We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Recently stayed here for 4 nights. Very nice accommodations at a reasonable price. Steps away from one of the nicest beaches in the world and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Offer beach umbrellas, lounge chairs, paddle boards, snorkeling gear, hobie cats, swimming pools, whirlpool etc etc. Virgil hooked us up with a demonstration on the hobie cat and was extremely helpful. Nice on site restaurant/bar. The rooms are very comfortable with patio or balcony and include washer/dryer, microwave, full size refrigerator. Only real complaint was that the hot water in the shower wasn't adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

For our first trip to T&C, my wife and I stayed in a studio ground level unit in building 3, right across from the pool and restaurant. There was a refrigerator, microwave, dishes, utensils, etc. No stove top or oven. We went to the IGA which was 3-5 minute car ride and bought a few snacks, some soda, beer and bottled water. We brought a soft cooler from home which we took to the beach with us each day (saved a little money). Many great restaurants close to the RWI.

The hot water in the room was not working when we checked in but they responded quickly and it was repaired in about 1.5 hours. Bed was a little soft for our liking but overall the room was clean. We did not spend much time in the room so it was fine for us. We enjoyed being close to the pool and the Staff was generally pretty friendly. The grounds at the hotel were very well maintained and the pools were very quiet and relaxing. By far the best part of the stay was the beach. If you can’t relax on Grace Bay, you are in trouble. The water was so beautiful and calm, we spent most of our time at the beach for our 5 day stay. The pictures of the beach are accurate, it was amazing!!

As with much on the island, food and drinks at the restaurant (Pelican Bay) were a little pricey, but it’s an island. 2 for 1 happy hour from 5-7pm was great and the fish tacos were excellent. We rented a car and explored some of the island; Blue Haven Marina and Resort, Sapodilla Bay, Da Conch Shack. All places we would recommend. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the RWI!! It was a great value and location. We will return again.

Room Tip: They occationally have live music by the main pool and restaurant which was right by our room. It go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

For background, we had just stayed at Sands At Grace Bay for 4 days, and had intended to spend a couple days at Club Med, but after a walk through, we were underwhelmed (it looked old, the staff was very disinterested, and the food did not looking very appealing. My wife was not expecting much as we choose RWI at the last minute, but we were both pleasantly surprised. The beach is just the standard perfect beach in T&C, but the pool area is very romantic, the grounds are really gorgeous, and the hotel, itself, was very nice - the architecture and the color scheme is very pleasant. We had a full-size fridge and a washer-dryer, which made things very convenient. Downsides - the layout of the paths is not the best for getting to your room and just next door to RWIR is an unappealing deserted lot. A 10-15 minute walk to lots of shops and restaurants. I hated to leave and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thxsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I and our 13 year old daughter stayed at the Royal West Indies in July 2014, it was our first trip to the Turks and Caicos. First and most importantly the ocean is just amazingly beautiful! The resort itself is just a step above average. I must say the best asset that the resort has goes by the name of Noel!! He was very helpful and engaging and always met us with a big smile. The front desk on the other hand just seemed to go thru the motions almost in a robotic like manner. That could also be said for the staff that handed out beach towels, they barely even grunted at you---to busy looking down at their phones. The tropical grounds were very very nice and well maintained. We opted to spend a little more and got an ocean view room. The room itself was nice, we were glad to have a kitchen as well as a washer/dryer. Our only complaint here was that the ocean view room (231) offered a very limited view. When standing on the balcony only the far left 1/5th of the balcony offered a view of the ocean. My advice would be to save the extra $$ and go with a garden view because we didn't spend alot of time in the room other than to sleep. Another aspect that makes the resort just average is the very small and dated pools. We did enjoy how quiet the resort was the exception being the night they had karaoke at the bar, it was soooooo awful that we left the pool area and returned to our room. We thought the sound would be less out on our balcony but it wasn't, so we retired to the inside. We did like the fact the resort offed bicycles for use but once again they came up short here also. The bicycles can only be checked out starting at 8 and have to be back by 6pm which was frustrating because we wanted to use them to pedal down the road to grab some dinner. I guess its there way of encouraging you to eat on site. A great place to eat where the locals also go is the Fresh Catch, the grouper sandwich is wonderful----we had it for lunch 3 straight days. The grocery store is just down the road which is great for picking up water/snacks etc. Keep in mind it cost more than what you would pay in the US but they do have to import just about everything so it makes sense. If snorkeling take a taxi drive to bight reef it is literaly right off the beach and you will see some amazing fish----great place for those that are not use to snokeling or those with younger children. In a nutshell we are without a doubt going back to the Turks and Caicos because it is paradise!!! Just not sure if we will return to this resort. You expect exceptional customer service at a place like this and what they offered was just average. The entire staff could all take a lesson or two from Noel and offer up a big smile and an amazingly positive attitude.

Room Tip: Book a garden view room as it will save you $$$ unless you plan to spend alot of time in your room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Royal West Indies in June 2014 for our first visit to Turks and Caicos. We had done a lot of research prior to coming. We just wanted a relaxing vacation. This vacation exceeded every expectation we had. The resort has beautiful grounds, washer and dryer (which came in very handy) and a kitchenette in our studio. We stayed for 12 days and ate breakfast and lunch in our condo each day to offset the cost of food. The Graceway Gourmet is a very nice grocery store with a good selection of food. This resort is not the one to go to if you want all the bells and whistles. But it is clean, uncrowded and just plain relaxing. We never had a problem getting beach chairs, umbrellas or towels. RWI is near the end of the Grace Bay which makes it a quieter location too but near enough to walk to restaurants. Our favorite was Grace's Cottage. We took a cab there and then walked the beach home. All the staff we had contact with were very nice and accommodating. We are planning our next vacation in Turks and yes we are going back to RWI.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MommaLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed 9 days at the Royal West Indies Resort and absolutely LOVED IT! We had never been to the Turks and Caicos Islands and did a lot of research, including our trusted Trip Advisor site! We decided on a package deal through US Air that was for the Alexandra Resort. However, my daughter had to have emergency surgery and we had to cancel our previously made plans. After she was on the road to recovery, we tried to rebook our original package, but the Alexandra Resort was no longer available. But, the Royal West Indies Resort was, so we booked that (after reading the great reviews). Well, I firmly believe that everything happens for a reason! We WON with the Royal West Indies package! What a true paradise! The botanical grounds are so lush and gorgeous, including the banana trees and the coconut palm trees! Noel met us at the front of the building upon our arrival and greeted us with a great smile. We went to the desk to check in and, unfortunately, the woman at the registration desk was not nearly as friendly or welcoming as Noel. She was like a cool robot. Just going through the motions without so much as a "welcome to our island, etc.". But, Noel reappeared with two rum punches for us and soothed our disappointment at the lack of welcome from the registration clerk. We had a second floor unit and he carried our bags up for us. We were in Bldg. 8--the farthest from the beach, but we had room 823, which was on the second floor. We had a beautiful view of the botanical gardens and loved waking up to that view through our overly large patio doors each and every morning! We had a king size bed (mattress and pillows VERY comfortable), and a small kitchen area (fully stocked with dishes and cork screw!). The washer and dryer is such a terrific extra amenity while on vacation! Not having ever been to the island of Provo, we stayed close inside the resort for a couple of days to try to unwind and "get a feel for the lay of the land", so to speak. We asked a lot of questions and everyone was very helpful with ideas and suggestions, including the other guests. The resort has a very private feel to it and was not overly crowed at all when we were there (July 25-Aug. 3). We ate at the Pelican Bay Restaurant on site and, yes, it was more expensive than we are used to in the USA, but we are on an island--higher prices are to be expected for food. And, the food was AMAZING! The staff at the restaurant were terrific (except for one woman when we went for breakfast)! Derek and Stacy were terrific and Vinil Wilson, the Assistant Manager at the restaurant, was the BEST! He was always there to answer our questions and check on us, and even gave us the name and number of a tax driver to take us to the ferry to travel to the North Caicos Island. We ate at the Pelican Bay 4 times (3 dinners and 1 breakfast) and the food was ALWAYS delicious! No complaints there! We got more adventurous and took taxies to try some restaurants advertised outside of the resort, and were disappointed a couple of times (Sea Side Restaurant--outside seating area was dirty and the food was just okay--wouldn't go back there). Hemmingway's was delicious, as was Bella Luna (Italian). We REALLY had a rough year and only wanted to lay in the sun, and float in the water--which we did every day and were perfectly content. We needed complete relaxation and got it at the Royal West Indies Resort. The beach is to die for! Gorgeous! The water--color and clarity--to die for!! We would highly recommend this resort (or maybe I shouldn't. We would like to keep it a secret--our little slice of paradise!), and will be making our reservations for next summer's visit very soon!! (Plan on getting some groceries at the nearby IGS grocery store. The store is VERY well maintained and has pretty much anything you would want or get back in the USA. Prices are HIGHER; so prepare yourself for sticker shock. But, getting bottled water and the essentials for breakfast and lunches, helped defray the higher meal costs of eating in a restaurant for 3 meals a day. We took a cab from the resort to the grocery store; didn't want to attempt to carry a case of water in the bike basket. The cab was $10 there and $10 back. But there are restaurants nearby, so we paid for a cab to take us to dinner and then walked to the grocery store, got our groceries and then they called us a cab to pick us and our groceries up. So, we killed two birds with one stone on the cab fare.)

Room Tip: I loved having a second floor room. We were in room 823, which was the farthest from the beach, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank newyork145_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the royal west indies. We had a ground floor botanical suite. The room had a full kitchen, large living room and a beautiful bedroom. The unit was decorated tastefully. It was very nice to have a washer and dryer.
The restaurant onsite is expensive. We ordered a dessert and they gave us attitude because we came around closing time. We ordered a pecan strudel, and they gave us some disgusting raisin poptart. Definitely not what we ordered. Needless to say we didn't eat anything else there.

Grocery store is 15 minute walk, get a bike for the heavy stuff. If you run out of water, just get the bartender to fill a piitcher for you. Food is expensive, so bring what you can with you.
There are less expensive restaurants such as Danny bouys, big al's, the iguana grill, jimmys dive bar. Big al's has the best burgers ever. Make sure you hit up yoshies for sushi. Best sushi ever.
The bakery is amazing, they have the best almond croissants. (caicos baker)

Most of the time our meals were 15 or so at these places.

Be sure to book your snorkeling at the dive provo, we got snorkeling for 50.0 its near the restaurants.

Book this resort, it's so peaceful and the beach is to die for. The beach has tropical fish and stingrays . I'm already thinking of my next trip here.

Room Tip: The studio botanical has all the amenities, some rooms don't have ovens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,563 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £161 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing