We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel where the guests are not the priority”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel where the guests are not the priority”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Beautiful hotel where the guests are not the priority. The Gansevoort is a beautiful hotel with spacious rooms & wonderful beaches, however, the staff (including Management) believe that the guest’s time is not valuable and we are to work around when it is convenient for them. This is very surprising as the hotel’s price and the Gansevoort reputation completely differs from what one encounters at their T & C hotel. Guests are expected to wait for the van to be filled before leaving the airport, guests are expected to wait in the lobby for over 10 minutes before being taken to their room and guests are expected to wait over 10 minutes for their luggage, to make it convenient for the attendant. Multiple guests can not even go snorkeling as they did not have more the 6 complete sets (masks, snorkels, fins) of equipment at the entire hotel. In addition, I was sent back to my room 3 times with different entry keys when the lock to enter my room did not work; only after I demanded to have someone accompany me & fix the issue, was it even addressed.

For a hotel that has so much to offer...good food, beautiful grounds, lovely rooms & magnificent beaches…this was all very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    279
    72
    22
    5
See reviews for
246
1,176
44
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I just returned from a long weekend at the Gansevoort in T&C for a girls weekend and had a very relaxing time. We were upgraded from a 2 bedroom suite to the Penthouse upon arrival, which was a pleasant surprise. The Penthouse was incredible, words do not do it justice. It is exactly as the website describes in pictures. Fresh fruit and Prossecco were also awaiting us in the Penthouse.

The hotel pool was nice, and the beach was perfect. I agree with other reviewers that snatching up lounge chairs at the pool was sort of annoying, at times I saw hotel guests staking out their chairs at 8am! Luckily, there were enough chairs for everyone (when we were there). They might not have been at an ideal sun/shade spot, but it is what it is. The beach is deeper, cleaner and quieter than any of the other Grace Bay resorts. And with very comfortable lounge chairs and beach "beds". We walked up towards the rest of the resorts and their beaches were far inferior in every way. We were so glad we chose the Gansevoort.

The exhale spa and core fusion/yoga classes were a factor in our selection of this hotel - the classes were fun, challenging and held in a nice open-air studio. The spa services were decent, the spa building was relaxing and zen-like (smaller, but similar to the Boston Back Bay spa). We wondered why the 10% service charge was necessary (it was communicated in fine print on the brochure, but all services were subject to it - why not be clear and just incorporate it into the service price?). The gym was nothing to write home about, it was small and really not worthy. I would have expected more from a hotel that bends towards spa/athletic endeavors (with exhale classes).

I also agree with other reviewers that the Stelle restaurant was nothing to write home about. The food was OK, but there are so many other options in T&C, there wasn't a reason to stay at the hotel for dinner. We ate at Mangolia's and Anacaona, both are highly recommended. Go to the former for sunset drinks and dinner. The latter's beachfront atmosphere couldn't be beat (plus live music Saturday night). Breakfast at the Gansevoort was included and delicious - fresh fruit, custom omelets, crisp bacon, baked goods, yogurt & granola, etc. There was plenty of variety for me, and I appreciated the buffet style so I could load up as often, and what specifically, I wanted.

In sum, I recommend the Gansevoort location, rooms, beach, exhale classes and breakfast. If you're particular about your pool lounge chair location, get there early or manage your expectations (you're in the Caribbean, have a rum drink and relax).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband, friend and I stayed in a two bedroom oceanfront suite 04/21-04/26, and I just can't say enough good things about our trip. The Gansevoort is modern, chic, and totally up our alley as far as service and style are concerned. The room was super-modern, flat screen TVs, rain showers, beautiful balcony with a table/chairs/chaise, fully appointed kitchen...

We were always well attended to at the pool AND at the beach. There were always plenty of lounges and chairs to use (free of cost), an attentive server on the beach, and always someone waiting with a smile to help out at the activity rental booth. Beach/pool food was great. We were actually surprised by how good the margarita pizza was :).

Housekeeping was amazing and kept us fully stocked with water, coffee and the like. Concierge was consistent in their level of service, greeting us with fruity cocktails when we arrived, scheduling transportation around the island, making restaurant recommendations/reservations, and calling ahead of time to schedule our return taxi.

We didn’t eat at the main restaurant on property as there were functions there three of the five nights we stayed (the only quasi-negative). The breakfast buffet was awesome… I really don’t know what more you’d need for breakfast. There was always fresh fruit (strawberries, pineapple, melon, etc), granola, yogurt, pastries, roasted potatoes, French toast, waffles, pancakes, hard boiled eggs, and omelet station (my husband swears it’s the best omelet he’s had, EVER) with tons of toppings, cereal, coffee, tea… you get the picture. Seriously, I don’t understand why anyone would complain about the breakfast offering, it’s better than any “continental” FREE breakfast you’ll get in the states.

We decided to skip the spa, it looked really nice though. The gym was fine, just enough equipment to help us run off the rum punch calories.

The beach was beautiful, again, what could you possibly complain about on one of the most spectacular beaches in the world? We took out the free paddleboards a few times and saw an eel, a stingray and some other sea creatures which was really cool.

I’d recommend booking a tour with Island Vibes, they pick you up right in front of the hotel. We also did a Provo Ponies tour which was lots of fun.

The only downside (not related to the Gansevoort) is the cost to get around the island… I would definitely recommend renting a car, and I understand the Gansevoort has free parking so we’ll definitely do that next time. We easily spent $350+ on cabs over our few days there.

Walk down the beach to the right to Somewhere Café (awesome fish tacos), Coco Bistro and the other restaurants on the water. We also went to Yoshi’s Sushi and Da Conch Shack which were in a world of their own.

We CAN’T WAIT TO RETURN!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor and we could still hear everything going on below, it didn't bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awtchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC/CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just returned from a weekend trip to T&C. The hotel/property were absolutely beautiful and could not be improved. Our room was stunning, exactly in the style we expected at a Gansevoort. It unfortunately was overcast the entire time we were there, but the setting on our veranda and around the pool balanced out the poor weather. We stayed in a studio, directly over the "lobby", overlooking the pool - stunning view.

Prior to going, I read some of the reviews re: poor service. It is not the fastest and most attentive of service; HOWEVER, you are on vacation and in the islands and therefore run on island time. The speed of service actually helped to force us into "slow down mode". If we were in NYC for a business trip, no I would not be too psyched with this speed; but we weren't, we were in the islands for an escape to regroup & re-energize...the speed of everything (minus getting a taxi at the airport) was perfect.

That said, the corporate management of Gansevoort does need to tighten up guest service in the way of friendliness and knowledge - very often the concierge was the "last to know" about a lot, i.e. didn't know what "special event" was being set up around the pool (turned out to be just a satellite bar for all hotel guests); the restaurant didn't have our reservations (that the concierge made); the Gans. rep at the airport sent us in a taxi, told us the driver knew the hotel was paying for us (per our package), got to the hotel and the driver had no knowledge of this, nor did the young lady greeting us - though she did handle it beautifully by telling the driver to stand aside and she will work it out after we have been "greeted"; room service did a number on our order one day, etc. "Little" things like that that goes a LONG way.

Our biggest issue was the food. We had breakfast on our veranda every morning; with the exception of a few hiccups (only delivered about 1/5th of what we ordered one morning), the food/service was fine...it is hard to screw up breakfast. Lunch is at the Beach Bar, which we unfortunately went to 2 of 3 days (alternate suggestions below). The menu is all fried and very "snack bar-ish". When sitting on the beach, in a bathing suit, after yoga or a morning workout, especially at a place as "sexy" as the Gansevoort, the last thing we wanted in the middle of a hot day was a heavy, fried meal. Wished there were more basic salads, fresh grilled fish, fruit options, etc. instead of chicken wings, fried seafood, big burgers (not even sliders), sides of french fries, etc.

Dinner though was the biggest disappointment. On the first day of traveling, when you are tired and just getting comfortable in your surroundings, Stelle is a fine option as it is convenient, but no need to go back again. The atmosphere of Stelle was beautiful - sitting under white-lit palms, cool breezes, good music, and nice for a pre- or post- dinner cocktail. The menu is a bit limited in that it is either seafood with heavy sides or pasta with heavy sauces; again, nothing light and fresh feeling. The actual dishes were reminiscent to meals one may receive at a business conference or in a hotel banquet room...aka "rubber chicken and carrots" meals. The food wasn't exactly bad but it was absolutely nothing to write home about...just "eh". Both lunch and dinner menus were really shocking considering how trendy and stylish the hotel is.

Lessons learned - Finally on the 3rd day we walked down the beach to Coral Gardens (which, btw, has a roped off coral garden in front of it - this is where you will want to go snorkeling from Gans.) to a restaurant called "Somewhere" - AWESOME!!! Great vibe, great food, fresh, light salads & fish for beach dining. Unbelievably friendly staff (thanks Sari!). Highly recommend going down there for lunch and/or casual dinner and bar scene. Also on the 3rd night we went out for dinner to Coyoba - FANTASTIC!!! Phenomenal atmosphere, ridiculously yummy food, fun, friendly, attentive service. Really a great place that I strongly recommend.

We would absolutely return to Gansevoort but we would be so much smarter about it next time - we would not eat at Stelle at all; we would go to IGA on first day and stock up on lunch food (rooms have fridges), as well as go to Somewhere for lunch; we would eat dinner out (there are a few other restaurants that came highly recommended to us) every night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magoo1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a fantastic time we had at the Gansevoort. The hotel was wonderful and the staff went above and beyond. We really felt taken care of. The room was amazing, the beach was amazing, everything was just amazing.

Olincia walked all the way to our beach bed just to make sure we made it to the airport on time. Also, Michael was so helpful and very friendly with everything beach and pool related. We decided the best dinner of our stay was at Stelle. There were so many great things we could go on and on.

As we were leaving, we were talking about the next time we come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

5-Star Service at The Gansevoort Turks! This was our 5th time back and of course still looking forward to a return trip. Once again the staff went above and beyond to make our most needed vacation beyond perfection. From Grant, Jean Francois, Michael, Daphne, Natalie and Reggie just to name a few, these staff members feel more like great friends at this point. Maverick and Rashid in Stelle Restaurant will also take excellent care of you and if your nice, the chef will create a custom menu for you. Once again the Gansevoort provided for an extraordinary setting with white glove service in paradise - our favorite hotel on the island. Take a look at our previous reviews for more insight.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I went down to Gansevoort T&C and absolutely loved it. It has a small intimate feeling to it so the atmosphere was very calm and relaxing. The Gansevoort chain is the absolute best being we're from NYC area. The breakfast every morning was delicious. The service was a bit on the average side - the hot tub was not hot at all and ti took an average of 20 minutes to get drinks but who cares I was down there to enjoy myself and not in a rush to go anywhere. The front desk was very responsive. If you have a chance, rent out the bicycles and ride over to Regent Village (20mins) where they have some fancy shops and dining. We also checked out the Conch Shack which was a 10 minute cab ride. Overall the hotel was amazing and relaxing. Definitely will be back here!

Room Tip: All rooms have an awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VKasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
2.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Turks & Caicos
Beach House Turks & Caicos
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#2 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Turks + Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Turks + Caicos

Property: Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Address: Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Turks + Caicos 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos brings a signature approach to luxury lifestyle that redefines the destination resort experience. Each of the 91 guestrooms offers sweeping ocean views positioned and designed to pay homage to the unspoiled island. The resort blends Caribbean cool with sophisticated style to create a sense of place for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Turks + Caicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Turks Caicos Providenciales
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing