We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to Provo TCI. We have never stayed in the same resort/condo twice. That has now changed since we have already booked our next visit at VDM in March.
Pros.
1. Great location, close to beach, bakery, casino,restaurant, shopping and grocery store(.3-1.4 km) walk
2. Great rooms
3. Two great pools
4. Friendly and helpful staff
5. Good breakfast included, just enough to get you going,
6. Great little bar, again with super friendly staff, and
7. Beach chair and towel service

Cons
1. For some reason our room was not cleaned on our second last day of our visit,

The only con was very much overcome by all the pros of the resort. Although it did mess up our schedule waiting for the cleaning staff to arrive.

In closing, clean, secure, and nicely appointed rooms combined with the great location and super friendly staff make VDM a fantastic vacation spot.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    179
    42
    11
    2
See reviews for
243
335
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I read reviews of this place and decided to book based on the reviews. Everyone was spot on. This property is literally across the street from Grace Bay.
No ocean views = you don't have to pay for ocean view prices. Everyone I've talked to was amazed we were able to afford T&C until I told them that we stayed at an awesome hotel that's less than $200 a night! This hotel is across the street from the fancy Grace Bay Club. Villa Del Mar is apparently an extension of Grace Bay Club so as a guest, you can use the beach chairs/towels/service of Grace Bay Club.
Our main purpose for the trip was the scuba diving. Stayed 4 nights, 5 days. Only hung out on Grace bay 2 out of the 5 days. The hotel itself is clean, modern, and friendly. Food can be expensive in T&C since everything is imported. We decided on one of the evenings to BBQ. Prepped the food in our kitchenette and took to down to the BBQ grill next to the pool and made our own dinner. Never done this on a travel trip and it was so nice! We were able to decide everything we wanted to eat.
Overall, this place is a great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrscuriousity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at the Villa del Mar in December for 10 nights. Greeted very nicely from the front desk staff, checked in no issues. Porter was there to take us and our luggage to our room. The hotel consists of 4 storey buildings surrounding 2 pools. Our unit was located on the first floor facing one of the pools. The room was clean and nicely furnished. Very comfortable king bed, huge bathroom with shower and a separate tub. An opening into the unit from the bathroom with shutters was a nice touch! Our unitl had a sink, microwave and fridge which is all we required.

The one pool I went in was very warm. Good for kids as it had a walk in shallow end. Christmas lights up around the trees made it pretty for an evening swim.

The walk to the beach was literally less than a minute away across the street through the Grace Bay Club property. Our beach attendant was waiting everyday to give out the towels, and move the lounge chairs if necessary. Nice to have an umbrella and chair everyday. He was able to get drinks and / or food if the need arose. He would also set up any paddle boarding/kyaking or tour activities. They even thought to have water available for
guests at the beach stand - free of charge.
We would usually walked over to the Seaside Cafe next door for lunch to get out of the sun! The beach is spectacular!

The continental breakfast was okay. Bagels, bread, pastries you could toast yourself, boxes of cereals (sometimes choices varied), oranges, bananas, coffee/tea and juice. A greater variety of fruit would have been nice. It was good enough to fill you up for the morning. Located at the bar near the pool. Met lots of folks in the mornings.

Small fitness centre with an elliptical machine, treadmill (but broken) & weights. But with a beach front so beautiful why not run there!

Anything required the front desk staff would get, taxi, restaurant recommendations, tours or just a friendly hello if passing by.

Would recommend this as the price was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennedy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We traveled to Turks and Caicos with our family of 4 for a getaway vacation before Christmas. Home for only a week, we are already planning our second trip here. The beach is the most beautiful I've ever seen. The beauty of this location is hotels are not jam packed against one another and the beach area was never congested. Villa del Mar is just across a quiet street from the beach access of the Grace Bay Club. Although there is no water view we would gladly stay there again. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and to meet our every need. The units are beautifully decorated, the beds are very comfortable, and the balcony offers a serene view of the pools and hot tub. Our 2 bedroom unit was over 1000 square feet and was stocked with everything we could have imagined needing. There is no restaurant on site, but the property offers a continental breakfast and there is a market that is just a mere five minute walk away. You won't be disappointed. We are definitely heading back here. Thanks to all the Villa Del Mar staff for a beautiful, relaxing vacation for us!!

Room Tip: Corner suites offer more sun on the balcony. Adjacent studio units offer additional room for larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracibsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I am reluctant to write a review because I would like to keep this place a secret. From the beautiful beach to the spacious rooms to the wonderful staff everything was excellent. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We loved our stay at the Villa Del Mar! We had a ground level, studio unit across from one of the pools. The unit was clean, well furnished, and plush with nice amenities (dark wood furniture, stainless steel appliances, etc.). Although the Villa is not directly on the beach, you can access the Grace Bay Beach via a 2 min. walk through the Grace Bay Hotel. The morning breakfasts are sufficient (pastries, juices and some fruits), and the staff was fantastic. Lynco at the Front Desk set us up with a great snorkeling tour for a good price. Finally, the location makes Villa Del Mar a great choice. The hotel is within a 10 min. walk of the grocery store, and most of the restaurants. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank First L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The beach is just a short stroll across the street and VDM has a section that caters just to you..........you will quickly see why this beach is so highly rated. We took advantage of the complimentary breakfast each day; prepared one meal on site but mostly enjoyed the wide variety of dining choices, all within easy walking distance of VDM. The sunset cruise was one of the highlights and suitable for a family with young children(we were 5 adults, a 4 year old and a 2 year old).

Room Tip: While there is no restaurant the pool side bar is well stocked. The complimentary breakfast offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,366 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
410 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
1,940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
802 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Property: Villa del Mar
Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing