We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, friendly atmoshphere”
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The friendly staff and cosy atmosphere are what make this resort so wonderful. The owner was very involved in the day to day activities and made us feel welcome.
The rooms are a little dated and the AC is a bit noisy but they are tidy and well equipped with a kitchenete, refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, diswasher and washer and dryer.
The on-site dive shop staff and beach attendants were very attentive and helpful. Beaches are fantastic! Great food at the Cabana Bar and Grill and we ate most meals there. Not really worth going into town for dining as prices and food quality are about the same. Recommend shopping at the IGA market near Ocean West for breakfast and lunch groceries. Meals are costly in Turks and Caicos. Barbecues are available for guests to cook own meals.
Shopping isn't great but this is a wonderful place to come for a relaxing holiday. The scuba diving with Provo Turtle Diver was fantastic. I booked it through the hotel dive shop. (It may have been cheaper to book directly with Provo???)
One last note: I received numerous bites from some type of tiny insect (probably mosquitos or sand fleas) and needed bug spray every night. My wife wasn't bothered at all,....only me!?

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio suite. I would stay in a one bedroom ocean view next time. AC was a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

We visited the property from November 18 - 26.This was our second visit to TCI and found the Ocean Club to be a fantastic property that we will always use in the future. Fantastic staff, excellent accommodations, and great location. 1 bedroom suite was very comfortable and spacious. Kitchen was well equipped as we prepared numerous meals in the comfort of our unit. Beach bar proved to provide excellent food at a great price. Can't wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freager S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here Dec. 2, 2011 - Dec. 5, 2011 This was our first time in Turks & Caicos and glad that we stayed at OCW the staff was so nice and pleasant especially Jackson...The beach was wonderful and the sand was ooooh so soft...The room was the best and equipped with everything that you need, if not they would send someone up to u right away...The resort grounds where exceptionally outstanding the pool, & gas grills was the best.. Only down fall of the resort was the restaurant very pricey and not very tasty..My friend ordered lobster and it was over cooked..Other than that this was a very nice resort to stay at for the economically traveler..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We chose Ocean Club East based upon reviews we read on Fodor's and Tripadvisor. Although most people stated that the units are mature, they are very well kept and clean. Our one bedroom unit had very nice decor, a full kitchen, dishwasher, washer and dryer. The grounds of OCEast are delightful and the beach was spectacular. The staff was courteous, accommodating and very helpful. We really enjoyed the relaxing environment. The food and drinks at the Cabana Bar & Grill were very good - we enjoyed our meals there. We enjoyed having a full kitchen, washer and dryer in our room. We bought most of our supplies at the IGA market by OCWest and we found that the local store closest to OCEast convenient for shopping as well. We highly recommend this location if you are looking for a relaxing beach vacation.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view make sure you book an ocean front room other than that your view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I chose the Ocean Club Resort East for a friend and her husband's mini vacation. I am quite aware that check-in at a hotel is sometimes at 3pm, my friends arrived at 12noon and had to wait until after 3pm for their room. The room with the Jr Suite quite exceeded their expectations so even though it started of a little on the bad side it picked up after they were escorted to their room.
Some of the staff certainly do need customer service skills, What hotel closes their reception area at night? There should be always someone there in the event a guest has an issue or needs information. I just felt that this shoulve been noted for improvement at the hotel. Overall their stay was short but sweet. Maybe next time it will be better than just GOOD

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dionne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you for your response and for referring your friends to Ocean Club. We look forward to welcoming them back and will strive to make the return visit most enjoyable. I am happy to hear the Junior Suite exceeded their expectation. I did want to clarify a few things, including our check-in time is at 4:00 and check out is noon. We are happy to note a request for an early check-in and will do our best. I am not sure how the reservation was made, but the times are noted with all companies who sell our resorts. Our security is available 24-hours, in case anything is needed outside the hours of the front desk - there is a phone ensuite and one outside the front desk, the latter for direct dial to Security. Ocean Club Resorts, like many condominium style resorts, does not offer front desk around the clock. The security is available and can assist in any capacity. We appreciate your feedback and welcome you to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a difficult review to do. As you will see, there are many pros for this resort, but, doing a "bait and switch" on unsuspecting guests is unforgivable.

The pros: The unit we eventually ended up with was modernized (4202), wth marble bath and kitchen. The view was nice, and we never closed the patio doors, as the breeze was excellent. There is a very nice restaurant onsite. The grounds were nicely maintained.

The cons: Refurbishig of other units is ongoing. Had to walk to an adjacent unit and ask for the power drill to be turned off at 8:30 on a Sunday morning. Hammering constantly going on. Other guests taking screaming children to the pools at 7:30 AM is unpleasant.

The "bait and switch": We booked at AA.com. They do not break down the actual amounts paid for hotel and air. However, we were 3 full price-paying adults. According to the AA website, it was "stay 5 nights, pay for 4". We estimated our cost to be about $300 per night based on this. The front desk, after trying to get us to Upgrade at an additional ...$600.00!!!!... finally gave us the the absolutely worst unit in the place, directly behind the office, with a view of...the ice machine. The said that they had no idea what AA had paid for our room, but in the same breath said that we hadn't paid for a third person, so we were only entilted to a room with two double beds...for 3 adults. (except the max occupancy in that room was only 2!) We literally had to shout to get them to come down on the "upgrade", which we know we had covered already.
The desk staff was discourteous, and appeadred to be "pushing" the particular unit were ended up in. A very nasty way to begin a short vacation. Because of this, we could never recommend this place. We noticed that they seem to reply to critical reviews, and are sure they will have some explanation for this "shake down" but we will not accept an explanation, only a refund and a sincere apology. This was our first visit to Providencialis, but we are frequent Caribbean and European visitors, and have never encountered such awful service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Thank you for the review. We have confirmed with AA.com, your booking company, that a Studio Deluxe Island View was booked. AA.com shows the suite as an “island view”, as well as provided paperwork that indicating “island view” - not an ocean view, or close proximity, that you requested at check-in. The information on AA.com is all correct, showing the occupancy of the suite as 2-4 persons. In regards to your accusation that we did a “bait and switch”, both AA.com and Ocean Club Resorts are happy to provide additional copies of your receipt.

The upgrade amount was correct and determined by the nightly rack rates found on our website (subtracting Junior Ocean from Studio Deluxe Island, plus tax/svc). The upgrade is the difference between an island and ocean view, larger accommodation, and one with a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer. That being said I should mention that most upgrades are required to be made by the booking company used.

On a positive note I am glad to hear you were happy with the accommodation and grounds. I would like to take the opportunity to mention that questions regarding package pricing (flight+hotel) need to be made directly with the booking company. In my experience packages can provide savings; however, do not itemize - our front desk was correct in telling you we do not know the itemized cost of your flight and/or hotel. Please feel free to contact me, and my best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

After reading reviews for several resorts, we opted for a Jr Suite at Ocean Club East. Our backup plan was to upgrade to a Jr Suite at OCW if we felt that our unit was not acceptable. Whew...Our unit was great. While the unit met our expectations, the grounds far exceeded them. OCEast has absolutely stunning garden area to compliment their unmatched location on Grace Bay.

When you read reviews of other properties about the beauty of Grace Bay, remember the beach is best here.

We did find OCW had a better pool, so we enjoyed using our priveldge to use facilities at OCW that are included.

Tips
1) If you dont have a car, consider OCW as its closer to the IGA market. The store closest to OCE has limited items and is expensive

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
747 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#14 of 44 in Providenciales
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,993 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Address: | Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £187 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing