We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel Close to Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ports of Call Resort
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week. It was wonderful. The staff was friendly and we felt safe walking around in the evening. The rooms and grounds were kept clean. The hotel is a short walk to the beach (about 5 minutes) and is close to all amenities. The Graceway Gourmet grocery store (which I would recommend for meals) is 5 minutes away, and the Salt Mills Stores are about a 15-20 minute walk as well as a great selection of local restaurants.
The room had a mini fridge which remains on even when you don't have your 'card' in the electrical slot. (Doors open with the electrical card and you put them in the slot by the door to turn your lights on - energy saver!) So you don't have to worry about food spoiling in the fridge. Breakfast was standard fare - yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, jam/peanut butter, bread and croissants as well as tea, coffee, juice and water.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leese_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for the great review. Happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast as we recently expanded our offerings. Hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We decided to arrive early for our usual stay in Turks and stayed two nights at the Ports of Call Resort. The resort has been remodeled and is fine for a short stay. It is a no frills hotel but we found it clean and a fair price considering the cost of hotels on island. Breakfast is included and staff was willing to refill when items were empty.

This resort is not on the beach but is a decent location for restaurants.

Unfortunately when we checked out we were told we owed some additional money for "fees" that were not included with our on-line prepaid room. This left a very bad feeling with me so next year we have booked our additional nights at Sibonne.

Room Tip: Make sure that what they tell you the cost is is what you end up paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathe913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am sorry that you were surprised that their was an $8. energy surcharge and government taxes applied to your bill as both taxes are clearly outlined on our website, reservation system and confirmation email. Perhaps you didn't book through us and used another on-line site? While our contract with these sites clearly outlines all the charges I have seen some sites hide the extra xharges in their fine print.
I would love to discuss your "no frills" comment with you and invite you to contact me at the toll-free number on our site. I have seen this comment in two other reviews and I would love to know what we would need to do to give you a different impression. I would have thought that with having a pool, hot tub, games area, fitness room, staffed beach, dive shop, spa, hair salon, ice cream shop, a variety of stores and three bars and restaurants on our property that we would never be called a no-frills resort so I welcome your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We enjoyed our first trip to the Turks in 2012 and stayed at the Ports of call. We had such a great time that we returned this year and brought two other couples with us. The hotel is in a really great spot really close to breathtaking Grace Bay, within walking distance to many great restaurants and the grocery store is right across the street. Our rooms were clean and well appointed and Wii-Fi is free. The staff is warm and welcoming and always ready to help you out or give suggestions. The owners of the Hotel "Dale & Wendy Papke" were on site and talked with many guests making sure everyone was having a good time, they were never to busy for you, and had several recommendations of what to do on the island. This Island is not a cheap place to visit so the continental breakfast thats "included" certainly helps the budget. I'm sure we'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the pool, 2nd or 3rd floor. Either side of the building is go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for the incredible review. We enjoyed having you stay with us again and thank you for recommending us to your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

They advertise affordable rates, on an island where everything is overpriced. And they delivered it.
Room are not very big and furnishing/decoration is somewhat minimalist. But everything is clean and in excellent condition. The staff is professional and helpful. I especially enjoyed the friendly, warm and obliging service of Daniel, at the bar, and the quick, efficient professional help of Charlene, at the front desk. I will not name all the people here, suffice it to say that everyone was doing a good job. The prices we got were very reasonable. They also provided us with discount coupons, redeemable at nearby restaurants and commerces, or at the hotel's bar.

We were very satisfied with our stay. Obviously, much more luxurious hotels are available on the island, if you don't mind paying for one night up to as much as what we paid for a week...

Room Tip: Some rooms have double beds. I would have been uncomfortable. At reservation time, they provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

On behalf of all the staff and myself I would like to thank you for your great review. I am extremely proud of how we have transformed the hotel and plaza into a resort that I believe delivers 4 Star service and amenities at 3 Star pricing. I think we have great staff and know that they really appreciate it when a guest like yourself mentions them by name in a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After an unfriendly receptionist's 'greeting' as we arrived before the check in time, everything improved and most staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were bright and clean, if rather basic but you get what you pay for on an expensive island. Breakfast was a self service facility with a good choice of continental provision. The pool was largely used for scuba diving lessons but was fine with a nice hot tub. The beach was a short walk and Grace Bay is magnificent. The downside was a charge of 8 dollars a day for beach umbrellas - over a season this will be amazingly profitable and reflected an underlying tone for the resort. They also had very high 'late room' charges as another example.

However if you want a bar, music, pool, nearby shops and dive centres at a lower price than the more exclusive resorts then try this resort for a few days... and bring your own sun umbrella.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank npgsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for the favorable review and for travelling so far to stay with us.
My apologies for you not feeling initially welcome but thankful that you felt you were well treated by the other staff and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you stated the beach chaise lounges are provided free..we charge the $8./day fee for the umbrellas to partially cover the cost of staffing the beach and running the beach shuttle service ..both services that we added just two years ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

It was a beautiful hotel and very close to everything. The hotel was very well decorated with lots of charm and character. Everyone was friendly and hard working. The free breakfast and wifi were a nice perk. The hotel had everything I needed. While it is not on the beach, it makes up for it with everything else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vcmorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for the great review. Just returned to North America myself and I am missing the island already. Fortunately I am heading back in a few weeks. Hope you can return soon as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I agree with much of what has been said over time about this resort. Certainly bang for your buck. Accommodations were what we expected given past reviews and yes the breakfast was a welcomed treat every morning, sparing us the need to open our wallets yet again. We met the owner, Dale Papke for some idle chat on several occasions and I must say he comes across as quiet genuine and interested in his guests- nice touch! At this point what would draw us back to Turks is the beach, which is certainly the best we have experienced. Ports of Call makes this possible for those of us who desire solid accommodations, yet concerned about our budget. Thanks Ports of Call...no need to look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank niagarasunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for the positive comments on both the resort and myself. We could not have chosen a better investment and pinch ourselves every day about how lucky we are to be able to travel here every few weeks to check on the operation, meet and socialize with guests like yourself and enjoy the incredible beaches, water, dining and friendly TCI locals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,489 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,987 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,563 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ports of Call Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ports of Call Resort

Address: Grace Bay Rd, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £159 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ports of Call Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ports of Call Resort is located within the beautiful Grace Bay area on Providenciales, an island of the Turks and Caicos, and is only a short 15-minute drive from the Providenciales airport (PLS). The property comprises of a central building featuring a welcoming reception, business center, breakfast room, fitness room, and poolside bar. Ports of Call Resort has 98 fully renovated deluxe junior suites approximately 325 sq ft offering pool view (some with balcony or terrace) and others with garden views. Rooms are located in two three-story buildings (no elevator) surrounding a tropical pool area that creates an intimate boutique setting. For your enjoyment, the tropical outdoor facilities include a poolside bar and lounge, table tennis, billiard table, pool, hot tub, comfortable chaise lounges, patio seating, shade umbrellas, towels, and a dedicated children's play area. Ports of Call Resort has a designated beach access to the awe-inspiring Grace Bay Beach complete with lounges, umbrellas, stand up paddle-boards, and kayaks, and is only 300 yards from the property. A shuttle runs each hour and beach towels are provided. The property also includes the Shops of Ports of Call. The plaza offers a variety of restaurants, bars, gift and clothing shops, as well as a spa, hair salon, ice cream parlor, dive shop, conference space, fishing charter, and auto/scooter rentals, further enhancing the Resort's array of services and amenities. Daily continental breakfast and in-room wifi included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ports of Call Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ports Of Call Hotel Providenciales
Comfort Suites Providenciales
Providenciales Comfort Suites
Ports Of Call Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing