We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice- but customer service classes needed for some staff”
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice- but customer service classes needed for some staff”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I chose the Ocean Club Resort East for a friend and her husband's mini vacation. I am quite aware that check-in at a hotel is sometimes at 3pm, my friends arrived at 12noon and had to wait until after 3pm for their room. The room with the Jr Suite quite exceeded their expectations so even though it started of a little on the bad side it picked up after they were escorted to their room.
Some of the staff certainly do need customer service skills, What hotel closes their reception area at night? There should be always someone there in the event a guest has an issue or needs information. I just felt that this shoulve been noted for improvement at the hotel. Overall their stay was short but sweet. Maybe next time it will be better than just GOOD

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dionne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for your response and for referring your friends to Ocean Club. We look forward to welcoming them back and will strive to make the return visit most enjoyable. I am happy to hear the Junior Suite exceeded their expectation. I did want to clarify a few things, including our check-in time is at 4:00 and check out is noon. We are happy to note a request for an early check-in and will do our best. I am not sure how the reservation was made, but the times are noted with all companies who sell our resorts. Our security is available 24-hours, in case anything is needed outside the hours of the front desk - there is a phone ensuite and one outside the front desk, the latter for direct dial to Security. Ocean Club Resorts, like many condominium style resorts, does not offer front desk around the clock. The security is available and can assist in any capacity. We appreciate your feedback and welcome you to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    264
    66
    23
    15
See reviews for
220
343
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a difficult review to do. As you will see, there are many pros for this resort, but, doing a "bait and switch" on unsuspecting guests is unforgivable.

The pros: The unit we eventually ended up with was modernized (4202), wth marble bath and kitchen. The view was nice, and we never closed the patio doors, as the breeze was excellent. There is a very nice restaurant onsite. The grounds were nicely maintained.

The cons: Refurbishig of other units is ongoing. Had to walk to an adjacent unit and ask for the power drill to be turned off at 8:30 on a Sunday morning. Hammering constantly going on. Other guests taking screaming children to the pools at 7:30 AM is unpleasant.

The "bait and switch": We booked at AA.com. They do not break down the actual amounts paid for hotel and air. However, we were 3 full price-paying adults. According to the AA website, it was "stay 5 nights, pay for 4". We estimated our cost to be about $300 per night based on this. The front desk, after trying to get us to Upgrade at an additional ...$600.00!!!!... finally gave us the the absolutely worst unit in the place, directly behind the office, with a view of...the ice machine. The said that they had no idea what AA had paid for our room, but in the same breath said that we hadn't paid for a third person, so we were only entilted to a room with two double beds...for 3 adults. (except the max occupancy in that room was only 2!) We literally had to shout to get them to come down on the "upgrade", which we know we had covered already.
The desk staff was discourteous, and appeadred to be "pushing" the particular unit were ended up in. A very nasty way to begin a short vacation. Because of this, we could never recommend this place. We noticed that they seem to reply to critical reviews, and are sure they will have some explanation for this "shake down" but we will not accept an explanation, only a refund and a sincere apology. This was our first visit to Providencialis, but we are frequent Caribbean and European visitors, and have never encountered such awful service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Thank you for the review. We have confirmed with AA.com, your booking company, that a Studio Deluxe Island View was booked. AA.com shows the suite as an “island view”, as well as provided paperwork that indicating “island view” - not an ocean view, or close proximity, that you requested at check-in. The information on AA.com is all correct, showing the occupancy of the suite as 2-4 persons. In regards to your accusation that we did a “bait and switch”, both AA.com and Ocean Club Resorts are happy to provide additional copies of your receipt.

The upgrade amount was correct and determined by the nightly rack rates found on our website (subtracting Junior Ocean from Studio Deluxe Island, plus tax/svc). The upgrade is the difference between an island and ocean view, larger accommodation, and one with a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer. That being said I should mention that most upgrades are required to be made by the booking company used.

On a positive note I am glad to hear you were happy with the accommodation and grounds. I would like to take the opportunity to mention that questions regarding package pricing (flight+hotel) need to be made directly with the booking company. In my experience packages can provide savings; however, do not itemize - our front desk was correct in telling you we do not know the itemized cost of your flight and/or hotel. Please feel free to contact me, and my best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

After reading reviews for several resorts, we opted for a Jr Suite at Ocean Club East. Our backup plan was to upgrade to a Jr Suite at OCW if we felt that our unit was not acceptable. Whew...Our unit was great. While the unit met our expectations, the grounds far exceeded them. OCEast has absolutely stunning garden area to compliment their unmatched location on Grace Bay.

When you read reviews of other properties about the beauty of Grace Bay, remember the beach is best here.

We did find OCW had a better pool, so we enjoyed using our priveldge to use facilities at OCW that are included.

Tips
1) If you dont have a car, consider OCW as its closer to the IGA market. The store closest to OCE has limited items and is expensive

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

we have visited Ocean club the original for 10 or 12 years. We have typically had a 3rd level unit in one of the 2nd row buildings. The last several years we have opted for a lower-level unit in one of the buildings of it farther back. Both have their advantages. As one reviewer pointed out these units are individually owned and consequently the way in which they are decorated and also equipped varies a good deal though they are supposed to be some minimum standard. It is one of the very first resorts on Grace Bay and so is mature but at the same time landscaping is beautiful and well maintained and the attitude of principally everyone is very positive. The beach chairs and umbrellas are always ready for you early in the morning. The Cabana bar and Grillis need for an off the beach lunch or a quick snack. We have reservations there again this year so we think it is really one of the best combinations of reasonable cost and quality units.

Room Tip: the units in building I are generally smaller and are the farthest away from the ocean. They are ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahuna2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is our fourth visit to Ocean Club. We are writing this review from the resort on our last full day. We wish that we could stay as permanent residents, which is how you are treated at this resort. The units have full kitchens and laundry machines, and you can use very nice barbeques that are cleaned daily. Our two bedroom unit was beautiful, with a wrap around screened in porch with panoramic views. The three bathrooms came in handy as we had our three year old daughter with us, who loved the pools and the beach. The pools are very clean and were not busy. The relatively small size of the resort is its best attribute, resulting in a quiet and very relaxing stay. Staff were great. For example, the air conditioning needed to be adjusted and this was done right away. We would recommend that you bring insect repellent for the evenings. We are looking forward to our return visit, which is becomming an annual tradition. Why would you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

After reading the reviews of The Ocean Club I wasn't sure what to expect so I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We opted for a top floor deluxe studio which had a very roomy feel due to the cathedral ceiling. It was nicely furnished with fresh bedding and very comfy beds. The kitchen was a bit dated but we didn't plan on cooking so we were fine with it. We were thrilled with the huge screened balcony. We really enjoyed sitting out there for our evening happy hour. Our suite faced the parking lot but it didn't bother us because it was surrounded by palm trees so we felt like we were sitting up in the trees. After all the talk about ants I was relieved that we didn't see any in our suite. However, insect repellent is a must when going out at night.
We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. When we had a few minor problems the maintenance staff got right on to it. They even blew up my floatie which I greatly appreciated. The shuttle service was great - the drivers were so courteous. Whoever is looking after the grounds is doing a wonderful job. I never saw even a tiny bit of litter. The grounds are lovely and the pools are clean.
The beach and water are out of this world. We couldn't believe how few people were on the beach.
The location of the resort if a bit isolated from the action but we lucked into an excellent cab driver (Kalvin from Island Taxi) who was very reasonable. Meals were pricey as was food at the IGA.
If you don't mind an older, quiet resort you'll love this place. I thought it was great value for money. If you're looking for night life, a 5 star room and planned activities this wouldn't be your cup of tea.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the top floor but if you have trouble with stairs be aware there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuscanytwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Things to know:

-Many of the units at Ocean Club are independently owned so room quality and decor vary by unit.
-As images show the property is rectangular shape. You'll want to be in the first two rows of buildings to have a view of the ocean.
-The resort does feel a bit in need of a refurbishment. Beach loungers are worn, umbrellas are sun bleached.
-The gym is in the basement at the front of the property (farthest from the beach). Equipment is limited and feels tired.
-No beach complimentary beach equipment. Turtle Divers (one of the local dive shops) has a store on property and we rented snorkel equipment at a reasonable rate. Also, there is an independent beach shack right next to the property that rents kayaks, hobie cats etc. But, no freebies as at some of the more expensive resorts.
-As I mentioned, some units are partially or fully owned. When we were there most of the other guests seemed to be folks that come every year. They tended to be families and groups of families traveling together. In that way, we felt like outsiders to a certain degree.
-Ocean Club and Club Med are two of the oldest developments on Grace Bay. As a result, they occupy one of the nicest stretches of the beach. We rushed back to our hotel on a couple of occasions to enjoy the sunset from the OC beach bar; the location is that good. Also, OC is very close to many of the better resaurants. Our favorite, Coco Bistro is within walking distance.
-OC guest have the opportunity to use OC West facilities for a change of pace.
-We didn't bother trying Opus as it is not highly rated on trip advisor. The beach bar's menu is basic but the food is tasty and reasonably priced. The staff are also very friendly.
-The manager's weekly cocktail party can be skipped. We were dissapointed to find that the complimentary rum punch had little to know run and the finger food on offer consists mainly of stale chips and salsa.
-We booked our room through an independent owner on VRBO (great way to save money when visiting TCI). We were pleased to find that we were treated no differently as a result.

When we made the decision to visit TCI we fretted quite a bit about where to stay. Compared to other islands, in TCI it makes less of a difference where you stay. Almost all the hotels are on the same beach. In the end we were happy at OC as we feel it provides a great value vs hotels that are charging hundreds of dollars more per night to stay on the same beach. We also stayed for two nights at The Alexandra and prefer OC.

As someone who has traveled to Anguilla, Barbados and St Martin I will say that grace bay has the clearest water I've ever seen. The downside? We were there in early February and the water and air temperature is not as warm as islands that are farther south. Keep this in mind if traveling during the winter months. Also, TCI has been built up from virtually nothing 30 years ago and the local population is small. As a result, there isn't much of an island culture/feel. It feels like you could be in Florida.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goweje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club West
Ocean Club West
#14 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Property: Ocean Club Resort
Address: | Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, West Indies, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing