We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I like this place and will probably return. The staff are friendly and helpful. They are island people so give a little respect and get a lot back in return. However, the hotel itself is a little tired around the edges, not bad or broken just worn. Now personally I don't care so much because I go to TCI for rest and recuperation which is sun, sand and well you get the rest..... Value for money wise it is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    258
    64
    23
    12
See reviews for
213
336
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 10 days with extended family in a 2 bed, 3 bath unit. Grace Bay is a perfect beach for relaxing. Even though the complex was full, the beach never felt crowded. The beach was perfect for all ages in our group. The pools were well maintained and clean. Towels were readily available at the pools.

We ate several times at the pool Cabana Bar. The food was the best here out of all of the restaurants we tried. All restaurants on the island are "pricey" as many have mentioned. This was a reasonable alternative. The relaxed atmosphere here allowed the children (and the rest of us) to dress comfortably and not feel out of place. The daily specials were amazing. Service was wonderful, we never felt rushed yet we never waited long for anything.

The room was clean and well equipped. All kitchen items were available including dishwasher detergent. Housekeeping staff exceeded our expectations. She even ran and emptied the dishwasher daily. She happily met every request.

I've seen many comments about bugs....Our unit was bug free (ants and roaches). They're are mosquitos, but nothing more than I expected. It is, after all, a tropical island.

All staff members that I encountered were helpful and friendly. This includes everyone from check-in/out, housekeeping, grounds crew, wait staff...absolutely everyone greeted us with a warm smile. We would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jacknjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We could not have had a better vacation, thanks to the entire staff at The Ocean Club. Everyone went out of their way to make our family feel extra special. No matter what we needed or requested, the entire staff was willing and able to meet and even surpass our expectations. From check in to check out, everything went perfectly smooth. Special thanks to AJ for getting us settled in in minutes. A few minutes after a courtesy, early check in, we were in our bathing suits and enjoying beautiful Grace Bay Beach.
Angelique could not have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. She was awesome and went out of her way to assist us. Whatever we asked our maid for, she smiled and graciously took care of us. It's really unfair to commend a few people, since everyone, beginning with the awesome reservations personnel, made us feel like VIPs.
Everyone at The Ocean Club was extremely friendly and willing to do anything that would make our stay extra special. Also, the management should be acknowledged for their show of appreciation for returning guests. This year, our suite was superb ..... 2 bedrooms, 3 baths, located feet from the pool and barbecues, with an unexpected ocean view. The suite was very clean, bug free and had every amenity imaginable. Also, a special thank you for your kind welcome note and bottle of champagne.
The food and drinks at the Cabana Beach Bar were terrific. The cracked conch was the best on the island .... and believe me, we tried them
We were so pleased, last year, that we wanted our son, daughter in law and granddaughters to experience your awesome resort. They have been to Aruba, St. Maarten, St. Thomas (and most of the Caribbean islands), as well as Tahiti and Bali. Yet, they were awed with the suite, the facilities and service at The Ocean Club and the unsurpassed beauty of Grace Bay.
Our entire family thanks you and are already planning a return visit. God bless all of you and thank you for everything!!!!

Room Tip: The Ocean Club has a room (suite) to suit every family's needs and budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Linda-Aruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a 2BR suite, garden view, reserved and were surprised with a complimentary upgrade to Pool front Ocean View. The room was huge, approx 1400 sq ft with King Bed MBR and attached bath with double sink and nicely tiled zero entry shower only with rain head and hand controls. Sliders from LR and MB to large screened balcony with newer table, chairs & loveseat. 2nd BR had twin beds, full bath with tub. Both rooms had ample dresser space, end tables, ceiling fans, & walk in closets. BRs are on opposite sides of Kitchen, Full Laundry, DR & LR for full privacy. The hall had a doorway connecting to a 1 BR suite that can be added. Both suites were for sale at $599k.

Each BR and the LR had flat panel tvs, the LR had a DVD player and a stereo. LR had wicker furniture with a surprising pull out bed in couch that sleeps 2. 2 zone air conditioning with thermo in MBR and hall outside 2nd BR (for the rest of the unit.)

There is a nice breeze nearly always and all of the windows besides sliders to balcony are jalousie crank type with screens inside and metal exterior. When they are closed to use A/C its kind of dark inside, especially in 2nd BR. Adequate lighting, electric outlets, 4 ceiling fans, well stocked kitchen with glasses, plates, utensils, & silverware. There were cupcake and cake pans, frying, baking, & saucepans.

The kitchen had a nicely tiled counter with 4 stool seating and rangetop/oven was built in to allow cooking while facing DR and LR. Full size fridge, DW, & Microwave. 42" cabinets allowed space for storage.

Floor tile was a light sea blue, attractive but likely 10+ yrs of wear.

The housekeepers were pleasant, kept the sheets and towels in supply and stocked the room with DW, dish & Surf powder laundry detergent, decent shampoo, conditioner, soap, garbage bags, tissues & lotion, Wolfgang Puck coffee, sugar, S&L, & powdered creamer. They respected the DND sign and returned later in the day when we slept in or left a bag of towels and goodies on days when we asked for no service. We brought dryer sheets, plastic baggies in diff sizes, chip clips, & 2 cans sunblock pp. for 9 days.

There is a constant supply of towels at the pool for use at the pools and beach. On occasion
they were a good backup for multi shower days.

It should be noted that some if not all of the units are privately owned, similar to most properties here, with a reservations/property management company. Because of this, the specific items in your rental could differ slightly. At minimum they should include what's advertised on the website but furnishings and kitchen utensils might vary.

The hotel offers a library of DVDs in the lobby (which I didnt find scary at all) & the process is a bit comical. Bringing the empty case to the front desk prompts the agent to pull out an enormous case with hundreds of movies and the search is on to locate it. On more than one occasion I selected ones that could not be located. Its a good resource to rewatch older favorites, not the most current titles. Some had Blockbuster stickers on the case. Bring your faves with you.

The hotel also offers bikes, helmets, & locks which I used to explore Leeward and the main retail areas in Grace Bay. If you had one with a basket or a backpack you could ride 4-5 miles to Graceway IGA grocery but bring your credit card, most items are 2-3 times the price of US. Very good quality but 3 trips there cost about $750 for 5 people. Cereal $8.50 box, 6 Hershey bars $9, etc. You might consider an extra suitcase with snacks, even the baggage fee is less...

The OC resort also owns Ocean Club West which is just East of Seven Stars. They have an on- request shuttle between the two until 10:30pm, just ask at the front desk of either and they will summon a driver. We never had to wait more than a couple of minutes and it was useful to enjoy the other property's pool, beach, restaurant or to walk across the street to shops, restaurants, & bars at Ports O Call and adjacent plaza, local car rental, or a few blocks to the IGA. We took the shuttle to OC West, walked a few blocks to grocery, shopped and walked back there with our bags to ride shuttle back. I should note that I later discovered a small convenience store in front of Opus restaurant by the road at OC East that sold liquor, basic food items, sundries, ice cream etc. Walk past the tennis courts and Opus across from the lobby to get there. Its open til 9pm.

Back to the lobby. Left of the front desk (still not scary) is a small room with 4 desktop pcs and printer, no charge to use. Front desk people were helpful, knowledgeable, & FRIENDLY! Special thanks to Brianca and Ian. Available in the lobby were maps, local dining & activity guides, & Real Estate listing magazines. (The RE guide is only published 2 times a year so keep that in mind).

I rated the location superior because it's isolated. Across the street is the golf club, immediately to West is very large property of Club Med, to East is Venitian & Tuscany condos $500k-$2M each. Beyond them there is vacant beachfront for an 1/8 mile with a new house at the point. Along this vacant beachfront there are many conch and other shells, a few fish, no real coral. Some may prefer the hotels in the "heart of the action" closer to Ports O Call or Salt Mill shops but we enjoyed the privacy. Our beach had ample chairs and umbrellas, a swing and hammock, and a very good restaurant/bar with delicious food and drinks. Lunch for 5 was around $100. Mixed frozen virgins $6.50, cocktails $9-15. We especially liked the chicken wings, taco salads, & wraps. Kayonn, our server was sweet as pie. A couple of nights there was live music. The restaurant is between the deep pool and beach but there was not service at your lounger.

The IGA sells frozen strawberry mix and the kitchen had a blender, toaster, & coffee maker so we made our own frozen drinks and brought to the kids at the pool. No one hassled us for this or bringing chips etc.

Ok so the bad stuff. Hotel WiFi is free but frankly its not robust. The resort has open, unsecured WiFi that works ok in public spaces and bleeds into rooms but it suffers from peak load slowing or inaccessibility. Most often, this was the only one we could use at all. NEVER use a WiFi without password to check bank accounts, make transactions with a credit card, or anything else private. After a few days I called the front desk and said the in room WiFi was non existent and they asked which room number WiFis were popping up. After telling them, they rattled off the password codes to various rooms which worked about half the time. Over the next few days we bounced from router to router with varying success. Don't expect to stream there.

I'll mention that the MBR closet had an inwall safe that would fit a full size iPad along with wallets, passports, cash, ccs but is not large enough for a laptop. It locked by key which was attached to the room key wristband.

Spatropique is an onsite spa service at both properties but they do not have a constant presence. There is a procedure room attached to the rear of the fitness room but it was locked and noone on site on several visits. We tried to schedule treatments via email a few times but their response was slow and they were always somewhere else.

Making local calls from the room are $1 first minute. The front desk was happy to call a taxi, restaurant, or guest at another property from the lobby.

My biggest complaint, spending over $400/ni was that the non powered water sports were an extra fee.

The grounds were well kept, the beach pristine, very minimal bugs flying or otherwise, many curly tailed lizards and geckos, a few stray kittens. Note - we did see loose dogs near the stores, not apparently dangerous but unsecured. Parking is free and near your building. There is a dive shop on premises which offers a variety of courses and dive trips. A resort course in the pool and 2 ocean dives was $250.

Solid 4 Star, could become 5.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelAbundantly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a fantastic week at Ocean Club East in Turks and Caicos. We highly recomend this resort and our week at OC East was the best time we've ever had at a Caribbean respet, period! The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and the location at the far eastern end of Grace Bay can't be beat. This is an intimate, yet still full service resort. It offers a friendly, laid back and unpretentious vibe. Our room (a studio) was well appointed with a lovely screened deck. The room, hotel and grounds are very clean and well cared for.

If you're looking for an ultra hip, spot a celebrity at the cocktail lounge place this isn't for you...if you want a relaxed time, fantastic staff and a quiet stretch of beach definetly head to Ocean Club!

A few tips:
-The free shuttle to Ocean Club West is a great amenity....it puts you in the heart of the Grace Bay dining/shopping area. Try walking back to OC East on the beach at night....its about a 20 min walk from OC West

- Definetly rent a car to check out places such as Chalk Sound and Da Conch Shack. Once you get the hang of driving on the left, you'll find it's very easy to get around. The roads are well lighted and maintained, though the signage leaves something to be desired!

-We did two great excursions...a sunset cruise with Sail Provo and a half day snorkel trip with Caicos Dream Tours. Both were great and super convenient (they'll pick you up at the hotel) and can be reserved through the front desk!

All in all we had a fantastic trip and can't recomend Ocean Club East highly enough! We're already planning our return trip!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank brooklyner376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our family of four just got back home after staying at Ocean Club Resort for a week from 7/13/2014 - 7/20/2014. We rented a car and traveled the island quite a bit. Learning to drive on the left was a bit of an adjustment for me especially when you have three back-seat drivers but it was fine. Just bear in mind there are a ton of roundabouts (rotaries) throughout the island. And yes, I probably turned the windshield wipers on about a dozen times over the week thinking it was the turn signal directional. My three co-pilots laughed at me every time it happened. So you need a thick skin to drive on the left or at least a sense of humor to go along with your sense of adventure.

Like anything in life you get out of it what you are willing to put into it. We were thrilled to go on a family vacation and we were all determined to have the best time we could make for ourselves. We had never been to TCI before. Our last trip was to St. John three years ago. We went in to the trip believing that TCI would be nice but would be expensive like St. John was.

So we splurged on certain items and held back on others. Like I said the island is expensive. I think we made the right choice based on our sensibilities. We rented an Ocean View two bedroom condo on the second floor. It was 1900 square feet with a wrap around screened in deck that had a commanding view of the pool, Cabana Café and Grace Bay. Two and half bathrooms - with four of us that was very nice! Air conditioning ( a bit loud but worked great). Full Kitchen. Washer & Dryer.You would never find that at a Days Inn. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Although all the units are condos there were no pushy "condo sales" or time share pitches on the property. It was low-key, laid back, very hospitable vibe.

We ate in for breakfast every morning which worked out very well. We shopped at the supermarkets - both IGA and Graceway Gourmet. Graceway Gourmet is closer and is more like a Whole Foods - very nice. Did not seem that much more expensive than the IGA. We treated ourselves to steaks one night that we cooked on the beautiful gas grill they have by the pool. It is available to all the guests. We spent about twenty dollars on the steaks at the Graceway supermarket so that was a bit of a splurge. But there was plenty. It was a very nice cut of steak and it fed the four of us. It made for a very nice memory. I wouldn't have wanted to grill every night but we could have.

We picked up the rental car at the airport and drove all over the island while we were there. We heard from others that cabs are very expensive. We felt the car rental more than paid for itself and allowed us a lot of independence to explore the island on our own at our own pace. We visited Chalk Sound, Las Brisas, Coral Gardens, da Conch Shack, Sapodilla Bay, Taylor Bay, Salt Mill, Potcakes (kids loved that), Ocean Club West, Seven Stars, Thursday Fish Fry (was a ton of fun), Blue Haven Marina, Coco Bistro (incredible) and more.

The funny thing is that the more we traveled the more we appreciated Ocean Club. Because it is closer to Leeward, the beach is not congested and there is plenty of beachfront. While everything on TCI is more expensive than stateside, we spoke with folks staying at the newer places who had much smaller rooms and were paying almost four times the daily rates we were. Their beach was not any nicer than OC's.

Their pools were nicer but do you want to pay that much more for a smaller room and a pool when the beach is so beautiful anyway? If we wanted to we could have easily have gone swimming in their pool without having to stay there. Different strokes for different folks. However, when we told them how much we were paying I could tell they had buyer's remorse.

Instead with the money we saved we went on a full day sailing excursion with Sail Beluga (incredible family memories for a lifetime) and a half-day snorkeling excursion with Island Vibes ( a ton of fun).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeVangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The beach is hands down the best on the island. The hotel lobby scared me. It definitely needs a face lift. The rooms are clean and the hotel restaurant food is good...it just needs to be updated. If the update the lobby and the rooms, I think it would make it a more pleasurable experience. I was a little disappointed but the beach made up for it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#16 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sands at Grace Bay
Sands at Grace Bay
#20 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Property: Ocean Club Resort
Address: | Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., West Indies, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing