We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ports of Call Resort
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed at Ports of Call Resort for 7 nights as part of the Pets Without Vets organization. How incredibly generous of POC to donate 7 rooms to help support the mission of PWV! The staff at the resort were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool/patio was a perfect place to unwind after a hectic day of spaying/neutering 50+ animals. The beach was an easy 5 min walk from the resort as were many restaurants, shops, rental places and grocery store. Thank you for allowing us to stay with you and for helping PWV!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
On behalf of the resort staff and all the island thank you for contributing your valuable time and effort to this cause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    381
    116
    24
    17
See reviews for
265
395
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I wanted to acknowledge the generosity of this resort and the Manager, Kendra. The week of May 5th my organization, Pets without Vets, was on island conducting a spay & neuter clinic. POC DONATED 7 rooms for our use! Our stay was lovely, all our needs were attended to, and we were able to have some free time to relax on the beach just 5 minutes away. The reception staff were extremely helpful and cheery.

The hotel is close to Salt Mills Plaza and many restaurants making things easy for us after a hard day of working.

Thank you Ports of Call for caring about the importance of spay/neuter and supporting the local efforts to reduce the pet over-population on TCI

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robininNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for both the kind comments and for contributing your valuable time and efforts to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Travelling to Turks and Caicos may be quite an expensive destination, but Ports of Call hotel though non luxurious is a clean and affordable, well situated hotel. It is across the street from the beach a 5 mins walk to the beach where this hotel has chairs and umbrellas. The other great thing is because its so well situated in town you have restaurants, grocery store, coffee shops and ice cream parlour walking distance from the hotel.
The staff at the hotel are awesome. Always willing to help with suggestions and reviews and friendly. Charlene at the front desk is a true gem!
The one and only thing that we didn't like is that the pool is used daily for a few hours by a scuba diving instructor so sharing the pool with all the scuba divers was sometimes annoying, the thing is you should be at the beach instead because it is the best beach in the world, thats why we keep coming back.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
On behalf of all the team at the resort I would like to thank you for your great review...it is appreciated. I totally understand your comments about the dive instruction in the pool. This is restricted to a 1.5 hr slot later in the afteroon when the sun is receding and is required as a high percentage of our resort guests are involved with the scuba program of one of our plaza tenants, Dive Provo. Hopefully this did not cause too much concern as thankfully we have an incredible beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

After a couple of hiccups our stay was excellent. I know there were some challenges handling a group of 32 kids, the pool, the table tennis table and the pool table were always in use but the most of the other guests seemed accomodating. The parents on the trip were extremely satisfied with the rooming as it was head and shoulders above our accomodations in Portugal last year.
Access to the beach and proximity to many of the eating places was very helpful. The pastries served were delightful and overall the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Ws great to have your teams stay with us and we are so happy that you enjoyed both our resort and the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife an I just returned from a 7 night stay at Ports of Call and our first trip to Provo. The staff is all very friendly and very helpful when we had some issues come up. Upon checking into our room we noticed the AC was not working so maintenance came right away to try to fix it. They were unable to repair it so we were upgraded from a first floor garden view to a second floor pool view. Another day, my snorkel fin broke and they were able to let me use some duct tape for repair, which was really great of them to do!

The hotel itself is very clean and we love the modern look of the rooms and grounds. The pool was clean and refreshing. The location is ideal, a 5 minute to to beach, upscale grocery store (the store is pretty expensive, check out the IGA or some of the other grocery stores in the area) across the street, and some nice restaurants and shopping plazas just down the road. There is also plenty of parking if you have a car. The continental breakfast is basic but does the job. Considering how expensive food on the island is, its a great that they include it. Free wifi is also a nice bonus, there were some connection issues with it but that dident bother me.

A few minor issues. The rooms need more hooks for hanging towels and swim suits on. Ended up having to hang stuff over the chairs and any other nook i could find. The bed was a bit worn, it kinda dipped in the middle. Laundry was expensive, nearly $15 for a single wash, dry, detergent and taxes. I know energy is expensive on the island, just glad we only had one load.

Overall a wonderfully priced, centrally located alternative to those overpriced mega resorts! Worth a stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremyDrouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed positive review...it is truly appreciated. Was happy to hear that we responded quickly to your requests. My apologies that you felt your mattress was worn...we usually get very positive comments on our beds but I have noticed one or two complaints surfacing in recent weeks so it will be investigated and some new ones will be quickly ordered as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
265 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our first stay at Ports of Call and we loved it! We had a room on the "garden" side, which was very quiet. The room was clean, clean, clean, and comfortable. The beds are on the firm side, and the pillows are small, but cushy. Plenty of drawers and closet space for two people. I asked for two additional pillows, which were brought in right away. We liked having a small sitting area with a couch and a coffee table for looking at maps and making plans. The safe was on the bottom of the closet, under a shelf, which required a little getting used to, but worked fine. If you're short, the rod in the closet is pretty high and the hangers are hard to detach, but there are 10 hangers, which was plenty for us.

One complaint: NOT enough hooks! There was one hook on the wall behind the bathroom door, and one towel rack over the toilet. Period. For two people with wet bathing suits, wet shorts, damp shirts, and wet towels, this was not nearly enough. We hung towels over the bathroom door, over the two doors to the closet, and finally upended the ironing board, covered the feet with plastic bags, and hung things from there! Tip: everything microfiber dried fast. Everything cotton NEVER dried. Conclusion: bring microfiber underwear, shirts, shorts. The room has a nice, big, walk-in shower - MUCH better than those crummy, slipper tub/shower deals. The soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion that they provide are nice - not the overly scented, harsh kind usually offered. They don't skimp on towels, either. We tried to re-use towels as much as possible, but because of the dearth of hooks, towels used just once were usually still wet the next day.

The small fitness room was very handy. There is a nice elliptical, a good treadmill, a bike, a bench, a combination weight machine, and a big selection of free weights (including 3,5,8, and 12 lb weights - not just big weights). The room has an overhead fan as well as AC, and a TV.
Be considerate - turn off the power and the fan when you leave, and (how hard can this be?) replace the weights in the rack!

Breakfast was good - 3 kinds of cold cereal, bread for toast, waffle to toast, pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and fruit. Cubed ham and cheese, too, I think. Simple, plenty of variety - though, really, who needs much variety at breakfast? One day we had the best almond croissants known to man by heading to the French bakery just down the street. Better than those in Paris - I would not kid you on something like this! They open at 7:30 and if you get there shortly thereafter, the croissants are just out of the oven. $3 each and worth every penny. The jelly doughnuts are also fresh and fabulous.

The staff are wonderful. Mr. Jolly greeted us and gave us some information about the area. The front desk staff were helpful and informative (special thanks to Evelyn!), Tristan at the beach helped us set up an excursion, Daniel (who speaks beautiful French) was super friendly and informative. The Executive Housekeeper was very helpful and nice. if you require obsequious, fawning staff - go elsewhere. Ports of Call staff are friendly, helpful professionals. One eveing desk person is kind of flat, but who knows? Maybe she's having a crummy time in her life.

We got most of our meals at the Graceway Gourmet across the street - a great deli selection, very good salad bar, and hot selections available at lunch. Ports of Call encourages you to get what you want at the grocery store, heat it up in the breakfast room, and eat it at the tables or near the pool. Hint: there is not much of a canned soda selection at the hotel, so get some at the Graceway if you want some, and put it in your room fridge. The grocery store does sell single cans, though. We just got ice cream every so often at The Patty Place (a block away), which had MUCH better quality ice cream than the Giggles ice cream shop in the Ports of Call Plaza. Walk a short block and get better ice cream at a better price. Also the Graceway Gourmet had the absolute best pineapple chunks we have ever had -so good that we ate a whole container every day! Since we travel with carry-on only, we bought sunscreen there, too. A big bottle of No AD was $14 something - not bad. Keep in mind that everything in Turks and Caicos has to be brought in, so count on food and supplies being expensive. Gas was $6plus per gallon while we were there.

If you stay at Ports of Call, Dive Provo gives you a 10% discount on their snorkeling and scuba trips. They are extremely helpful, experienced professionals, right out the front door of the hotel. It doesn't get easier than that. Also Tristan (beach staff) helped us set up an excursion with Island Vibe after we saw one of their boats - it was great fun - a little snorkeling, a beach stop, and a jumping-off-the-top-of-the-top-of-the-boat stop. Worth checking out. Because Dive Provo was having an engine problem with one of their boats, they scheduled us for a snorkel trip with Caicos Adventures and this was great.

We set up our trip to and from the airport with Majestic Cab. Google them and make reservations. Antoinette and Leonard are very reliable and will not rip you off. They would be great for any trips or errands while you're on the island. On our arrival, they set us up with Leonard's brother, Daryl, who was very nice, too. Be aware: The Providenciales airport is absolutely crummy. Even if you pre-print your boarding pass at the hotel, you have to stand in long lines to pay a departure tax ($5). Bring cash. Then, once you get through security, you land in the most horrible waiting area - everybody packed cheek by jowl, not enough seats for everyone, hot, noisy, and humid. Pay attention. There is no way to tell from which gate your flight departs, and the announcements are garbled and mostly incomprehensible. Get there NO LESS than two hours in advance.

The beach is out of this world, and less than a five minute walk away, with comfortable beach lounge chairs provided. You can rent big, umbrellas for $8 ( a good deal). We were amazed to observe that some guests cannot be bothered to pick up their own trash - leaving it on the sand for someone else to deal with. Most were conscientious, though, and the beach is clean. You can be picked up for Island Vibe trips, parasailing, and other trips right at the beach. Tristan probably has connections for all kinds of these. Hint: do yourself and the staff a favor by using the foot rinse tap outside the hotel before coming in. Sand gets EVERYWHERE. We even left a dry washcloth on the nightstand to brush off our feet before getting into bed!

There is a small book exchange in the lobby - leave your already-read books, borrow another.
I had no trouble connecting with the WiFi in the lobby, but was never able to connect in our room. This worked fine. The pool area is very nicely landscaped, and the gardens around the hotel are clearly done with sensible water use in mind - so much better than the extravagant, water hogging plantings that you see in other resorts. This place has a conscience - and we visitors can follow suit.

(On the ratings: there is no room service - but I can't get rid of that line!)

To summarize - we love this place and will be back every year from now on!

Ralph and Ann

Room Tip: The garden side is probably quieter than the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
On behalf of everyone at Ports of Call I would like to thank you for submitting such a great and detailed review. So happy you enjoyed your staff on the island and our resort. The lack of sufficient bathroom hooks is in the midst of being corrected. I hope that you will get a chance to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Checking in was a breeze and we even got a free upgrade. The staff is very friendly and very responsive. We had 2 requests during our trip and both requests were handled within 5 minutes. The resort is located within walking distance from everything you need. The dive shop is in the resort, there's a gourmet supermarket 5 minutes away, lots of restaurants nearby. Spa, bakery you name it. The area is very safe, the locals are very friendly and very courteous, you can take long walks, the beach is 5 minutes away with tons of fun activities, sailing, kayaking etc... The room we had was very clean and everything was functional. Air conditioning was working very efficiently and wasn't noisy at all. We stayed there for a week and had a blast. The diveshop (Dive Provo) is very good too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno_Lombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed and positive review,..it is truly appreciated and will certainly assist our marketing efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ports of Call Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ports of Call Resort

Property: Ports of Call Resort
Address: Grace Bay Rd, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ports of Call Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ports of Call Resort is located within the beautiful Grace Bay area on Providenciales, an island of the Turks and Caicos, and is only a short 15-minute drive from the Providenciales airport (PLS). The property comprises of a central building featuring a welcoming reception, business center, breakfast room, fitness room, and poolside bar. Ports of Call Resort has 98 fully renovated deluxe junior suites approximately 325 sq ft offering pool view (some with balcony or terrace) and others with garden views. Rooms are located in two three-story buildings (no elevator) surrounding a tropical pool area that creates an intimate boutique setting. For your enjoyment, the tropical outdoor facilities include a poolside bar and lounge, table tennis, billiard table, pool, hot tub, comfortable chaise lounges, patio seating, shade umbrellas, towels, and a dedicated children's play area. Ports of Call Resort has a designated beach access to the awe-inspiring Grace Bay Beach complete with lounges, umbrellas, stand up paddle-boards, and kayaks, and is only 300 yards from the property. A shuttle runs each hour and beach towels are provided. The property also includes the Shops of Ports of Call. The plaza offers a variety of restaurants, bars, gift and clothing shops, as well as a spa, hair salon, ice cream parlor, dive shop, conference space, fishing charter, and auto/scooter rentals, further enhancing the Resort's array of services and amenities. Daily continental breakfast and in-room wifi included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ports of Call Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ports Of Call Hotel Providenciales
Comfort Suites Providenciales
Providenciales Comfort Suites
Ports Of Call Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing