We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found at Villa del Mar, Turks and Caicos”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I was lucky enough a couple of weeks ago to take a last minute trip to Turks and Caicos - and get away from the cold of the northeast US for a few days. My flights fell into place and my friend who I was meeting there came across the Villa Del Mar on the internet. They were running some pretty decent specials so we locked in for 5 days, even though they are not directly located on the beach.


I found the property really well maintained and clean – almost like new in some places. The location is a non-issue from my perspective – it’s like 30 seconds to the beach and they are actually closer than some of the back rooms in the ‘beachfront’ resorts near them. Our one bedroom suite was really spacious and comfortable – better furniture than my apartment at home for sure – and we had a pull-out sofa in the living room so it could comfortably sleep four I would say. And the decks are a nice place to relax and take in the views and they make the rooms feel even bigger. I like their pool too, and there’s a little bar on site.


Our beach strategy was to wander. Let me say that the entire Grace Bay Beach is fantastic and you really can’t go wrong with any portion of it. It’s the reason most people fall in love with the place. And it’s all public so you can stake your claim anywhere along the entire 10 miles of it. The part by Villa del Mar is in front of the Grace Bay Club, which is a very nice high end hotel, although the pina coladas at their very cool infinity bar were a bit out of my budget range. Further down to right (as you look at the water), is Club Med which has nice scenery for single gents like us and it’s a wide stretch at that point. Just past their dock is a cool local bar which didn’t seem to have a name but the beer was sure cold. There’s a little local craft market there, too, and someone told me they have lice music some days. We logged some good hours there and you are literally right on the beach.


To the left, the beach curves around some really nice resorts. I camped out in front of the Sands and enjoyed their restaurant called Hemingway’s on the Beach, which has good food and a deck right on the beach. I didn’t; make it past that point but it looked a little busier further down the beach, which may be because that’s where the Beaches hotel is.


Back to Villa del Mar – it’s so convenient to get to and from there to the beach, and also a lot of other handy things. Like the casino right around the corner. It’s not Las Vegas by any means but there are plenty of ways to lose your money. And it’s open late, late (5AM I think). I could walk from my hotel, but they seemed to offer free transport, too. There were a bunch of restaurants close by – I liked Fresh which was a breakfast/lunch deli type place but with a natural, healthy theme. It’s right across from the Casino. We were on a bit of budget so stuck to mostly cheaper places and found Danny Buoy’s a great place for food and to belly up to the bar. It’s about a 7 minute walk from Villa del Mar and the whole area has nice wide and lighted sidewalks. The shopping center type development nearby has a couple of cool little bars and cheap east too. Jimmy’s and the place right above it (where we saw a live band on Friday night).


We bought some food at the supermarket on the corner by the big 7 Stars hotel – Gourmet something. They have all the basic a guy like me could want – lunch meat, bagels, coffee and beer. And since my room at Villa Del Mar had a full kitchen and fridge, we were able to save a bit of money by eating in.


Neither of us scuba dive but that’s supposed to be fantastic in the Turks. Our hotel offered dive trips with one of the local shops and we aw a few others during our walks to Danny Buoy’s (by the way, we didn’t bother renting a car – if you’re not interested in seeing the whole island, there’s really no need. You can walk everywhere in the little area where Villa del Mar is). We did do a parasailing trip, which was a cool way to see the island but a bit pricey ($75 for 15 minutes in the air, but you do get a nice boat ride, too).


I give Villa del Mar two thumbs up (and my friend agrees, so I guess that’s four) and I will definitely be back to TCI. It’s super easy to get to from anywhere in the northeastern part of the US. It’s high end for sure, but you can still have good time if you’re on a budget, as we were.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RamblinMan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2010

Just back from a week in Provo and happy to report on a hidden gem - Villa Del Mar. If you can live with not being right on the beach (which is the case with alot of the 'back of property" rooms/units in other 'beachfront' resorts), Villa del Mar is a nifty place and a great deal.

The place is almost brand new and done very well inside and out. Condo-style rooms are big, well decorated and comfortable - full kitchens and outdoor terraces. We stayed in a one bedroom (free upgrade!) but they have studios and two bedrooms available, too - some even have ocean views. It's only about 40 rooms in total so nice and quiet. almost like a private club. Big pool and hot tub, a small bar by the pool, immaculate landscaping.

No restaurant on property but you can walk to several of the best places in Provo (Coyaba, Coco Bistro were two of our favorites, plus a neat little place called Fresh for breakfast and lunch within 5 minute walk. We liked Jimmys Dive Bar in the shopping area about 7 minutes down the street). The casino is right around the corner as well.

Best of all it's less than a minute to walk from the front door to the beach. The property itself is right behind Grace Bay Club so access is through that property and Villa Del Mar has its own beach chairs, and attendant - cold drinks, towels, etc.

For around $200 a night, we found this to be a great value with very few compromises on a 'luxury' experience, and would recommend it. (The units are for sale, too, for anyone interested in making an investment.) We plan on coming back in the spring for a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IslandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

My family (parents and 2 younger teenage sisters) stayed at Villa del Mar after Christmas and through the New Year. We had a penthouse suite and it was BEAUTIFUL! We loved the balconey and having our own kitchen. My youngest sister and I slept on the pull out couch (queen) and middle sister had the bedroom (full bed). Would have made more sense to have queen in the bedroom and roll away beds are not available. My parents had their own suite (personal access etc) and loved it! We had one international cell phone but also brought a laptop. The wi fii is shaky but our unit had a internet cord that provided steady service.
We were a 5 min. walk to the beach where the super nice "towel guys" gave us fresh water all day long (small tips appreciated). The water was amazing and gentle waves for basic swimmers!
The staff was great, however, we were not informed of many services, including complimentary breakfast. Once we asked, staff was more than happy to help us, but make sure you know what is included in your visit so you don't miss out!
Our activities including renting bikes (lots of fun), full day snorkling with Caicos dream tours (snorkling was great, it was the group of drunk adults that wasn't so fun) and a few nights out at Coco Bistro and Tiki Hut. There were also a few shops around the Grace Bay area but much less than we anticipated so be aware when looking for souvenires that your choices may be limited!.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JWheeler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We travelled December for two weeks for the first time to Turks and Caicos. We looked at every resort and chose the Villa Del Mar based on the price. It was definitely worth the reduced rate even though it is not directly on the beach, as the hotel is in the perfect spot. Right behind Grace Bay Club, itself a gorgeous (and expensive) hotel in the middle of Grace Bay, Villa Del Mar is literally steps away from the beach. Guests simply take the public access path to the beach, and it is the prettiest public access in all of Provo. Grace Bay maintains it and it is lovely to walk, about 30 seconds. Once you hit the sand you walk another 15 seconds and you are at the Villa Del Mar umbrellas.

You may have read about a difficult staff person at Villa Del Mar - she is GONE and it made the world of difference. All the remaining staff are wonderful and incredibly accommodating. A special shout out to Nadine at the bar and Rashaun (sp?) at the front desk. Both awesome!!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom with pullout couch. I would get a 2 bedroom with 2 beds, the couch was awful. The units are all gorgeous, though, and the kitchens terrific. We loved getting groceries at the Graceway IGA (although the one on Leeward Hwy is cheaper it is further) and then having breakfast on the huge patio, and grilling lobster tails and steaks on the BBQs down by the bar.

Drinks at the bar are very pricey, but we bought our own and simply tipped Nadine to bring us water etc. We loved her, so we also bought a couple of drinks here and there from her so that she was busy and we could tip her.

We brought our own water toys (snorkel gear from Costco, goggles, sand toys, and rafts) and simply took a big bag to & from the beach each day. Totally worth it.

At Villa Del Mar you are so close to all the great restaurants and the beach. We did, however, rent a car a few days and check out Turtle Cove Marina and the Tikki Hut (good food, decently priced drinks). I will review restaurants separately so I can do them justice, but Caicos Cafe, while not on the beach, is still hands down our favourite and worht the prices. Coco Cafe is okay, the ambience is worth it, but the food wasn't quite up to the prices. Grace Bay Club beach resto is pricey for sure, but the view is so worth a couple of expensive meals. The Sommerset has a Lobster feast on the beach Tuesday nights - it is out of this world. Also the restaurant there, Osoleil (sp) is amazing - totally Miami Beach vibe, with good food and out of this world service.

Villa Del Mar tips - buy ice & marg mix at the IGA. If there is no blender in your room demand one - there should be! Eat breakfast in your room - sign up for the continental breakfast and enjoy. (We didn't, the no-longer-there staff person said we coudln't have it but it wasn't true, but other guests enjoyed it.)

Do the beach in the morning and hang by the pool after lunch - it's perfect way to enjoy a cooler, more relaxing afternoon.

Rent a car at least a few days - there are some fantastic spots on the island and it gives you some control over what you do. Taxis are $$.

Provo Ponies - my 5 year old daughter and I went and it was the experience of a lifetime. Imagine - hot day, sandy beachs, and the horses ride right into the ocean and you ride in the crystal clear water for at least 20 minutes. Amazing.

P.S. Internet is sketchy, but would definitley bring a laptop as computer would have been very useful in terms of deciding things to do etc.

Please - email if you have any questions at all. It is by far our favorite destination and we definitely go back. Also, highly recommend the Villa Del Mar.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kristenholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Excellent choice! Beautiful and first class in every way. Only heated pool on the island. Very quiet and clean but short walk to night life, casino, restaurants and the beach. Most beautiful beach I have ever experienced. Units are very tastefully decorated. Must do's are Taylor Bay, La Brias restaurant on chalk sound, massage at Maxime by Mercy, Jimmy's Dive bar for happy hour grouper nuts and philly cheese steak, the beach! For a real treat take a cruise with Kenard. Beautiful 55 ft luxury catamaran. A must do.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djkkbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We love Providenciales, and have stayed in other moderately priced hotels on the island, but found Villa del Mar to be by far the best we have experienced in this class.

It is new/modern, spotless, the grounds are lush/private, the staff friendly/nice to us, and it has a great location, central to everything, adjacent to the beach, near the best restaurants, and shops (although TCI really doesn't have much shopping to speak of)

Villa del Mar is not beachfront, it is accross the street from the beach, but we found we were actually closer to the beach than the hotel we stayed on our previous trip.

We had a bit of a view of the ocean from our third floor balcony, but i don't think you can see the ocean from the first or second floor and you likely won't get a full ocean view unless your stay on the 4th (top) floor.

One evening we lit one of the BBQ's beside the bar and had our own outdoor dinner party with some friends. Our party turned out to be very private/intimate because our group was the only one outside enjoying the grounds/pools that night. Despite the fact we brought our own wine, Nadene, Villa del Mar's bar tender extraordinare looked after us fantastically. We felt like the entire complex was our own private Villa that night!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunbeamInThornhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

My husband and I just returned from TCI and felt it was the first time we relaxed on our vacation. We stayed at the Villa Del Mar - a resort opposite the Grace Bay Club and within walking distance to the "hub" on Grace Bay...shopping, restaurants, casino, and the new wine bar! The resort, although not directly on the beach is a 2 minute pleasant stroll through the grounds of the Grace Bay Cluband has a great spot on the beach with ample seating and a very lovely beach attendant who was very happy to bring us drinks from the bar! Resort staff were friendly and attentive. We especially love Nadine - the bartender. She is super nice!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fossybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
2,032 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,621 reviews
1 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £140 - £640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing