We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing to get excited about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ports of Call Resort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we spent a week here in april it was ok nothing to get excited about but then again I didn't think the whole island was anything to rave about either but that said to each their own the hotel was clean pool was nice and to be honest I think they try and do the best they can with what they have to work with smoking policy is a bit strange with no smoking allowed anywhere except an outside area in the rear of the property to me its very strange the owner must think hes running a hospital not the place for us sorry we wont be back

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

I am sorry that our smoking policy had a negative impact on your stay with us. This is a policy we inherited when we purchased the resort in late 2011 when it was operated by a major brand who had done extensive research and determined that the majority of guests do not want smoking in their rooms, common areas or by the pool. We feel that providing the smoking area just off the pool deck where we have tables, chairs and even hammocks is a happy compromise.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent a week at Ports of Call. Clean, comfortable and friendly. Rooms were large and airy. We liked the easy, laid back atmosphere. There was a problem with a squeaky bed and they replaced it. I would have enjoyed a larger fruit selection for breakfast and a little protein but for a continental breakfast it was quite good. It is handy to a grocery store and shops. Easy walk to beach but we had to drive to snorkel. We had a great week there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0j012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. FYI..as we have just completed our complete renovation and re-branding of the resort we plan to increase the breakfast selection starting in mid-Dec. to reflect our new image.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great place to stay for the price. Very clean and comfortable with very friendly staff. Daniel and Watson will keep you entertained at the bar next to the very nice pool. They serve a very light breakfast and the bar closes early if you like to stay up late, but there is a grocery store across the street where you can buy drinks and snacks to keep in the fridge in your room. Great place to stay if you are diving with Dive Provo, as the dive shop is right next door. Don't ask the front desk to call a taxi for you, their go-to guy is Bishop, an old, ornery cabbie who is very expensive. A ten minute cab ride from him was our worst experience on the island. Instead, ask around for the taxi driver Eugene. He is great, very friendly and knowledgeable, and his rates are fair. He became our personal concierge for the rest of our trip. Tell him the Texans recommended him! Gotta eat at Conch Bar, Mr. Groupers, and Pork Shack!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

On behalf of all the team at the Ports of Call Resort I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit such a favorable review on both our resort and the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Were it not for the friendly office and bar staff I would have given this facility a "below" average rating. Perhaps it was because the hotel seems to be undergoing some improvements and renovations. But that doesn't explain away the filthy bathroom floor. While I can't definitely say I wouldn't stay there again, depending on what the end result of those renovations bring, I would definitely explore other options in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnmal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I extend my apologies that you felt the floors were dirty Unfortunately during the time of your stay we were just completing the final steps of stage three of the 3.5 million dollar renovation we initiated just after purchasing the resort 2.5 yrs ago. I am sure this contributed to some of your concerns but I will address it with our staff because as you can see from the other reviews, most of our guests comment very favorably on the cleanliness of the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is located directly in the middle of Grace Bay and is a short walking distance to the beach. Price and Location cannot be beat on this island as it is an expensive island. Try eating at somewhere cafe best food on the Island. Also try to see potcake place as there is a local woman trying to adopt out some local strays to get them out of harms way. Thanks Again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donegal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your kind review.One of the most difficult aspects of marketing our resort is the fact that we are across the road from the beach as opposed to beachfront. Once someone has stayed with us and realized that we have our own staffed beach and that our units are as close to the beach as many of the units at the "on the beach" resorts and that our resort is closer to the wide selection of bars, restaurants and shopping that Grace Bay offers, they better appreciate the price value we offer Thank you again and we hope that we will have the honor of having you stay with us again.l .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I spent the weekend at the Ports of Call
Resort. Was totally worth it. Evelyn greeted us upon arrival. She was friendly and very professional in the way she checked us in. We then went to the room and was pleasantly surprised as the room was 'spotless'. After unpacking and looking around we went to the Bar where Watson entertained us for an hour or so - you can see that he loved his job.


The service on the whole as good. Staff VERY FRIENDLY. Surroundings clean and tidy.

Looking forward to my return. Hopefully VERY SOON

Room Tip: I personally like the ground floor. Especially if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shortyblueshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

On behalf of the team of Ports of Call we would like to thank you for acknowledging the extra
efforts we take to ensure our guests have a great experience staying at our small resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Highly recommend Ruth at reception. She worked tirelessly to get us a room when other hotel was suddenly "overbooked". Thanks Ruth. Hotel not on beach but good for an overnight and it does have a pool and pleasant courtyard. Staff warm and pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colorado515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We really appreciate the kind words and the recognition of the extra efforts of our staff.
Until someone has actually visited the island it is very difficult for them to understand the value we offer with our location and own staffed beach a mere 300 yds from our front door.
Thank you for taking the time to submit the review.We look forward to having you visit us again. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,518 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#27 of 44 in Providenciales
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,992 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ports of Call Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ports of Call Resort

Address: Grace Bay Rd, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £188 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ports of Call Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ports of Call Resort is located within the beautiful Grace Bay area on Providenciales, an island of the Turks and Caicos, and is only a short 15-minute drive from the Providenciales airport (PLS). The property comprises of a central building featuring a welcoming reception, business center, breakfast room, fitness room, and poolside bar. Ports of Call Resort has 98 fully renovated deluxe junior suites approximately 325 sq ft offering pool view (some with balcony or terrace) and others with garden views. Rooms are located in two three-story buildings (no elevator) surrounding a tropical pool area that creates an intimate boutique setting. For your enjoyment, the tropical outdoor facilities include a poolside bar and lounge, table tennis, billiard table, pool, hot tub, comfortable chaise lounges, patio seating, shade umbrellas, towels, and a dedicated children's play area. Ports of Call Resort has a designated beach access to the awe-inspiring Grace Bay Beach complete with lounges, umbrellas, stand up paddle-boards, and kayaks, and is only 300 yards from the property. A shuttle runs each hour and beach towels are provided. The property also includes the Shops of Ports of Call. The plaza offers a variety of restaurants, bars, gift and clothing shops, as well as a spa, hair salon, ice cream parlor, dive shop, conference space, fishing charter, and auto/scooter rentals, further enhancing the Resort's array of services and amenities. Daily continental breakfast and in-room wifi included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ports of Call Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ports Of Call Hotel Providenciales
Comfort Suites Providenciales
Providenciales Comfort Suites
Ports Of Call Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing