casual and relaxing atmosphere, good portions), Jimmy's dive bar (cool, casual, very friendly- we went every day for the local beer!); Caicos Bakery (a French bakery which also caters the breakfasts at VdM); Lemon (great food, friendly owners from Montreal also!). The only place we didn't like as much was The Grill Rouge: the food was only average and quite expensive, but of course, you pay for the view! Actually, if you come here for the view, just go to the Infinity Bar, get one of their expensive but good drinks and watch the sunset. Wow!!

Providenciales is expensive, I agree with my fellow Canadian from Toronto, but it's worth every penny!

I definitely will come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed at VDM the week before Christmas and we couldn't have asked for anything better! The rooms were very clean & very nice size. We had a studio which is perfect for 2. The balcony was very nice, a nice place to sit and have morning coffee.The washer, dryer & refrigerator came in very handy. The walk to the beach was a short 2 min walk across the street. Pool area was great, we spent most of our time in the hot tub! The bar in the pool area was nice, just wish it stayed open later, I think it closed around 8 or 9 pm. Staff was very attentive to our needs, they booked our snorkeling trip, recommended restaurants and much more! VDM is conveniently located within walking distance of many restaurants. My favorite was Coco Bistro! We did rent a car for the week to explore the island, but it is not a must. Our Stay at VDM was perfect! I will definitely stay there again in the future! May even bring the kids with me this time, as it seems to be family friendly!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmc7578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
424 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,956 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Property: Villa del Mar
Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing