We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Condo Unit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Condo Unit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed with friends in a 2 bedroom unit for a week in November 2013. We were pleasantly surprised. The location of the resort is ideal, just a short walk from the beach through another resort property. The beach attendant is great and there is an abundance of loungers and towels. We were in a main floor unit and had a nice patio area leading directly on to the larger of two pools. We made our own breakfast daily in the very nice kitchen and ate our lunch at one of the resorts on the beach. We stocked up on groceries at the IGA about a 10 minute walk away. We ate all our evening meals in town and found that to be very expensive.The only downside for us, was the lack of a closet and lock on the second bedroom door. A second bathroom would have been ideal and a unit on an upper floor would have enabled us to enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    174
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
237
331
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at VDM for 5 nights as opposed to our original 7 booked nights due to a flight cancellation and were pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the resort and our accommodations upon arrival. Although the hotel was at its maximum capacity, it didn't feel like it was at all. There were always beach and pool loungers available for guests, which made for a very relaxing vacation where you are not playing the "this is my lounger because I have my towel on it game". I loved just sitting out on the "huge" balcony enjoying the beautiful landscapes, the warm weather and a glass of wine! I also loved all the amenities the resort offered....the complimentary breakfast, the in room coffee make and coffee, the washer and dryer. The walk to the beach was beautiful and very short. The beach attendant was amazing and every day would provide my kids with sand toys. I would definitely return to this beautiful resort. My only teeny tiny issue is that the customer service at the hotel when we were there was a hit or miss. There was one woman at the front desk that was always very pleasant.....other than this person, it was rare that they made eye contact and you were fortunate to get a bit of a nod when walking by the front desk area. There were also several times where I had to hunt someone down to get a drink at the bar. I love that this island has a very relaxed approach and you are forced to enjoy the quietness and tranquility of a non-allinclusive option, however, customer service at resorts should be part of the package when people choose to stay there and many times choose to continue to stay at a particular place year after year. Other than this very minuscule issue, we loved our stay at VDM and can't wait to return to one of the most beautiful islands we've ever seen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVE2TRAVEL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here Feb 13-18 and this hotel is located in the second best location in Turks..Second only to Grace Bay Resort which is located right on the beach directly in front of Villa Del Mar..We loved This hotel and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful we will definitely stay here again..Rooms are very spacious and clean with large balconies...The Beach attendant is very friendly and accommodating..Great Vacation!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at the Villa Del Mar during January. The location of the hotel was fabulous. Located walking distance from the most sought after beach. The hotel staff was kind, but what they could actually do for you is next to nothing. Had requested basic front desk amenities (toothbrush, razors), all we heard was “sorry we don’t have that”. If paying a premium rate $300+/night, one would expect free shuttle from airport to hotel, which most hotels on Grace Bay provide. But in the case of Villa Del Mar you have to pay a higher taxi fare then other hotels. Continental breakfast was punctual, everything was set-up early. However the limited number of items made it a joke, most guests just walked right past the continental breakfast on their way to real breakfast at Grace Bay Club. The gym was smaller than the size of a bathroom, how two people actually fit in there is amazing. The gym equipment was beyond outdated. Sense of safety is compromised, when there is no one at the front desk during the entire night. Now if you want the true hotel feel, one with ambience, a better atmosphere, then surely stay at the Grace Bay Club instead. But if you want a hotel cut corners, where you have fend for yourself then stay at Villa Del Mar. All in all Villa Del Mar has lots of potential, but not sure if we will return. The warm clear blue waters, white sand beaches were too beautiful for us not to enjoy ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-VDM, Director of Operations &Development at Villa del Mar, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

On behalf of Villa del Mar, I would like to thank all of our past guests who take the time to post reviews. We read each and every one and incorporate many of your comments into our daily operations. With some reviews it is in the best interests of the readers to understand the complete story. We apologize for the service you experienced at our front desk. I can assure you that what you experienced was the exception and not the rule as you can see from other TripAdvisor reviews and comments. We pride ourselves on our excellent service standards and professional conduct. I would also like to comment on your other posted concerns. You are incorrect regarding the airport taxi fares. These fares are priced the same for guests travelling to resorts within the same location and guests do not pay a higher fare at Villa del Mar. Our deluxe continental breakfast consists of fresh pastries and banana bread, regular breads and condiments, a large assortment of cereals, juices, fresh whole fruit, and fresh coffee and tea. We were aware that our gym facilities were limited due to space, so we now offer our guests’ day passes to a full service professional gym located within walking distance to our boutique resort hotel. Again, we greatly appreciate all the comments and reviews of our past guests. Please feel free to contact me directly with any questions, comments or concerns.
Warm regards.
Alan M Lawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We just returned from Villa Del Mar and was pleasantly surprised with this facility. Going in we knew the location was perfect but the facility was well kept and the staff, especially Lynco at the front desk were always accommodating . This property is truly the best hidden gem on the island . If you don't need beachfront but you want access to Grace bay's beautiful beachfront than this is the place to stay. I have always relied heavily on Trip Advisor reviews and once again they were right on the money for this property .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Based on the price I wasn't sure what to expect. This is a hidden gem, so close to the beach and walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The staff was very nice and the room was clean. Ours was a little musty smelling but other then that, very nice. Continental breakfast is included, be ready to carbo load.

Room Tip: I loved being on the first level so we could walk out the door to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tammim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We just returned from another wonderful vacation at VDM. This was our 3rd year in a row staying at this resort for new year's week. The party at the resort on New Year's Eve and the party at the beach with the fireworks are amazing .
The service at this resort is excellent, one of the reason why we love to return. The front desk staff , Patrina , Lynco, Ruth (and others that I can't remember their names, sorry) and Tendra the manager are always ready to help you and they do it with a smile! The housekeeping staff does a really good job at keeping your condo very clean and they make sure you always have enough towels. The staff at the tiki bar Bill and Nadeen welcome you everyday and always ask you if you are enjoying your day! Larone and Karone ,the beach attendants, are simply amazing, they will set up your chairs and get you drinks and food and again like the rest of the VDM crew, they do it with a smile!
The condos are modern , well equipped, and they each have a huge balcony. We have stayed in a studio and a 1 Bedroom plus den. We personally prefer the full kitchen in the 1bedroom with a full fridge that allows you to stock up on groceries and use the grill on site. The studio is smaller , has a kitchenette and is comfortable as well.
The beach is the best in all the Caribbean ! It's a short walk across the street, really not a big deal! We have stayed at resorts where you need to walk more than that to get to the beach!!!
The pools are nice and yes the water is warm!
We have travelled to many places like Dominican Republic, Cuba, Jamaica, Bahamas , Mexico, Florida. We always stay in 5 stars resorts. We have never returned twice to the same resort except for Villa del Mar.
We have stayed at Beaches, Royal West Indies and Ocean Club in Providenciales and even tough we had a good experience at these resorts nothing beats VDM!!!!
If you love small intimate resorts, not crowded even at full capacity, the fact that you can ALWAYS get a chair at the pool or the beach without having to play the towel game and want excellent service from the time you check in to the moment you leave then you need to do yourself a favour and book your next vacation at this resort.
This resort as definitely become our home away from home.
Thank you VDM for another memorable vacation!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Property: Villa del Mar
Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, West Indies, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing