We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip but with sour ending”
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trip but with sour ending”
Reviewed 20 December 2009

My husband and I and our then 11 month old daughter stayed at ocean club the first week of November. The resort was quiet with not many guests as it had just reopened after a short closure which was great. My husband had previously stayed at this resort and recommended it for the great location, good food and spacious accommodations. I would say our trip was pretty good overall with a few minor inconveniences along the way.

The resort grounds are immaculate. Our 1 bedroom suite with an ocean view was spacious and relatively well maintained and clean. We had two bathrooms and two televisions in each of the rooms, and the bed was comfortable. At Ocean Club you feel as if you are the owner of one of the condo units for a week. It is not all inclusive, but the major advantage is that you have a full kitchen, dishwasher, laundry and dryer, and if you have a family, this set up is ideal. The only drawback in the kitchen was tiny little ants which were a nuisance. (We kept all our food in the fridge or sealed).

On our first night it was pretty hot and the air conditioning unit was not working. Maintenance came out the next day and fixed it. We did not consider this to be a big deal as there are ceiling fans and a good breeze going through the condo. During the week we actually turned our air conditioning off at night and only used the ceiling fans. We made a trip to the local IGA (which as previously noted in other reviews is somewhat expensive) and bought enough food for breakfast and lunches during the week which was nice. The IGA also has a pretty good wine and liqueur selection which was not that overpriced considering it is an island. We dined out or ordered take out from the restaurants during the evening.

The one thing that did bother us was there was some construction going on outside our bedroom window the entire week we were there. This was isolated construction that was not widespread in the resort but was limited to our unit, where we understand that the unit above us was apparently doing repairs to its kitchen. It was a bit of an annoyance since we have a very young child which required we spend more time in our room than we normally would. We had to keep our daughter in a playpen in the living room for nap times. We were also not able to have a much needed afternoon nap ourselves either. However, we made no complaint as repairs have to be done.

The Opus restaurant had decent service and a nice atmosphere but we found the food to be average for the price. We mostly ate at the Seaside Cafe which was outside by the beach and which always had excellent food and polite service. The staff and some of the condo owners and guests interacted with out daughter and we enjoyed our time there the most.

Grace Bay beach is spectacular, with white sand framed by turquoise waters. The pools at Ocean Club are very clean. We had great weather throughout and it only rained on our last 2 days of holiday.

Our major issue with the resort was that we asked for a late checkout as our flight did not leave until 5pm and with a young child it would have helped a great deal. We were told the night before that it was likely not a problem to have a later checkout. We called in early morning of our last day and again were told they had to check with the manager. Finally at about 11 am we were told we could NOT have a late checkout, NO exceptions and we had to vacate the room by 12pm.

What really angered us was that it was raining on our last day on and off, sometimes very heavily. No courtesy room was provided. The resort really does not have a lounge or bar to sit at other than the small reception lobby or the Seaside Cafe. So my husband, my 11 month old daughter and I sat at the Seaside Cafe under umbrellas getting damp for 2 hours before our taxi arrived. What made matters worse was that we know for a fact that some of the other guests that we met who were also on our flight were provided with late checkouts and spent their remaining time in their suites. Normally, 2 hours without a room is manageable. But with a very young child and bad weather it can be very trying.

Anyway, we were pretty angry. We spoke to the manager as we were departing. She apologized to us and advised that it was a mistake on their part. My husband left his business card and we really did not expect that there would be any follow up. We were pleasantly surprised when the resort sent us a follow up email again apologizing for the mix up and offered us a room upgrade on our next stay with them. This is impressive considering that many resorts do not care about repeat business.

Overall we had a very good trip. Turks and Caicos was beautiful and the resort was nice. We will consider returning to Ocean Club given their positive follow up to our comments.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skycamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    269
    69
    24
    15
See reviews for
231
348
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We went on vacation from Nov. 13-18th. We had booked a one bedroom beachfront suite with a recommendation for the second floor since the view is better. When we checked in and were brought to our room, we were surprised to know that we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath beachfront suite on the second floor. Now, since there was only 2 of us, we didn't need all that room, but it was nice to have the extra bathrooms. We stayed in room 2201 and it was beautiful. The view of the beach/ocean was spectacular! We were also located right next to the pool and the Cabana Bar. The staff was very friendly and very helpful when we had questions. During the week we went, they were experiencing a "cold front" (which it was still 85 degrees), so the water wasn't as calm as I had hoped it would be. The waves were pretty strong and there was a lot of debris in the water. We had a hard time booking a snorkeling trip because there weren't any boats going out since the water was so wavy. There is a free shuttle that takes you to Ocean Club West, which is more centrally located to a few restaurants and shops. We had a package deal with the hotel that came with breakfast, lunch, and dinner vouchers, so we only ventured out to a restaurant for dinner outside of our hotel once. We went to Shark Bite, which is pretty neat because you can see turtles and there's a shark that swims around. The day before we left, we did get to go on a snorkeling excursion with Reef Peepers. They picked us up right on the beach at our hotel. We went snorkeling, then dove for conch, then settled on a secluded beach for a conch salad meal that was made out of the conch that were caught by people on the boat. The snorkeling was a little tough because the currents were so strong so it was pretty exhausting. We didn't get to see as many fish as we would have if the water were calmer. We also never got to see Jo Jo, the famous dolphin, because of the water being to wavy, so he wouldn't come close to the shore as he usually does. We also booked a couples massage which was very relaxing. So, to wrap things up, we'd definitely go back, but probably during their busier season because the island was very quiet and there weren't many people around. If you're looking for a place just to go and relax, have cocktails on the beach, and just enjoy the sun, then Turks & Caicos is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giddymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed at Ocean Club East from Aug 31 thru Sept 7th. It was very quiet and only a few people were staying there since it was the last week they were open before they close down until the end of October. The 3 bedroom room we had was comfortable and felt like home. However, the place needs some minor repairs, like the ceiling fan in the master was to wobbly to use and the king mattress was very hard in the 2nd bedroom. The grounds were beautiful and immaculate. The grill had very good food and after a while the girls working at the grill warmed up to us and we had some great conversations with them. The local people weren't very friendly at all, even if you were dining at their restaurant or purchasing something from their stores, they were border line rude. The water was beautiful... perfect temperature and a beautiful clear baby blue color. This resort is older, but the grounds are very nice and there is just a home away from home feeling when you stay here, so we will probably come back again at stay at Ocean club. Tips: Do rent a car, and when it rains....the streets have no drainage..so rent a SUV, driving through the large lakes in the roads was a bit challenging with a standard car.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Ma
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Well there we just came back from only 10 days at the Ocean Club and here is my review of it. Boy oh boy was it Hot,Hot ,Hot. The weather from August 22-31 was great! A lot of sun and sun screen SFP 50 for not to burn and SFP 15 for the rest.
The Ocean Club was wonderfull and the staff was great as usual.The property was well kept. The room was spotless and the maid cleaned it up spick and span. The front desk managers could not do enough to help , any issue and they solved it. The Beach bar and food was terrific. Pleanty of towells to go arround. The beach was kind of deserted as it was closing season for some Resorts but we walked all over it. We went east to Pellican beach and west to Coral Gardend for a muffin. We ate at some local joints such as Carribean Delight. They have reasonable prices and the fish and conch burbers were very tasty. Jimmys dive bar at Port of Call has a big burger ate there twice. We went to Pice of Pizza had a salad and medium Pizza. I had 2 slices for lunch the next day.We ate at middle Caicos Caffe good conch and fish. To the left of Ocean Club is a small restraunt go on Monday-Thursday for food as the owner is not there and the lady cooks like home cooking. Beer is $3 a bottle and bar drinks are $5. The breakfast was fantastic at Ocean Club, Pankakes, French toast and eggs.
Ocean Club has a free shuttle to its sister Resort Ocean Club West. It is a 5 minuet stroll to Port of Call and the new Grace Way Supermarket. Food is expensive but if you shope right there are some specials like Salads, Tuna Fish, breads etc. To buy beer and liquer it is less expensive just past 7 stars at the Liquer store. The little store at the Ocean Club is good in a pinch. We rented a car from Carribean Motors for a day and traveled 125 miles from 10;30 to 6 pm. It was fun.

Helpful?
2 Thank ggjuiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, New York
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

What a thoroughly enjoyable vacation! The resort is lovely. It's built around lush tropical gardens surrounding a free form pool - our junior suite had a large enclosed balcony overlooking the pool. The beach is spectacular. The water was crystal clear, calm and - as advertised - a perfect tourquoise.
The suite was a nice size - full kitchen, seating area separated from the sleeping area by a room divider. The bed was extremely comfortable, the temperature was just right for sleeping.
The location is at the end of Grace Bay between Club Med and the Tuscany. We thought that we would be fine relying on the hotel shuttle, but after paying $10 for a taxi to go out to eat the first night we decided to rent a car. I highly recommend that you do this, because beyond the gorgeous beach, the resort is very quiet. You will want to explore the island a bit. We were very happy with Grace Bay Rentals - they brought the car to the resort within minutes and pointed out some favorite local places (e.g., beautiful, deserted Caribbean beach on the other side of the island.)
The beach bar is perfect and they make one heck of a rum punch!! Good book, great beach, rum punch - what more could you ask for?
We visited different restaurants every night, but particularly liked Hemingways, especially for sunset. We also went snorkeling with Reef Peeepers - fun, but the snorkeling was a little disappointing.
The service was fine for the most part - though not overly friendly. A minor complaint, the grounds folks seem to forget that people are on vacation and they do speak very loudly early in the morning.
One more caveat - there is construction next to the Tuscany. There was not a lot of work going on while we were there, but I was very upset to see it since I had specifically asked the Ocean Club people if there was construction in the vicinity. When I asked the front desk person about it, she acted as if she had no knowledge of it. Hard to miss a hotel going up on the beach next to you! The noise was not bothersome, but certainly has the potential to be if they start working more aggresively.
The resort was barely 1/3 full when we were there - a very friendly, laid back crowd - some children, but not a lot.
We really enjoyed going to Ocean Club West also, and would consider staying there next time. On the whole, a terrific place and, whether OC East or West, we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandy1Ardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My wife and I spent a week at OC east the first week of December, 2008. We have traveled all throughout the Caribbean and this is now one of our top favorites! We had a deluxe studio on the top floor which had a king bed, full kitchen, washer and dryer and large screened in porch. Everything you could possibly want!

Grace Bay is probably the nicest beach I have ever been to, and I have been to alot. The sand is like powdered sugar and the sea is clear as gin. The resort has two pools, one being on the beach and the cabana bar and grill is there too. Very nice to relax at the pool, get in the ocean, rinse off and return to the pool. Decent food at the cabana bar but pricey. But, everything is pricey in Provo.

I would HIGHLY recommend getting a car for your stay there. Taxis are expensive and you don't want to waste your time waiting on a taxi all week. You drive on the left in Provo, but traffic is very light and it is no big deal. It is SO much better to come and go on your own schedule than get ripped off for taxis. I can't emphasize enough how important I think it is to get a car. Call Grace Bay Car Rentals and they will meet you at the airport and you are on your way in 5 minutes. It was $39/day for a sedan. WAY cheaper than taxis all week!!

Grace Bay IGA supermarket is about a five minute drive from OC. It is a great store and will have everything you could want for your stay. It is pricey, but, remember, everything is pricey there. Still much cheaper than eating out every night. Rotissere chickens are for sale for $10. Great deli and meat department. One night we got great big rib eye steaks for $5 lb. because they ordered too much! We grilled them at the resort grill and they were wonderful! The grills at the result are immaculate and I would highly recommend using them if you want to save money and not eat out. I normally don't use "community grills" but the staff breaks these down every day and cleans them to like new condition.

We took a couple snorkel trips with Dive Provo. The first one was somewhere off of Grace Bay and frankly, I wasn't impressed. The second, we took to French Cay out in the Caicos Banks. That was great! Saw the biggest barracuda I have ever seen and lots of nice fish and reef. On the return, dolphin were chasing the boat and jumping!

You gotta check out Da Conch Shack in Blue Hills. It is about a 20 minute drive from OC. Very laid back, traditional beach rum bar and fresh conch dishes. They have a conch pen on the beach and you can watch them clean the conch on the beach. The conch cerviche is great!

Lastly, the resort has business center with high speed internet. There about about 4 or five desktops there and I never had to wait to get on one. No need to bring a lap top!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaddyPoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We stayed here at OC and had a lovely time. It's a quiet place but everyone is friendly and it was very relaxing. Coco Bistro is excellent for dinner, if a tad pricey. The cabana bar on the beach is a nice place to have a few drinks in the evenings.

Now about diving. We have dived pretty much all over the world and were very impressed with our experience here. The dive company that you go with is very important though. The cost is pretty much the same everywhere but the set-up varies greatly. We dived with Dive Provo and it was a terrible experience. They were very rude, constantly making comments about different things. Apart from their serious attitude problem (specifically Nigel and a large blonde british woman), we were brought to Boneyard in Grace Bay which was a very boring dive and not really a proper site. We saw nothing there.

After our first day with them, we switched to Caicos Adventures and they were great. This is the first time that my partner and I have ever switched or been really unhappy with the dive shop. We strongly recommend diving with the lovely Sarah, Roger and Captain Aceo with Caicos Adventures. They travelled much further afield and we saw some amazing things. Lots of large reef shark, turtles, bunches of large stingray, aggressive barracuda...it was great! I strongly recommend them!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank div8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,957 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club West
Ocean Club West
#15 of 44 in Providenciales
847 reviews
2.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Property: Ocean Club Resort
Address: | Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing