We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dreadful service”
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
amherst
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“dreadful service”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

the resort and its location on the beach great. the service reprehensible. two small examples. At dinner at one of the resorts restaurants we were asked " how was your dinner" I said one of the best meals we've had with some of the worst service ever. The waiter said" Were known for that .The phone in the room flashed red for a message but none could be retrieved. for three days they said they would fix it and did not. We missed endless messages and they complained that we did not respond to messages they left, that we never got

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    264
    66
    23
    15
See reviews for
220
343
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Yes the setting here is amazing due to grace bay.
Now for the resort:
1. The front desk has no knowledge of excursions, I would ask in depth quEstions and they could not answer a single question of mine. I just got handed pamphlets, wow thanx for being helpful. I had to do my own research on this.
2. When lying by the pool they have no one walking around to ask if you would like a drink or food. Service is just not their thing , I guess.
3. Checking out. DVD is a hassle, they keep them in a pile behind the desk , so waiting for them to find a DVD takes a while. How about abc... The DVDs. All the DVDs we rented had a skip in them because they keep them in a pile which lets them get scratched up.
4. No concierge at all here?
5. Bikes here aRe old and not kept up to date, a lot of flat tires.
6. Can not order food to your room, no room service here.

On the plus side our room was nice and cleaned.
Yes the beach is wonderful but service is not their thing. Will come back to Turks and Caicos but will pass on this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for the feedback which we have shared with staff and management. The front desk does provide pamphlets of recommended excursions; however, tries to stay neutral as one person’s interest may be different than another. The onsite dive operator can make reservations for many of the boat excursions. I regret you walked away thinking the front desk was not trying to help.

I will reach out to see how your reservation was booked as it concerns me when a guest believes we have amenities we do not. Ocean Club does not offer room service, pool side service or a “concierge”, which is more conducive of a 5-star hotel. We do provide friendly and attentive service; however, not these amenities. Cabana Bar & Grille, the beachfront restaurant, serves excellent drinks throughout the day as well as breakfast, lunch and dinner. Many guests wishing to dine ensuite will call an order for pick-up.

Your comment about the DVDs has been noted, as well as an order has been placed for new bikes. We do listen and appreciate all feedback. I am happy you found the room nice and clean, the beach wonderful, and plan to return to Turks & Caicos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A wonderful hotel at an exquisite location. The Ocean Club East was such a surprise and full of fun for me and my family! Our first time in T&C we stayed in a one bedroom suite but our parents and sister/husband were close by in their own suites which was wonderful for getting together. The resort's setting is ideal for families who like to travel together without feeling cramped. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need with lots of room and a beautiful screened in front porch. Great food on grounds at the Cabana with an ocean front view while you eat and watch the day go by (and they also serve delicious pina coladas!). Convenience store on-grounds (very expensive but ok for quick runs), free wi-fi, beautiful safe grounds, friendly staff and our kids made great friends at the hotel where they could meet up and swim every day for hours while my husband and I relaxed poolside. The front desk also has a selection of books you can pick from to read while you are there, as well as DVD's to rent for your rooms at no cost (there is an expensive deposit you have to leave though which will be reimbursed when you return the DVDs). The staff will also help in arranging transportation to almost anyplace you would like to go and you can rent bikes for free to travel around. The most amazing place at this resort is the beach where you will find plentiful seating, umbrellas and the most beautiful sand and turquoise water I have ever seen. Beach is easy to walk and the resort rents out snorkeling gear for an easy snorkeling experience. Great for those of us who have never snorkeled before or would like to get comfortable with the gear. A short walk down from the resort (past Beaches) will take you to a part of the beach where there are ample fish you can see while snorkeling. After our sketchy snorkeling experience out on the reef, we would have just done this if we had known about it sooner (and it's free!). One other perk is this resort also has a newer sister resort which you have access to with a tennis court, restaurant and pool. The resort has a free shuttle to get you back and forth. An important note: T&C is very expensive but it helps if you can get groceries off-grounds and eat in. Not good idea to travel to certain areas of the island without informing someone of where you are going. Recommended places to visit: Bay Bistro, Island Scoop Ice Cream Shop, Undersea Explorer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wags0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutherford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I loved staying here. Beautiful beach. Plently of umbreallas and chairs for everyone. Great good. wifi in all the rooms. would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b99gretzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Ocean Club's buildings' exteriors are showing their age a bit, but the part of the beach it's located on is absolutely beautiful. It's a short walk to very uninhabited parts of beach if you want to get away from families and other guests. There is a dock at the edge of the property where snorkel tours to pick up/drop off. All water sports equipment is for rent at an additional fee (sea kayaks, paddleboards, etc). This is a family resort, and the pool closest to the outdoor restaurant had cloudy water, but there were lots of kids and I guess it's to be expected. I never got in either of the two pools. The ocean is beautiful and clear and much more enjoyable to swim in!
We stayed in a 1 bedroom, 2 bath with a full kitchen and patio with ocean view, which was a spacious condo. Very clean and well appointed with the appliances you'd need for a week at the beach with the family. There were 2 flat screen tvs that we never turned on.
Ocean Club has first come, first served bicycles for guests to use. Some are a bit run down, but they are so handy. We probably saved $200 in taxis and worked off all the conch fritters we ate by cycling around town. Sidewalks on the main streets make it easy and safe. The shuttle between Ocean Club East & West was also very convenient and a great service.
There is a convenience store at the edge of the property that was great for stocking up on snacks and bottled water.
When we arrived, we were greeted by a cheerful and friendly man in the carport, and the staff at the reception desk was extremely helpful in recommending snorkel tours and car rentals. Once our room was ready, (not a minute before 4pm) it was lovely that it was decorated with bougainvillea in the kitchen and bathrooms. The air con worked great, excellent water pressure in the shower, 2 coffee packets, hotel bottles of shampoo, conditioner and lotion were all provided.
After checking out some nearby resorts and comparing what they cost per night, Ocean Club was an excellent choice for value, the beautiful beach and amenities such as shuttles, bikes and convenience store.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed in a junior suite at Ocean Club East. Although the room was fine and the beach lovely, it just wasn't worth the money. The bed in my room really needed to be replaced at the kitchen area only had a fridge, a microwave and an electric frying pan.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisargold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Ocean Club was all we expected and more. We stayed in Building Ixora overlooking the office and parking lot. Not the best location but it was quiet, and we had a huge L-shaped balcony on the second floor. Nice to hear the morning birds and get the afternoon sun. The gardens are lush, the beach divine! The beach area was a long walk from our room, but once there we stayed all day. We had everything we needed--- kitchenette, friendly employees, shuttle van to OCW, for shopping and bikes for exploring, free use of internet, morning news and coffee, rum punch party, and good food [grouper and conch] at the bar with reasonable prices. Though the pina coladas were a bit pricey, they were the best we've ever had!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oobydooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#14 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club West
Ocean Club West
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Property: Ocean Club Resort
Address: | Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, West Indies, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing