We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and beautiful beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just got back from a week stay at RWI! I looked into other places (closer to Bight Reef) but I am happy I went with RWI. The beaches in the area around RWI are much wider than closer to the reef area. The Coral Gardens (where Bight Reef is located) has an abandoned hotel next to it and it's such an eyesore! Plus this area is pretty crowded because of the public access beach.

I agree with the other reviewers - pros: quiet, small (not like those massive hotels), clean (no issues with our room - ok, we did have one cockroach in our room but it was half dead and we didn't see any other bugs - another reason to be off the ground floor), beautiful gardens, wonderful view from our room (#535) - 1 bedroom suite with a garden/pool view but had a view of the ocean from our table on the balcony. Would definitely recommend a 3rd floor room for the best view if you are not traveling with small kids. The 2nd floor is nice for those rainy times (ask for one with a ceiling fan). The room was very spacious for us. The bed was oh so comfortable! Wish the windows in the bedroom had blackout blinds. Woke up to the sun peaking thru the wooden blinds too early. Next time I'll bring an eye mask:)

Loved having a Hobie Cat (small sailboat) to use - they only had one working (the other two were in repair). Wished they had paddleboards! I rented one over at Grace Bay Club (two hotels west of RWI (very close) and they were nice to let me use it (I paid them $40 for 2.5 hrs). The guys working at RWI said they could get me a paddleboard (they had a brochure from a local place) but their rates were expensive ($100 for a 1/2 day). I paddled from GBC over to our place and paddled back to return it. Super easy!

Loved the free DVD rentals at the front office - would be better if they had more selections but got to see a few movies I've never heard of before. My kids loved it!

Cons-pools were a bit cold and there is only one that's ok for kids to splash around in (the other two are in the quiet zone). However, the pools are not the main attraction when staying on Grace Bay Beach so really, it wasn't a big deal. Don't bother snorkeling around here - nothing to see. If you want water slides and such, then go to Beaches. Agree with BeachFan711 that the front desk and staff in general could be a bit more welcoming and willing to extend themselves. I think you just have to expect that and make sure to ask instead of waiting for them to offer their assistance.

Not much for the kids to do besides the beach and the pool (which should be enough, right?) The pool isn't very exciting for bigger kids. Would be great if they had a few games - ping pong table, shuffle board.

As for general info about what to do in Provo, I would highly recommend renting a car for at least one day or two. It's cheaper than taking taxis (we paid $56/day for a Toyota Corolla - yes they are old cars with over 100,000 miles but work fine). We rented from Grace Bay Rentals and even if they say they don't have a car available, keep inquiring (they will drop off and pick up the car from the hotel and their office is a 8-10 min walk from the hotel). They have cars that are being turned in all the time. The island is very small and easy to get around (the dirt roads can be a little bumpy but it's worth the trek to explore the other beaches and sites). If you're worried about driving on the left side, the max speed limit is 40 mph and seriously, half of the people driving are tourists so no worries. They have turnabouts - just remember to yield to the right.

Check out the Hole - a huge hole in the earth with seawater below. I guess some crazy people have jumped in. There used to be a rope hanging down from a tree but that's gone. If you walk about 10 feet on a little side trail from the rim, you'll see a little cave that takes you a few feet below the hole. Be careful because it's sandy and could be a little slippery. We went in and saw a few bats and a different view of the Hole! Pretty cool!

Long Beach is very nice - you'll see the beach and waters littered with conch shells. The water is very shallow here and it's a remote location. Sapodilla Beach & Taylor Beach are beautiful! Taylor Beach is a little tricky to find. There are no signs but there are usually construction workers around and you can ask them. These beaches are great because if it's windy on the east side, the waters here will be calm:) We didn't get to really see Chalk Sound very well. We wanted to eat at Las Brisas but it was closed on the day we were there (Tuesdays).

The next day we rented a car to snorkel over at Bight Reef at Coral Gardens and over at Smith Reef. Worth the stop. You could probably get snorkel equipment from RWI and take it down to snorkel here (we brought our own snorkel gear) but they also have equipment to rent at Coral Gardens. There's a shower, bathroom and places to eat here too. However, at Smith Reef, there is nothing there except nice homes. Bight Reef - lots of fish to see right off the beach (really, like 10 yds off the beach!) Great for little kids (I have 2 boys - 12 & 10.) We also snorkeled at Smith Reef but there are rocks on the beach and going in is a little tricky. Had to try to avoid stepping on shells on the rocks and sea urchins. Would recommend wearing water shoes if you have them. I went down in a few inches a water to avoid having to walk into the water. I would not recommend this for smaller kids unless it's pretty calm. It was a little windy that day (and it was late in the day) but my husband and I snorkeled while my boys stayed on the beach/rocks. My husband saw an Eagle Ray and some other people there saw turtles. Not many people here so that's a plus (there was only one other person snorkeling). Yes, the coral looks a bit damaged both here and at Bight Reef but there are still lots of pretty things to see.

RWI is about a little over a mile from the grocery store and the shopping area. I walked to the grocery store (Graceway Gourmet IGA - it's huge & they have everything! FYI, they don't sell alcohol on Sundays) and took a cab back ($10). You can always use the bikes they have to ride back to the store if you needed a few items. Expect to pay at least twice as much as home. I brought a suitcase of food - mac n cheese, microwave popcorn, granola bars, ramen noodles, Crystal Light powder packets, salt/pepper shaker, cooking oil, cereals, etc. Expect nothing in the kitchen besides dish soap, coffee & sugar packets. We ate breakfast and lunch in our room and ate out for dinner every night. Explore the many restaurants around. We loved walking to and from the many restaurants near RWI. All were so good (Cabana Bar and Grill and Mango Reef had the quickest service and excellent food!). Pelican Bay restaurant at RWI was very slow and we ate there for dinner just once.

Lastly, if you are taking a taxi to and from the airport, it's kinda vague as too how much to expect to pay. It's not like you are in a position to bargain on the spot. But to give you an idea, we paid $46+ $4 tip each way for a family of 4 with our luggage. There was a guy traveling alone and he paid $25+tip.

We also did a late check out (2pm) for a charge of $55 - it was totally worth it! We got to spend another lovely day at the beach, had lunch in our room, showered up and left for the airport.

Sorry for the long review - I really rely on people's comments when making trip plans so I wanted to do the same.

All in all, it was a wonderful week in Provo. We will definitely be back someday!

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom corner suite on the 3rd floor - awesome views from our L shaped balcony of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We just spent a week here - our first time in Turks. RWI was a great spot for us. We had a great room in building 2 - just a kitchenette. The fridge was a little wonky, but the terrace was great - we had a clear beach view. At first wished we were on 3rd floor because the balconies look so pretty, but because it rained a bit, we were glad we were covered on second floor. Next time we may ask for a one-bedroom - so we could cook a bit more. We did bring a kettle, tea and coffee and instant oatmeal so we could have breakfast cheaply. There was a microwave and coffee maker in room. Housekeeping was great, the grounds were beautiful. We never had to fight for an umbrella or beach lounger. We will be back, perhaps two weeks next time!

Room Tip: choose a second floor room as close to beach as possible - oceanfront - worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed in a 2nd floor one-bedroom suite with great balcony overlooking the quiet pool. The grounds are stunning and well kept. We traveled with our 2 year old son so the extra space of the suite was well worth it. Easy walk to grocery store or take the bikes (about 10-15 minutes). Sherman the bellman/jack of all trades was fantastic and bursting with positive energy--unfortunately the same could not be said for the reception and pool/beach staff. They were generally efficient but indifferent. Not a big deal but enough to change my rating from 5 to 4. Our housekeepers were fabulous and managed to work successfully around our sons nap patterns every day.

This is a very quiet resort and for that matter, i found TCI to be a bit too quiet for my taste. If you're looking for lots of relaxation and beach time then this is the place for you. If you like lots of excitement and activity, i would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Recommend 2nd floor...3rd floor would be better view as long as you don't want to use your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bax1char20306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My husband and I absolutely enjoyed our stay. We had an Ocean View Suite that was very clean and comfortable. We have stayed at many of the hotels prior and would highly recommend the RWI if you want a quieter stay in one of the smaller original hotels that is beautifully landscaped and only 3 floors not one of the new monsters. The front desk could be a bit more welcoming and willing to extend themselves but, it didn't bother us so much since we have been frequenting the island for many years and know our way around.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachFan711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This quickly became my favorite place and will soon be going back. Reminds you of an old sugar plantation property with large brimming hats, large overhangs and patios, outdoor ceiling fans, and lush property kept up every morning. Check in is easy and a fun experience with a personal escort to your room. Pay the extra and stay up front in an ocean front room (#121). Have a drink at the Pelican Bay Bar and stop by for happy hour. They send runners out the beach to replenish your drinks. The hospitality is great. They will arrange anything you want. Jump on a free bike and pedal downtown (about 12 minute ride) and enjoy what the island has to offer. This is a landmark resort, one of the first built before expansion in the 2000's added too many hotels down the beach, some of which remain empty. This is on Grace Bay and the beach runs for miles with beautiful soft sand (feels like powder).

Room Tip: Ocean Front # 121, or 131
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel was not as big as some other nearby places, but it was perfect! A large pool with a bridge and a couple small quiet area pools. This is not really a kid's place, but more for adults wanting to relax and read around the pools. The loungers are nice with plenty of umbrellas and tables. There are gardens all around with winding paths and ceramic lanterns lit at night. The whole place was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. They have free cruiser bikes, books and DVD's to borrow, Beach chairs and umbrellas are free!
We had a studio with a very comfortable. Mattress and plenty of pillows. There was a small table with 2 chairs as well as a desk ans 2 more comfortable chairs. The kitchenette has a full size coffee potthatcamewithfilters and a couple packs of coffee to start. There iis as all sink, dish rack, dish soap, sponge, dishes and glasses, silvware, cork screw can opener, microwave, and a fridge with freezer. It is slightly smaller than a full size. The balcony is nice with table and chairs. We had an ocean view which was nice but a bit far away. None are ocean front.
There is a restaurant on site and a bar but no store or other amenities. You have to walk to some restaurants or the Graceway Gourmet. I hear theIGA is. Cheaper ,but you have to take a cab. Cabs are expensive , so bringplents of cash for fares and tips. Food is very expensive. A box of cereal was $8.99. I brought my own alond with coffee, oatmeal, peanut butter etc. At
A typical dinner for 2 is 150 and we don't drink. Buy liquor at store and. Make your own. There are a couple shopping plazas with anything you need or want within a walk, but wear comfortable shoes. They are not close, maybe a mile ???

Oh yeah, don 't come in Feb. We had to wear pants, sweaters and it was cloudy every day. No swimming, sun or ocean for us. It is beautiful here though.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank packmybags88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This resort is beautiful. The grounds are full of greenery and colorful flowers. Two pools gives you choice, the quiet pool is great if you just want to read and enjoy the surroundings. You couldn't ask for a friendlier staff. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which is really a condo.
Lots of room and nicely decorated. It's more like having a two bedroom with the pullout couch and two TV's. The kitchen is fully equipped, but the food at the restaurant is really good so why bother. Their happy hour is a busy time around the bar, but everyone is friendly and conversations abound. Entertainment around the pool several evenings a week is really good. This is a wonderful place to vacation and I look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are nice. Not too many stairs, but you can see the water even if not by the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEMPAM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,563 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £160 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing