We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love staying at Ocean Club”
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I recently returned from my third trip to Turks & Caicos and Ocean Club Resorts. I have never returned to the same resort or island since I like to explore other destinations but was so taken by both that I plan on returning once again.

The Ocean Club is in the perfect and best location on Grace Bay and the resort is very well maintained. The beach is absolutely gorgeous. They provide lounge chairs, small chair, table, beach towels and umbrella for your use during your stay. The staff at the Cabana are very helpful and provide great service and the food and drinks are delicious.

The condos are well stocked and very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and the screened in porches are just great to relax on and take in the view.

I really enjoy my stays and would highly recommend staying there. I've stayed in many 5 star resorts and hotels and love staying at the Ocean Club. It truly is a paradise.

Room Tip: I like the third floor condos because they all have cathedral ceilings which make the rooms feel eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

We have been to Ocean Club and Ocean Club West several times on vacation and LOVE these resorts. The beaches in Turks and Caicos are world famous for good reason and you'd be hard pressed to find water that color of turquoise anywhere else. Though Ocean Club can't take credit for the color of the water, the great diving/snorkeling, or the friendly dolphin, JoJo, who swims by almost daily, they can take credit for providing a perfect vacation resort. Their units are actually efficiencies and I believe all have full kitchens, washing machines, and large living rooms. This makes traveling with kids much easier. We can wash their clothes and keep constant snacks and drinks on hand. Most units also have balconies or screened porches that are great to linger on well into the evening. We always sleep with the AC off and the balcony door open to hear the waves all night. The resorts are very casual but professional. The two outdoor dining areas offer really good food and we often walk the almost mile between the two for a change of atmosphere for dinners or lunches. We take advantage of the tennis courts every day and scheduling an hour long game has very rarely been a problem. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: From Ocean Club, take a right on the beach and walk toward the less developed end of the island. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorkToTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I honeymooned at the Ocean Club Resort in Dec. 2011-Jan. 2012 and had a phenomenal time. The resort is among the older properties but is probably one of the nicer ones. Most/all of the resorts in T & C are very nice relative to other places in the Caribbean, something to keep in mind when you're looking at other reviews. Bare in mine that T & C is a fairly expensive island, we could have probably vacationed in Jamaica three times for the amount we ended up spending.

Also, the Ocean club resort owns two properties (Ocean club, the older, slightly to the east; and Ocean club west). This review is about the Ocean club (east).

Airport/transfer: The trip from the Providenciales airport to the resort is short and only about $15 a person. The airport itself is quite small and easily gets overwhelmed with tourists during busy times but everyone is quite professional.

Staff: the staff at Ocean Club were wonderful. They would go out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. This attitude was shared by the bellmen, front desk staff and the house keepers. We have nothing but nice things to say about their prompt service, professionalism and courtesy.

Room/amenities: the rooms are a little dated but clean and functional. Ours had a small kitchenette, which included utensils, microwave, refrigerator, washer/dryer etc. The property was very well maintained overall. The hotel has most things available for free, just ask.

Activities: there is tons to do in Turks, but if leisure is the name of your game then you can just lounge at the beach. The beaches are some of the cleanest and most beautiful anywhere. The location of the resort also helps as you're on the east end of a long string of resorts and only a hundred yards east lies unspoiled semi-private beaches.

For snorkeling we would recommend the Caicos Dream Tours (search for it on Trip advisor). We did a 1/2 day trip and had a great time (even for a novice snorkeler!).

The resort provides bicycles which are perfect for making a trip in to town (about a 10 minute bike ride).

Additionally if you want to use the facilities at Ocean club west, just board the complementary shuttle between the properties (guests are able to use the tennis courts, etc. at either properties)

Food: The restaurant on the beach is a pub-style (Cabana bar and grille) and informal but with good food. There is a very nice restaurant adjacent to the hotel called Opus which is semi-formal with great food. Ocean club west has the Seaside Cafe. The property also has some well maintained grills which we used to make dinner on a few nights.

Of note, almost all of the resorts along the beach have a restaurant, and all of the ones we sampled had excellent food.

Also, there are grocery stores on the island. The mostly easily accessible by bike is Green way (about 10 mins). Their prices are a bit steep but certainly make it more economical if you shop there compared to dining out every meal. It is reasonable to budget about $75 a person per day in food, even when you make a few meals

Value: this one is hard to answer. While it was one of the most expensive trips we've taken, it was also the one where we felt the least nickel and dimed. So did it cost a lot? Yes. Did we have an amazing time? Yes.
Overall it was one of the most memorable trips we've ever taken. The Ocean Club Resort was perfect for us, location, people, amenities, etc. We will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor, it was quiet but required going up two flights of stairs. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tragus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We visited May 19, 2011 to the 25th. Planned on staying Thursday to Wednesday and decided to depart 2 days early with a $300 airline reservation change expense, not because of the resort but the island was not for us.

I will start by saying I'm crazy for a beautiful crystal blue beach and had longed to visit Turks and Caicos for years from all the photos I had seen. The beach is beautiful! more on the green aqua tones than the blue turquoise. Very nice, warm and calm. The resort is very clean and attractive with tropical foliage and very well maintained. We had a one bedroom unit with kitchenette and balcony. The unit is privately owned so it had a lot of "personal property" around. A little dated but frankly we did not mind at all.

Two lovely pools on the property, a very nice tennis court but you'd better get there early in the morning because of the sun hitting the court after 10. The rackets they provide are in poor condition with broken strings, dead balls, etc but we managed. We enjoyed the restaurant/bar fronting the beach. You could eat all your meals there and the drinks were very good. Everyone was extremely helpful and welcoming. We went out to a couple of restaurants. You have an extensive variety of fine dining on the island. The food was excellent but we are not fine dining enthusiasts nor the huge bills that accompany them.

Every morning we planned an activity then spent the rest of the day on the beach till dinner time. We rode bikes to grocery store and nearby bakery we read about. One day we took the bikes across the island to the coral reef I had read so much about , the resort where we parked our bikes the name escapes me (Coral Gardens?). It was about a 45 minute ride, most on side walk, I wouldn't recommend it to someone who isn't in fairly good shape and there were packs of stray dogs along the way but they did not bother us. It would be easy for older children to do with parents. The front desk people thought we were very adventurous to do that. We are fifty and sixty something couple and I do not consider us adventurous but active.

The island is barren with the exception of a "main Street" with exclusive shops and some restaurants. The coral reef was a big disappointment, not much there at all. It was a bit cloudy so that didn't help the visibility. I hardly saw any fish. Also, lots of that turtle grass nearby which makes the water dark and a bit spooky for me to swim nearby. The bike ride was the fun part. I would take a boat/snorkeling trip right from the Resort, some people enjoyed that.

Back at our resort we walked through the neighboring Club Med as we had considered staying there after a fabulous all inclusive week at Couples Swept Away in Negril (see my review). I asked a couple of people staying there and the report was not very favorable pertaining to the food lines and quality. As a foodie, that nixed that though they had the beautiful beach too and all the alcohol you can drink. The exterior and grounds looked like a college dorm, a bit bland.

If I went back to the island i would go back to this resort without any reservations. After spending a fabulous week at the above mentioned resort in Negril and experiencing our first all inclusive, we honestly felt gouged every where we turned. If you want to sit at the cafe in the evening and have a couple of drinks, $40. A snack and lunch $50...dinner out $150...taxi to town $...etc. After 4 days of beach, eating, playing tennis, swimming and bike riding we were bored and felt we'd seen enough. Unlike our previous trip to "Couples" we didn't want to leave and the beach there is fabulous.

So, Resort great. Turks and Caicos a little too quiet even to us who do not like tons of activity or party life. It is less commercial with a more affluent feel, nice condominiums and not many hotels. It all depends on your frame of mind at the time of your trip. Our previous vacation upstaged this one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadineVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Ocean Club Resort from Dec 16th-24th and loved our stay! We were pleasantly surprised at check in to be upgraded to a One Bedroom Ocean View room from our Junior Suite Garden View room that we had orginally booked. Our room was HUGE and was definitely not run down or old as some of the other reviewers have had experiences with. Our condo had been beautifully upgraded and offered all the comforts of home! Big kitchen, two bathrooms, laundry, spacious living room, patio, king size bed, it was just perfect and spotless!

We loved the beaches of Turks and Caicos and after travelling to 34 countries have never seen sand so white or felt sand so soft like talcum powder. After walking up and down Grace bay beach, as others have mentioned, although much mellower with less going on, The Ocean Club is definitely on the best part of the beach, with way fewer people and on a wider stretch of sand.

Food is expensive in Provo so we only ate out 3 nights ( twice at the Grace Bay Club and 1 at Coco Palms) and ate in for the rest having bought groceries at the Iga accross from the Ocean Club West using their free shuttle ( we loved this service). Be warned though, even groceries are crazy expensive, $10 for a watermelon, $20 for a piece of salmon steak!! At least the alcohol prices were about what you would pay at home.

Most days we were scuba diving or relaxing at the beach in front of the hotel, we also rented a car one day and drove out to Sapodilla which was a gorgeous turquoise bay ( we were 2 of about 10 people there) and to spend an afternoon at the Regent Palms spa. I am a spa junkie and would have to say this is one of the nicest spas I have ever been too!!

Our main reason for visiting Turks and Caicos was to scuba dive. We dove with Flamingo divers after researching the reviews on Trip Advisor and were happy with our experience. You wont find pretty coral like we've seen in Asia but lots of big stuff like huge reef sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, turtles etc..We were quite impressed with our dives;)

All in all we had an amazing time at Ocean Club and loved our stay in Provo. If you are looking for a mellow quiet vacation with unbelievable beaches, Provo would be perfect for you. If you are looking for lots of nightlife, shopping, Caribbean culture or more things to do than water sports,you will want to pick another island.

If we had only one complaint, that would be that the resort is extremely quiet in the evenings and as we are both very social, we would have liked to have some sort of nightlife ( ie beach bar with music) at the hotel to meet others. We knew what to expect based off the reviews so it wasn't a surprise and we could always walk down the beach to find a crowd, but for others researching where to stay, if you are looking for some sort of action in the evenings and have the budget, you may want to stay somewhere else like the Club Med next door or the Grace Bay club down the beach.

All in all, Ocean Club resort is great value, the staff were friendly and helpful and we had a wonderful stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachesVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Condo Unit: 4.5 stars, two bedroom (Master with King Size bed, other with two twins) unit with two pull away sofas in the living area. 3 Full Bathrooms (each bedroom had one). Full size Kitchen with Microwave,Coffee Maker, Toaster,Blender, and most supplies needed if you wanted to fix up some meals yourself. Huge wrap around deck with screen and chairs/two lounge chairs and tables (as if it were set up for two families sharing one unit). Three TV's and free WI-FI (access code in unit). And a few current Turks and Caicos information books. Open Floor Plan, clean and well maintained owner condo unit.

Site view: from balcony you can see the pool/garden then a sliver of ocean. We came to enjoy the white sand at our feet, the various shades of blue of the water throughout the day, and the various activities like swimming in the ocean, and walking down the beach in both directions during the day and night (the stars are GREAT) bring a book and you can see the constellations (our condo unit had a travellers book that had the Sky layout during different seasons).

Location: East side of Grace bay, Private, quite, NICE.

Service: OK, we are not needy, so we managed quite well with the services provided.

Other: Cabana was great for nice lunches.. Grills for the guests were clean and ready to use if you wanted to grill some food - which we did. Some of the other guests were happy to help us with our end product (most guests were friendly and having a good time).

PROVO is a great place to come to relax for the week. Horse back riding (~$95 per person 1 hr - make sure you agree on the terms of payment (Front desk should be aware of this to make customers aware) -if you choose Caicos Corral (Credit card vs Cash) as they charge a 20% fee if you use credit! - my wife was not pleased. but overall wife and daughter had a pleasant ride with Annie), Snorkeling (~$85 pp 3-4 hour - just make sure you know were you are to meet with the boat (during calm water days - the beach / otherwise the front lobby area): .

Other no cost activities: build a sand sculpture or two... see pic :)

Pool was a little too chilly to use for us (December). Some guests did use, but not many.

We also stopped by other resorts (Regent / Seven Stars etc.), and my guess is an arm, a leg and then some... - to each their own.

Room Tip: UNIT: 3rd floor facing the pool/ garden / cabana bar / ocean. In December we did not run the A/C, j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jek_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We visited from Dec. 2-9, 2011 and had a wonderful time. We had one of the smaller studio suites but it was everything we needed: comfortable king size bed; kitchenette with every kind of utensil, pots, glasses, cups, dishes; washer and dryer right in the room; safe; ful bath with excelent water pressure. The beach is breathtakingly beautiful. The 12-mile Grace Bay beach is perfect for people like us who love to walk on the beach. The resort provided plenty of lounge chairs, towels, and beach umbrellas-- and a cooler with water to keep everyone hydrated. The beach bar was friendly and served good food (loved the black bean burger) and outstanding piña colads and mojitos. We took advantage of the free bicycles and the free shuttle to Ocean Club West to give us more options for dining and entertainment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheatreCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Thank you for the very nice response! We would love the opportunity to have you return! Our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
562 reviews
1 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
2,033 reviews
2.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Address: | Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £219 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing