We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Villa Feel”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“True Villa Feel”
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Villa del Mar offers both luxury and comfort. A low key paradise stay in Turks and Caicos. It is conveniently a walking distance to some fine dining restaurants, Graceway Gourmet grocery store, souvenir shops, car/bike rental shops, bakery , casino.



The hotel is a minute walk to the pristine Grace Bay Beach. The beautiful path is shared by the 5 star hotel, The Graceway Club. Villa del Mar have their own spot in the beach and like all resorts, employs a beach attendant solely to cater to guests needs – cold water, towels, beach chair, umbrella. They stay there from 7 am till 6pm. You’ll enjoy the beach without constantly being approached by vendors although they are very polite. You probably will never encounter them if at all or probably once or twice for the week you are staying. The staffs are very helpful and attentive but know when to give your space.



The lady receptionist needs a majour attitude/service adjustment. For example, it would be great if the guests were informed what is/is not available to them, ie, breakfast, free drinks on Fridays, drinks that can be delivered to the beach. It is not a big deal, however, the receptionist was unreceptive and unhelpful. However, Roshann or Shaun has made up for what the villa lack thereof in terms of customer service. Big ups for him.



The room is generously spacious and lovely. It feels like home. Villa del Mar has about 42 rooms only giving it an intimate feel. It’s definitely worth it just from lazing out in the beach, the swimming pool/whirlpool at night and relaxing in your room at night.



Are we going back? Yes, definitely and will surely stay again at Villa del Mar.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    179
    42
    11
    2
See reviews for
243
335
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you (Darik and Tendra) SO very much for the incredible stay at Villa Del Mar. Everything was absolutely PERFECT!

Your resort exceeded all of our expectations and we could not be more appreciative.

First and foremost, the room was AMAZING! Loved the size, loved the very contemporary feel (especially love the bathroom), loved the views, loved the deck, and loved the location!!!

I like the small feel of the facility. Makes all of the service and amenities feel more personal.

You really have access to one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen (and we have seen a lot!) Your location is phenomenal- walking distance to countless restaurants and a Casino. Favorites were Coco Bistro, The Vix, Mango Reef- Royal Westin (Thanks Darik- I think you are absolutely correct!) Also loved the vibe at the Gansevoort Hotel too.

As a returning customer, it was nice to see that your already great resort has gotten even better. The grounds (pools, hot- tub, landscaping, outdoor bar and grilles) were terrific.

Most importantly, the service and staff were phenomenal! This was an instant and complete improvement over our last stay.

I will start at the top and say that the two of you (Darik and Tendra) made us feel completely welcomed and valued (wonderful feeling) from the moment we arrived until the moment we said goodbye.

Starting at check in (I think your staff member's name was Faye?) we were immediately escorted to our magnificent room (everything felt so easy.)

Really liked Rachel (again I hope I got the name right) and Rashon (both were great with recommendations and follow up.) Also LOVED your bartender! I had read great things about her on Trip Advisor (she is terrific!)

Services were fantastic (loved the cleaning team.) I also really appreciate the heads- up about stopping the continental breakfast. Good decision and securing breakfast is quite easy outside the hotel- lots of good choices.

We hated leaving- and have vowed to return! We are in love with TCI and really were completely thrilled with Villa Del Mar. Cannot wait to return! Thanks so very much again for making our stay so memorable!!

All the Best- and see you soon (hopefully...)

John M. Duffin
Philadelphia, PA

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duffinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capecodder
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We were there the first week in feb. i cannot wait to go back. Evereyone was nice Kendra and the whole front desk was great. The beach was beautiful and so was the service. It is a nice place to relax. I am jealous of anyone that is there now. The next trip will be for two weeks. see you Denise from mass.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warmlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The wife and I just got back from TCI, and the stay at Villa del Mar was great ! The 1-BR/den we stayed in was full of very high quality furniture, full kitchen with all the works. Silverware, glassware, appliances were all first-rate.

Front desk personnel were very cordial. Very accommodating. Bring your ethernet cable, WIFI is spotty at best.

The suite was very roomy, much more than we needed, the bedding was the best. The towels in the bathroom, well, it felt like you were holding two of them when you only had one !

The pools, the property were exceptional. While there wasn't an ocean view, the walk over to the beach was just a minute. When we got there, there was always an attendant there to greet you, provide towels, water, a lounger, and an umbrella, just for you ! If you want food/drink, they will get it for you from Grace Bay Club. Just ask !

As for the location as a vacation destination, it was much nicer than Maui. Very warm, great beaches, great restaurants. Nothing is free, most restaurants were very pricey. There are no 'chains' in TCI, so it's tough to find a cheap meal. But the local grocery was filled with great fruits/veggies/food in general, if you want to cook in instead of going out.

However, there is much larger a 'third world' element to the island as a whole. The developed resort areas are just that, world class, but the countryside was a bit rough. That being said, you won't regret going to TCI. Stick to the resort areas.....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saunterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Just back from Turks and Caicos and it’s more beautiful than we imagined. The beach is simply unbelievable and the water almost looks fake...it’s such a shocking blue/green color.

We were pleasantly surprised at how relatively uncrowded TCI is. Not wall to wall hotels like other islands we’ve been to, very little traffic (we didn’t see a traffic light on the whole island), and we didn’t have to make a reservation at any of the restaurants we ate at. And this is high season in the Caribbean.

First out hotel: Villa del Mar. Nice little resort right behind a nicer (and much more expensive) resort, Grace Bay Club (which was way out of our budget). But we didn’t feel like we gave up a lot with Villa del Mar. Our 1 bedroom suite was really big and comfortable. Plenty of room to spread out and we enjoyed having a full kitchen right in our room. The room and property were super clean and everything seemed new. Tip of the hat to the staff that made us feel very welcome and gave us some good advice on things to see and do. Nice pool, hot tub, bar on property…what else could we ask for?

We rented a car for a few days from Grace Bay Auto Rentals. They seemed to have the best prices and their location is close to Villa del Mar right in the heart of Grace Bay. A car is a good idea but not a necessity if you stay in Grace Bay and want to mainly focus on the beach. We explored the northwest part of the island one day. There’s a cool beach in that area called Malcomb’s Beach, but the road is a little rough to get there. We liked driving through the Bills Hill area to get there, though, and stopped a t a couple of local joints (Three Queen’s was our favorite but also liked Froggie’s).

Our favorite restaurants were Opus (in the Ocean Club resort by the golf course. Nice ambiance, great food and the bar was a cool place to hang after dinner for a glass of wine), Coco Bistro (you can walk from Villa Del Mar. its outdoor dining in a palm tree grove which is a really neat effect. Food was great but a bit pricey), and Hemingway’s (located at The Sands resort. Right on the beach, casual and relatively inexpensive places with great service and excellent meals for around $20-25, which is good for this island). We also discovered a place called Vine Tiempo which is in a little shopping plaza area not far from Villa del Mar. Cool little wine bar with small plates menu of some really interesting dishes. The nice thing about Villa del Mar is you are right in the middle of it all, but you don’t feel like you are in a busy area at all.

Our days were spent mostly on the beach. Villa del Mar has a beach area just for their guests and there’s an attendant there with loungers, towels, cold water, etc. We did a parasail trip one, day – a great way to see the island from about 300 feet in the air. The beach is just fantastic – really soft, white sand and you can walks for miles in either direction. No beach vendors or other distractions -- just pure unadulterated relaxation and tropical enjoyment.

An excellent experience for our first time to the Turks and Caicos. I highly recommend Villa del Mar – great value and location and very nice accommodations.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

My family and I stayed at Villa del Mar last July. The place was fantastic. I just went down again - this time with friends and even though I didn't think it was possible - they have made some fabulous improvements and the place was better than ever! They now have beach attendants that provide cold water, towels and set up your beach loungers and umbrellas for you. You don't have to look at the Grace Bay Club guests and how they were treated and think that you're the poor stepsister anymore!! They will take your drink orders as well and run back to the Tiki Bar for you and deliver your drinks right to your lounger.

The Tiki Bar by the pool was open the WHOLE TIME we were there. Last year it was open some days, and closed early evening. The resort hosted a Friday night cocktail hour by the pool and drinks were on the house.

There seemed to be much more care given to the grounds this time. Workers were spotted everywhere cleaning, trimming landscape, etc. Last year I noticed lights burned out, towels by the pool would run out by the afternoon, etc. Everything was in perfect working order. Everyone seemed much friendlier this year too. Last year they were OK but nothing special.

Kudos to the staff at Villa del Mar for taking a great resort and continually making improvements to make the place even better.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Blitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Upon check-in we were walked to our room (B101), on the first floor of the center building. It had a patio that was open to the bigger of 2 pools and the hot tub. It was the one bedroom plus den, very spacious with great decorations - dark wood and sturdy wicker furniture. Everything was very clean and ready for us.

While it is not right on the water, the resort is across a local street from the Grace Bay Club and the beach is a very short walk through the Grace Bay Club's beautiful grounds. It is a very walkable distance from an IGA supermarket, the Ports of Call shopping plaza, and even the Saltmills shopping plaza.

The only slight downside was the service. Housekeeping didn't come until about 3 pm one day (not a big deal). There is a poolside bar but it is not staffed and drinks are on-call through the front desk. When someone from the staff actually comes out to serve you, they are clearly not trained for bar tending. We got one round of drinks and then avoided this for the rest of the trip.

One important thing to note - you are entitled to a "continental breakfast" which is 2 pastries and a juice per person, but to get it you must fill out a form by 5 pm the day before. We didn't ask about this at check-in and it wasn't offered to us. I had booked directly with the resort's reservation line but gotten a price match to an online travel site, so the front desk person at first claimed we were not eligible for the breakfast. Upon my insisting this was promised to me along with the price match, we were given the form. Remember you must fill out a form daily per room in order to have breakfast delivered the next morning.

The front desk staff is helpful for booking excursions but I felt "Natty" was a little short with us. We definitely didn't know what we wanted when we were trying to book it, but she wasn't very patient working with us. That said, we didn't have any problems with the many reservations made for us.

The pool and all grounds were very clean, well maintained, and the scenery was beautiful. They have a laptop for guests to use in the lobby if you need Internet access. There is supposed to be wireless access around the pool but this was spotty. There was a small gym but we did not make use of it. There is no restaurant at the resort but there are many very close.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,366 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
1,940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
802 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Property: Villa del Mar
Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing