We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ports of Call Resort
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our first stay at Ports of Call and we loved it! We had a room on the "garden" side, which was very quiet. The room was clean, clean, clean, and comfortable. The beds are on the firm side, and the pillows are small, but cushy. Plenty of drawers and closet space for two people. I asked for two additional pillows, which were brought in right away. We liked having a small sitting area with a couch and a coffee table for looking at maps and making plans. The safe was on the bottom of the closet, under a shelf, which required a little getting used to, but worked fine. If you're short, the rod in the closet is pretty high and the hangers are hard to detach, but there are 10 hangers, which was plenty for us.

One complaint: NOT enough hooks! There was one hook on the wall behind the bathroom door, and one towel rack over the toilet. Period. For two people with wet bathing suits, wet shorts, damp shirts, and wet towels, this was not nearly enough. We hung towels over the bathroom door, over the two doors to the closet, and finally upended the ironing board, covered the feet with plastic bags, and hung things from there! Tip: everything microfiber dried fast. Everything cotton NEVER dried. Conclusion: bring microfiber underwear, shirts, shorts. The room has a nice, big, walk-in shower - MUCH better than those crummy, slipper tub/shower deals. The soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion that they provide are nice - not the overly scented, harsh kind usually offered. They don't skimp on towels, either. We tried to re-use towels as much as possible, but because of the dearth of hooks, towels used just once were usually still wet the next day.

The small fitness room was very handy. There is a nice elliptical, a good treadmill, a bike, a bench, a combination weight machine, and a big selection of free weights (including 3,5,8, and 12 lb weights - not just big weights). The room has an overhead fan as well as AC, and a TV.
Be considerate - turn off the power and the fan when you leave, and (how hard can this be?) replace the weights in the rack!

Breakfast was good - 3 kinds of cold cereal, bread for toast, waffle to toast, pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and fruit. Cubed ham and cheese, too, I think. Simple, plenty of variety - though, really, who needs much variety at breakfast? One day we had the best almond croissants known to man by heading to the French bakery just down the street. Better than those in Paris - I would not kid you on something like this! They open at 7:30 and if you get there shortly thereafter, the croissants are just out of the oven. $3 each and worth every penny. The jelly doughnuts are also fresh and fabulous.

The staff are wonderful. Mr. Jolly greeted us and gave us some information about the area. The front desk staff were helpful and informative (special thanks to Evelyn!), Tristan at the beach helped us set up an excursion, Daniel (who speaks beautiful French) was super friendly and informative. The Executive Housekeeper was very helpful and nice. if you require obsequious, fawning staff - go elsewhere. Ports of Call staff are friendly, helpful professionals. One eveing desk person is kind of flat, but who knows? Maybe she's having a crummy time in her life.

We got most of our meals at the Graceway Gourmet across the street - a great deli selection, very good salad bar, and hot selections available at lunch. Ports of Call encourages you to get what you want at the grocery store, heat it up in the breakfast room, and eat it at the tables or near the pool. Hint: there is not much of a canned soda selection at the hotel, so get some at the Graceway if you want some, and put it in your room fridge. The grocery store does sell single cans, though. We just got ice cream every so often at The Patty Place (a block away), which had MUCH better quality ice cream than the Giggles ice cream shop in the Ports of Call Plaza. Walk a short block and get better ice cream at a better price. Also the Graceway Gourmet had the absolute best pineapple chunks we have ever had -so good that we ate a whole container every day! Since we travel with carry-on only, we bought sunscreen there, too. A big bottle of No AD was $14 something - not bad. Keep in mind that everything in Turks and Caicos has to be brought in, so count on food and supplies being expensive. Gas was $6plus per gallon while we were there.

If you stay at Ports of Call, Dive Provo gives you a 10% discount on their snorkeling and scuba trips. They are extremely helpful, experienced professionals, right out the front door of the hotel. It doesn't get easier than that. Also Tristan (beach staff) helped us set up an excursion with Island Vibe after we saw one of their boats - it was great fun - a little snorkeling, a beach stop, and a jumping-off-the-top-of-the-top-of-the-boat stop. Worth checking out. Because Dive Provo was having an engine problem with one of their boats, they scheduled us for a snorkel trip with Caicos Adventures and this was great.

We set up our trip to and from the airport with Majestic Cab. Google them and make reservations. Antoinette and Leonard are very reliable and will not rip you off. They would be great for any trips or errands while you're on the island. On our arrival, they set us up with Leonard's brother, Daryl, who was very nice, too. Be aware: The Providenciales airport is absolutely crummy. Even if you pre-print your boarding pass at the hotel, you have to stand in long lines to pay a departure tax ($5). Bring cash. Then, once you get through security, you land in the most horrible waiting area - everybody packed cheek by jowl, not enough seats for everyone, hot, noisy, and humid. Pay attention. There is no way to tell from which gate your flight departs, and the announcements are garbled and mostly incomprehensible. Get there NO LESS than two hours in advance.

The beach is out of this world, and less than a five minute walk away, with comfortable beach lounge chairs provided. You can rent big, umbrellas for $8 ( a good deal). We were amazed to observe that some guests cannot be bothered to pick up their own trash - leaving it on the sand for someone else to deal with. Most were conscientious, though, and the beach is clean. You can be picked up for Island Vibe trips, parasailing, and other trips right at the beach. Tristan probably has connections for all kinds of these. Hint: do yourself and the staff a favor by using the foot rinse tap outside the hotel before coming in. Sand gets EVERYWHERE. We even left a dry washcloth on the nightstand to brush off our feet before getting into bed!

There is a small book exchange in the lobby - leave your already-read books, borrow another.
I had no trouble connecting with the WiFi in the lobby, but was never able to connect in our room. This worked fine. The pool area is very nicely landscaped, and the gardens around the hotel are clearly done with sensible water use in mind - so much better than the extravagant, water hogging plantings that you see in other resorts. This place has a conscience - and we visitors can follow suit.

(On the ratings: there is no room service - but I can't get rid of that line!)

To summarize - we love this place and will be back every year from now on!

Ralph and Ann

Room Tip: The garden side is probably quieter than the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
On behalf of everyone at Ports of Call I would like to thank you for submitting such a great and detailed review. So happy you enjoyed your staff on the island and our resort. The lack of sufficient bathroom hooks is in the midst of being corrected. I hope that you will get a chance to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    386
    116
    26
    18
See reviews for
281
405
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Checking in was a breeze and we even got a free upgrade. The staff is very friendly and very responsive. We had 2 requests during our trip and both requests were handled within 5 minutes. The resort is located within walking distance from everything you need. The dive shop is in the resort, there's a gourmet supermarket 5 minutes away, lots of restaurants nearby. Spa, bakery you name it. The area is very safe, the locals are very friendly and very courteous, you can take long walks, the beach is 5 minutes away with tons of fun activities, sailing, kayaking etc... The room we had was very clean and everything was functional. Air conditioning was working very efficiently and wasn't noisy at all. We stayed there for a week and had a blast. The diveshop (Dive Provo) is very good too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno_Lombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed and positive review,..it is truly appreciated and will certainly assist our marketing efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very professional staff. Kind and courteous from day one. The facility has clean rooms and common areas. Would recommend to anyone wanting a nice friendly clean place to stay. Close to the grace bay beach and many shops and eateries

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
On behalf of all the Pots of Call team I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive review. We sincerely hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have been coming to Provo for over 12 years and have stayed at many Hotels, but since we have found the Ports O Call we have not stayed anywhere else. The service, staff and value cannot be touched anywhere on the island. It is a block off the beach, but with the golf cart shuttle and private chairs and unbrelas on the beach, why would you want to pay 4 times more to be on the beach. GREAT VALUE!!

Room Tip: The walk out patio rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RlMattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your great review and continued support. It is guests like yourself that keep returning year after year that help give the resort the unique "home away from home" atmosphere that it has.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Checking in was prompt and expedient. The front desk personnel are very friendly and courteous and the most friendly bartender is ready to serve up a complementry and refreshing rum punch. The location is great and most everything one would need is close buy. Great beach area for hotel guests and a very short free jitney ride for those unwilling to walk the approx 150 yards to magnificent and inviting ocean water.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for your great review..,,the staff and myself really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We have travelled a lot in the south and always stay at 4 or 5 star resorts (not because we are snobby or have a lot of $ to spend but in order to minimize vacation surprises). However, after viewing the video by this owner & his personal commitment re the resort & after reading many positive reviews, we decided to give Ports of Call a try. We are extremely happy we did!

Resort is definitely updated - freshly painted, new furniture, newer TV with great selection (even Cdn channel), new windows & shutters. Safe always worked well & fridge in room was a definite plus. Rooms were always cleaned & towels replaced. We really appreciated that Mgmt encouraged bringing your own food to pool area & using microwaves in breakfast area. Loved being able to eat our meals outside.
Island seems very safe....just use common sense....and we saw security staff walking through the resort several evenings which gave us an extra sense of safety.

It's definitely all about location of this resort.....I would say this is best location in Provo - just a very short walk to beach, grocery store, lots of shopping & restaurants and even the casino. We were able to get reasonable lunches at the grocery store mid-day, and easily walk to many restaurant options for dinner + bakery, ice cream etc.

Breakfast is certainly much more than the usual "free continental"...Yes food is quite expensive on the island & it is so great to have this start to the day included. It is so unfortunate that some greedy guests take more than their share & leave garbage for staff to clean up. Service was generally very good & items were replenished on an ongoing basis so that all time periods had food available.

Pool was very enjoyable & servicing of hot tub was excellent - It was emptied & cleaned every 2nd morning.
There were always chairs at the beach & we felt $8 for umbrella was a bargain. (Many resorts in Florida charge $20+ for chairs/umbrella.)

My "Cons" are quite limited: Wifi by the pool was not always strong but generally very good in room in the evening. Watch the metal sticking out from the bed frame as I ended up with a nasty bruise (so we put a facecloth around it.) Housekeeping did not always replenish coffee supplies in room but we were always able to find her to get these.

We stayed at the resort from April 9 - 16th, and during part of this time, two soccer teams (teenage boys + chaperones) from Brooklyn, N.Y. were also at the resort.....We did experience some issues related to noise, taking over pool etc. However, we were amazed when our email was quickly responded to by the owner (on a Sat. night no less), and followed up on again the next day. Obviously it is a fine line between achieving higher occupancy rates & not impacting service to other guests. We felt that the owner, although not on site at this time, really understood required service & worked hard to minimize impact on all other guests. I have tried to ensure this issue did not impact my overall review.

We definitely hope to return to Ports of Call resort!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive review. We really do try to provide great value by providing amenities and service that exceeds our value proced rates and your review will definately help spread the word.
As I have outlined in earlier reviews, we know that some potential visitors to the island don't choose to stay at our resort because we are not directly on the beach. Thankfully those who do quickly appreciate our location is probably the best on the island and our substantially lower room rates and complimentarty breakfast more than offsets the 300 yrd walk to the beach.
I also thank you for being so understanding of the issues that we, and any other resort, face with large groups. I trust we handled matters to your satisfaction. I will also definately have our staff investigate the issue with your bed,
Thank you again and I hope that next time you stay with us that I will be on island and we will have the opportunity to meet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is our 5th stay at the Ports of Call hotel. Again, we feel like family here! The GM, Kendra, manages the hotel so expertly, we rarely see staff. Yet when we do, all are so friendly & genuinely care that our stay is comfortable. We visit Turks & Caicos so often because we love the beautiful beaches. When relaxing around the lovely pool area of Ports of Call - we need to remind ourselves to visit the beaches now & then. The location is excellent in that you're across the road to a fabulous supermarket, cute shops right on site and beautiful SaltMills Mall - within easy walking distance. We 're able to walk to a variety of restaurants and of course the beach is 3 minutes away. You simply cannot do better than PoC.

Room Tip: Rooms that walk-out to the pool area are my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for submitting such a wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
728 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,955 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ports of Call Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ports of Call Resort

Property: Ports of Call Resort
Address: Grace Bay Rd, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ports of Call Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ports of Call Resort is located within the beautiful Grace Bay area on Providenciales, an island of the Turks and Caicos, and is only a short 15-minute drive from the Providenciales airport (PLS). The property comprises of a central building featuring a welcoming reception, business center, breakfast room, fitness room, and poolside bar. Ports of Call Resort has 98 fully renovated deluxe junior suites approximately 325 sq ft offering pool view (some with balcony or terrace) and others with garden views. Rooms are located in two three-story buildings (no elevator) surrounding a tropical pool area that creates an intimate boutique setting. For your enjoyment, the tropical outdoor facilities include a poolside bar and lounge, table tennis, billiard table, pool, hot tub, comfortable chaise lounges, patio seating, shade umbrellas, towels, and a dedicated children's play area. Ports of Call Resort has a designated beach access to the awe-inspiring Grace Bay Beach complete with lounges, umbrellas, stand up paddle-boards, and kayaks, and is only 300 yards from the property. A shuttle runs each hour and beach towels are provided. The property also includes the Shops of Ports of Call. The plaza offers a variety of restaurants, bars, gift and clothing shops, as well as a spa, hair salon, ice cream parlor, dive shop, conference space, fishing charter, and auto/scooter rentals, further enhancing the Resort's array of services and amenities. Daily continental breakfast and in-room wifi included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ports of Call Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ports Of Call Hotel Providenciales
Comfort Suites Providenciales
Providenciales Comfort Suites
Ports Of Call Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing