We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Found Our Beach Paradise!!”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent 2 weeks with my husband in a Deluxe Studio at this beautiful boutique hotel. Couples vacationed here, as well as families. Despite being full during our stay, it never felt crowded.

Our room, the grounds, pool area, personal use BBQ's (Weber's) are impeccably clean and well kept. The staff was always smiling and very pleasant. They offer a poolside continental breakfast and the on-site bar is open daily and hosts a weekly cocktail reception. Great time to meet Alan Lawley, the General Manager/Director of Operations and Development. A super nice guy!! Caution: Beware of the complimentary rum punch. It's sooo good and just sneaks up on you!

Our Studio was spacious and furnishings were modern with a Tommy Bahama feel. We loved having the mini-fridge and microwave, and used them daily to keep our drinks chilled, warm up food. Villa Del Mar is centrally located and within walking distance to many restaurants, car rentals, cafés, as well as a grocery store, GraceWay Gourmet.

Don't let this not being beach front deter you from staying here. It is a very pleasant 1 minute walk through Grace Bay Club. This resort includes beach service. towels, complimentary chair umbrella set up and refreshing cold water, as well as bar and food service, with a smile!

The draw to this beautiful island is the beach. White powder sand and turquoise waters. Grace Bay was invitingly warm and smooth as glass while we were there. Bonus: no seaweed!

We were looking for a very relaxing vacation, but you can make it as eventful as you like. There are many boat cruises, snorkelling/scuba tours, parasailing, paddle boards, kayaks, and banana boat rides just to name a few.

Whatever you choose to do in Turks and Caicos at Vill Del Mar, you will not be disappointed! We will be returning as we have found our beach paradise just few hours by plane away from home.

We can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pinksmartie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at the Villa Del Mar in a two bedroom villa. It was clean, nicely decorated, and there was ample room for all of us. There was a large balcony that we used often. The continental breakfast was simple, yet satisfying, and we thought it was fantastic that it was included in the room rate. The breezy pool area had lots of comfortable loungers in the shade or sun, and we loved sitting by the pool in the afternoon sipping the drink of the day from the bar. The fabulous beach was a short walk away. Our beach set up was waiting for us each day (5 chairs, 2 umbrellas, and towels on each chair). We appreciated the fresh, cold water and cups that we could help ourselves to at any time as it did get hot on the beach! Restaurants were close, as well as the Graceway Gourmet grocery store which we visited several times for provisions. We didn't rent a car and it wasn't an issue at all because everything was nearby. The reception desk was very helpful with restaurant reservations, reserving a snorkeling excursion for us, and arranging for a taxi got the airport. This was our first time visiting T&C and we were very happy with our accommodations at Villa Del Mar!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 5travlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent 4 days here on our first trip to Turks and Caicos. Very friendly staff and we were treated very well. The room was well appointed and comfortable. Lots of ice cold water at the front desk was very much appreciated. Ample parking at the rear of the condo. Breakfast selections were ample. The washer/dryer in the room is a very nice convenience as well. The beach boy was always available and eager to help with towels, chairs, table, and umbrella. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had one complaint and that was an exterior light shined in through the bathroom window and into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Perryb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 week towards the end of July. We always tend to enjoy large resorts so I was wondering how we would enjoy Villa del Mar but I did not need to be concerned at all.

The resort is small with just three buildings A, B and C. We were in a ground floor unit in building A which is the furthest away from the reception building. We loved this location. It was just a quick walk over to get breakfast every morning and bring it back on the provided trays to eat on our private patio. Three steps off our patio was the smaller of the two pools. We could sit out in the morning and evening and leave our daughter in our room without any worries. The entrance doors for all units is on the back of the building and parking is provided there.

The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The pictures on the online site are exactly what you will get when you arrive. Housekeeping will leave you plenty of towels and coffee supplies (Wolfgang puck coffee) every day. There is a small sponge and dish liquid for washing dishes but no dish towel. Small fridge, microwave, kettle, coffee pot and toaster are all provided.

Breakfast includes bagels, English muffins, small croissants, white and whole wheat bread, banana bread, cold cereal, oatmeal, juices, milk, coffee, tea, peanut butter and jams as well as oranges and bananas. It is the same every day and is complimentary. It isn't always refilled quickly but if they are out of something you want just ask the lady and she will get it for you.

The grounds are very beautiful and most mornings you will see employees tending to the landscaping and cleaning the two pools. There is also a hot tub and plenty of comfortable deck loungers.

As others have stated, the walk to the beach is about two minutes. I have stayed in larger beachfront resorts where I had to walk much further than this. There is a designated area for Villa del Mar on the beach and the attendant will give you towels as well as set up any excursions or rentals you might want. We never had a problem getting chairs and umbrellas for the week. We rented both stand up paddle boards $35 per hour and kayak $40 per hour.

Villa del Mar has a nice location and is close to some restaurants. We did rent a car and enjoyed being able to go for drives and visit snorkling reefs. No problems with the free wifi.

Villa del Mar is a beautiful resort and great value compared to most of the other resorts that I researched before our trip. We would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We enjoyed building A as it was kind of tucked away on its own. Kids enjoyed the larger pool more w...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank cfa651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here with a group of over 30 people to celelbrate my dad's 70th birthday. Simply goregous property with lovely rooms and excellent staff! Thank youto Villa Del Mar for taking such good care of us during our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I just returned from a 5 day stay with my hubby at Villa Del Mar and I absolutely loved it! It's a great value. The room was beautiful - included a small kitchenette (which we did not use), a king bed, a sitting area with a couch, a large furnished balcony, and a large bathroom with a sunken tub and shower. There is a flat screen TV with either satellite or cable television - perfect for passing an hour or two in the afternoon after you've had too much sun. Breakfast was included and was a standard continental breakfast. It isn't gut busting, but it will hold you over until lunch. Although VDM is technically across the street from the beach and not beachfront, it is so close to the beach that it did not matter to me at all. Grounds were nicely maintained. There are two pools, which can get a little noisy with kids but we spent most time at the beach. There is a small bar with happy hour specials every day -- but there is no restaurant. The lounge chairs around the pool were the most comfortable I've ever sat in - my husband and I want to know where we can buy them!

The resort is relatively small compared to others (such as Grace Bay Club across the street), but I liked the quaintness of it and intentionally chose Villa Del Mar to avoid the mega-resort type of vacation. It is walking distance to many other resorts, restaurants, and even the supermarket. I thought the location was perfect. The front desk staff was very helpful with arranging snorkel cruises, dinner reservations, and taxis. I would definitely stay here again!

Just note, if you are looking for a mega-resort, with lots of amenities, restaurants, pools, waterslides, etc., this is not the place for you. But if you want a beautiful room, great location, and excellent staff -- for probably half the price of the mega-resort -- come here!

Room Tip: Building A is good for couples because it is not overlooking the main pool. Ask for a top floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzlou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Villa del Mar -- what a great value! This is our third trip to Provo, and we booked a two-bedroom condo at Villa del Mar this time for a fraction of beachfront resort prices.

We spent every day on the same pristine beautiful beach, which is only a few extra steps (through GBC property) to get to the beach. OK, so there's no beach view from the rooms, but who cares? We were ON the beach all day anyway!

The Villa del Mar beach attendants are very helpful and attentive too. They saw us blowing up our inflatables, and ran over with an air pump and did the job for us.

The Managers Reception was a great place to meet people while enjoying free drinks and live music. Overall, a great place to stay if you want to spend your time at the beach but still have money left to go on snorkeling trips, dine out, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheryl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,486 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,987 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £172 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing