We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Beautiful condo, stayed in the Penthouse ( 2 bedrooms, living/dining room, in suite washer/dryer kitchen -well stocked with dishes/pots & pans, coffee maker etc.) but looked at other suites available & the rooms were immaculately clean & nicely furnished as well. We had a problem with air conditioning in our suite & were given the option to move which we did. A bottle of wine was also provided for our inconvenience which we thoroughly enjoyed out on the balcony overlooking the pool & the well groomed grounds. All staff were very helpful & friendly. Enjoyed the complimentary rum punch & snacks Wednesday evening. Short walk to beach. Complimentary continental breakfast is included available outside at pool bar- cereals, juice, fresh fruit, coffee & tea & assorted breads. Having a car was definitely a bonus to be able to explore the island & go to restaurants although some are close walking distance like Coco Bistro. There is an IGA grocery store but the price of goods will shock you. The sandy beach at Grace Bay is one of the best I've been to & is rated #1. The beautiful turquoise, azure waters were wonderful to swim in. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
There are newer reviews for Villa del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

Even though this VERY nice hotel/resort isn't directly on the beach, it is such a short walk (less than a minute), that you don't even notice. Ice cold reception area, checked us in early (1:00) without batting an eye, immaculate, roomy, nicely appointed rooms, beautiful grounds. I couldn't have been more pleased. It is a small, uncrowded resort with very friendly staff. We just moved to WINDSONG RESORT (we like to try different places) and we're sorry we left VILLA DEL MAR!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ftlauderdalenative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I just celebrated our 20th anniversary at Villa del Mar on Grace Bay. We expected it to be nice because of all the great previous reviews, but it was even better than we anticipated. We previous stayed at the Grace Bay Club, the "creme de la creme" on Turks & Caicos, but priced appropriately. Villa del Mar is literally across this very small street from the Grace Bay Club, but because it is not beachfront, the price is about 1/3rd as much and we actually enjoyed it more. You walk directly to the same beach literally through the Grace Bay Club (it's a public access way), and you have your own Villa del Mar beach concierge, sitting area, umbrellas, chairs, drinks, etc. Your walk is no further than at the beachfront places, and the beach you are on is the most beautiful, swimmable, clean, comfortable and secure of any we have ever visited anywhere.

The rooms (ours was a studio with a mini-kitchen) are spacious, gorgeous and look out on the pools which are beautiful. Very modern and comfortable, and the staff are so friendly and helpful we felt like we were with family after the first day or so.

The location is great too in that some of the best restaurants are within easy 5-10 minute walking distance - Coco Bistro, Coyaba, Caicos Cafe - and our favorite Upstairs Bar & Grill (at the Ports of Call plaza; wonderful food at reasonable prices and a "Jimmy Buffet" atmosphere that the other places lacked. The proprietor's wife makes the meanest lime-ginger cheesecake we've ever had anywhere.)

By the way, some of the travel sites show Villa del Mar on their maps at the wrong spot, over beyond the Seven Stars resort. It's actually right across the street from the Grace Bay Club and the Ocean Club West. (It's also very convenient to the little SpaTropique at the Ocean Club West, which my wife loved.)

Room Tip: People with kids might want the ground floor where you can walk out directly to poolside. Couples ma...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank LUYAO Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Villa del Mar is a great value in Provo. We stayed in a studio which was spacious - king size bed, dining table, sofa/lounge area, large bathroom with both shower and tub, washer/dryer, and kitchenette. VDM isn't a resort like most of the other properties in Provo, but the price/night is adjusted accordingly. We spent most of our time on the beach or exploring the island and didn't miss typical resort amenities like a restaurant, grand pool, etc. The hotel is pretty new and the rooms and common areas were very clean. Our room was serviced daily.

VDM was very conveniently located and within walking distance to the best restaurants on the island like Coco Bistro and Caicos Cafe. The complimentary continental breakfast at the hotel left a lot to be desired so we supplemented with stops at Caicos Bakery.

Would definitely recommend VDM if you're looking for a great value but not expecting a full resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shopaholic84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My sister and I just spent 5 days at the Villa Del Mar and it couldn't have been a better experience. We had a beautiful 2 bedroom suite on the ground floor in building A, which pretty much came with our own private pool. The suite was really well appointed, with a full kitchen, two good size bedrooms, and a lovely patio just steps away from the smaller and more private of two pools. The staff was stellar from check-in to housekeeping and grounds crew to beach staff. Special props to Bill at the Tiki Hut who made perhaps the best margarita I've ever had. The amazing beach was just a super short walk away, and staff there would provide anything you wanted. All in all, it was fabulous and I would go back in a heartbeat. Only (tiny) thing I could suggest improving is the showerhead - needs more pressure :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BT2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff make this a nice place to stay. Quiet and relaxing with the beach just a 2 minute walk away. My wife and I enjoyed it very much. The rating would be higher but the bed was uncomfortable (too soft) and the room smelled a little musty. However, on the plus side, the rooms are large with a washer/dryer, microwave, bathtub, small kitchenette and balcony? All the restaurants and things to do are close by or just a few minutes away in a taxi. If you're looking for a reasonably priced place to stay with friendly staff then I would definetly recommend the villa del mar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,466 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#21 of 44 in Providenciales
1,866 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £147 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing