We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Returning Home...love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like Returning Home...love it!”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I almost don't want to tell others about how amazing Turks and Caicos is; I would be saddened if it becomes over run by guests. 2nd time back to Provenciales and Royal West Indies; have no desire to go anywhere else. Beautiful and peaceful. The staff at RWI are friendly and usually eager to assist with any issue. We only just returned today and I am anxious to plan my next stay! We were though dissapointed with the fact that I had called 2 wks prior to our arrival requesting that we would like two units (my daughter and fiance had booked the same week) within the same proximity of each other. I do realize that RWI was completey booked this week, but I feel they could have juggled a bit especially with a 2wk notice; we were in units quite a distance away. Also, this was a milestone b'day vacation celebration for myself; I discovered that my daughter had requested a bottle of bubbly to be in my room, and it was not. No biggie, but both requests would have been special if granted. Just feel that the effort was not made.
I must say that I found the resort and beach a bit more crowded then my 1st stay in June of 2010. What a difference a month makes. Still serene and beautiful. I rented a car this visit and found it very easy to navigate the island and discover new beaches. Taxis can be pricey so the rental paid for itself since we also ate at the island's fabulous restaurants pretty much every night. A 7min walk will bring you to Coco Bistro; a wonderful romantic restaurant with amazing food and service (make reservations). The new restaurant at RWI (Pelican Bay) was surprisingly good; and convenient...also, one of the best margaritas I've ever enjoyed!
Be certain to chat with Andrea; she has a desk in the lobby and will go out of her way to book an excursion of your choice. She is so sweet and personable!
We, again, stayed in a garden studio on the ground fl. Very comfortable and convenient.
Shopping is fun. Be certain to check out the shops at Salt Mills and Regent Village; located next to one another. Duty free local rum can be purchased at Regent with a checked bag allowance of 2 per passenger. You can then purchase 2 additional bottles of spirits per passenger to carry on at the airport shop upon departure. My husband and I were able to return with 8 bottles. I guess most tourists are not aware of this. Great gifts!
Final say...I will be returning to this paradise again, and, since so satisfied with RWI, will book again at this property...it's like returning home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NanNY17_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    663
    122
    42
    30
See reviews for
335
1,073
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The island was a great visit no doubt. My advice is without a doubt rent a car for your stay...we did and we got a chance to see the entire island of Provo. Our most memorable time was going to mudjin harbour in middle caicos via the iga ferry. our second best time was a toss up between Taylor bay and pelican beach...the water is amazing and spectacular. It's as if we had the entire beach to ourself...u will not be diassapointed.
The overall price for gas and groceries plus lunch or dinner is quite pricy, but worth the memories. Looking back I wouold have set up the rental car in advance because I feel as if Avis at the airport took advantage of us price wise vs negotiated with other companies in advance. Make sure u understand the pace of people there (waiters and waitresses) is at their pace and at times not to friendly but I guess that is just island time....(long time to be greeted or get food served). Turks and Caicos is ideal if u rlooking for PURE relaxation and not the hustle and bustle of everyday life and is also a good environment for young children....we took our two sons with us age 8 and age 5....they loved it and the calmness of the water was ideal for them and even younger children...(Taylor bay). Took the kids to the conch farm...it was fun and actually very interesting...the kids had fun there. Standout: mudjin harbour - middle caicos, pelican beach, Taylor bay, and coral garden reef. Try to visit these places...some off the beaten path but again worth it. Tremendous trip!!!!!!!!
Bottom line great trip, great beaches, great water, memorable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soniaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This was our first time to Turks Caicos and we had the best time.
We have been to many islands over the years this by far was one of the best.
Beautiful beaches and water . Did not know it has the third largest barrier reef in the world which makes for great . Royal West Indies was perfect .The accomadations were great , just as advertised. The staff was friendly and very helpful.( Frankley I dont get others complaints about anything regarding this hotel or staff. as mentioned we have been all over the caribean and Hawaii ,this is one of the best places ever.
Our beach chairs and umberllas were set up by 7:30-8:00 every morning well before other hotels.
We intend to make this an anual trip

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This resort was amazing. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is super friendly. I celebrated my 40th birthday with my friend and teenage daughter. We all had a great time. Make sure you bring instant coffee, creamer, and snacks. The food gets pricey and if you are comfortable driving on the left, rent a car. Its cheaper than taking cabs everywhere. ease visit the Mango Reef Restaurant. The food is delicious. Our waiter whas Trever Thomas. He was the best I've ever encountered. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabulousForty40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The hotel was great and it was at a great price. The room I had which was a basic room was nothing extravagant. However, the room was nice and clean. It is more than just another room, it was relaxing. I spent my share of time looking out my room balcony and reading. The bed was great, and I have problems sleeping.
The staff were great. Everyone I felt made me feel at home and special. Sherman came thru for me when I need something. From the front counter to the beach staff I was very satisfied with the service. The staff are one of the jewels of the stay. I like to interact and talk with people and the staff always indulged me. I learned a lot about the island and I am thankful to the staff for that.
The restaurant was great. The prices I found to be better than going to the local store and buying stuff to cook. At the local IGA you will pay prices you have never seen before like $10 for a quart of ice cream. So for me it was cheaper to eat at the hotel. A single person can eat for around $15 a meal. The bar staff James Lee and Mario where very friendly and will engage you in conversation and you will get your monies worth if you drink. More than your monies worth.
I would stay again and would recommend the hotel to any of my friends with children or not.
You can rent a car for under $50 a day, actually $43 is what I paid. The island is small and you can drive to every part in a day. If you get a car stop a Chinson, a Jamaican and Chinese restaurant. The jerk chicken is absolutely fabulous. You can visit Sapodilla beach or Long Beach Bay, you are almost guaranteed not to see more than five other people.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GShrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Royal West Indies (RWI). What a fabulous resort. Spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location on Grace Bay, and beautifully manicured gardens. We stayed in a 2 BR, botanical view condo, very well appointed, full kitchen, washer/dryer. The 2BR unit easily accommodated our family of 5. Pull out couch was quite comfy according to my daughter. Resort offers free bikes (about six) which you can take for up to 2 hours, between the hours of 8am-6pm. Easy ride to the Graceway Gourmet market to pick up groceries. On site Pelican Bay restaurant offered good food at reasonable (for Provo) prices. Bartenders make some killer frozen rum drinks. Internet service was spotty but that was probably due more to the service provider than the resort.

The RWI is located on eastern end of Grace Bay so I'd recommend getting a rental car from Grace Bay Car Rentals (ask for Paul). Paul and his staff were very accommodating. For $40/day plus tax (no hidden fees/charges) you can drive to any restaurant you want, Bight Reef for snorkeling, Salt Mills shopping area, Turtle Cove, etc. Well worth it, especially when taxis are so expensive. Plus, you get to learn to drive on the left!

We definitely recommend this resort and would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CentAmMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Turks and Caicos - This island is one of the most beautiful places on earth - We stayed at The Royal West Indies and we could not have wanted more - The room was clean and had all we needed - The bed was comfortable and each room has a kitchen area which includes washer/dryer - The pools were beautiful and you are just a few steps from the beach (which is amazing) - The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - The only area that needed improvement was the restaurant, the food was good but could be better - There are some great restaurants further down the beach which is always a good option - I would recommend that you visit the supermarket (greenway) to stock up on some sodas and snacks as they can be quite expensive - There is a french bakery (Caicos Cafe) a few moments down the main road that has the best pastries, it is a must visit - The Royal West Indies has bikes that you can take for up to two hours at a time which was extremely helpful. Overall it was a great vacation and we are planning our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orla74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,028 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 44 in Providenciales
814 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing