We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would stay here again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

After reading reviews on trip advisor we booked a family vacation during Thanksgiving. We were hoping the hotel lived up to its reviews and it did. The rooms were exactly like the hotel website described and the grounds and beach were gorgeous. Unless you are staying in Building 1 don't request an oceanview room. Stay with the botanical view. The hotel restaurant had just opened and although the food was good, the menu was limited. The bar staff tended to be on the slow side and you had to double check your bill when you got it. Other than that it was good.

The hotel is down the quiet end of the beach and is about a mile from the shopping and dining areas. Cabs charge per person so I strongly recommend renting a car (they drive on the left). There is a grocery store right near the Seven Stars resort and it was nice to stock up on drinks, snacks and lunch items (the prices are higher than here in the states). Renting the car also allows you to explore the island and visit the Turtle Cove area and some of the other beaches.

We used the hotel tour desk to book our snorkeling tour and it was great. It was scheduled to be 3 hours but I think we were actually out there for 4.

We had a one bedroom suite with a sleep sofa in the living room. The room was huge and clean and we had view of one of the pools. The resort was quiet and laid back. It's also right on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haraskie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    642
    120
    41
    28
See reviews for
319
1,042
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Royal West Indies Resort from 12/1/10/ to 12/5/10. The location is great, 15 mins from the airport and with in walking distance to the grocery store and many good restaurants. We stayed in room 413, a studio. It was clean and had a kitchenette(microwave, fridge, sink, toaster,utencils and plateware) It also had a stackable washer dryer. In general we found the place exceeded our expectations. The staff was overly accomodating and the grounds were well kept. Some of the negatives were the hot water didnt stay as hot throughout a shower or bath (the water never got cold just didnt maintain) and the airconditioner broke on our last day there. Also, they dont have an outdoor shower so you cant wash up before heading to the airport if you want to stay on the beach and have a late flight and had to check out, as check out time is 11am. To be fair, I have to mention these but it wasnt a big deal for us.

It was our 1st time to Turks & Caicos. We came to scuba dive. We dove w/ Dive Provo. I cant say enough about this company. They are 1st class and dont miss a trick to provide the best service as well as making the dives convienient and hassel free, they take care of everything. From picking you up and dropping you off, setting up your equipment, changing it out and cleaning it. The dive site are fantastic and easy to navigate. if you dive, you will not be disappointed using Dive Provo.

Cost: If you havent been to T&C before be ready for sticker shock and plan ahead to save to make sure you bring enough. Taxi from the airport $30 plus tip, taxi round trip most places $20 plus tip, 6-pack of beer $15 at the store, Lunch at Calico Jacks, 2 cheese burgers and a four beers, $48 plus tip. you get the idea.

We ate dinners at Coco Bistro, and Mango Reef. FYI Mango Reef is no longer at the Royal West Indies Resort, its down the beach at Alexandras. Both were great, although Coco's was better.

We plan on returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationnutsPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here 11/19 to 11/26 and had a great time. The Mango Reef restaurant moved to another hotel and the new one was really experiencing growing pains. The menu was very limited and while the servers were great the managers were so overbearing that we ate at other hotels after the first 3 days. One suggestion: they should have cocktails on the beach and should heat the pools a bit. Water was freezing. Also, both of our backs were sore each morning. Beds felt comfortable but since we both experienced the same issue, it must have been the bed. Also, no gift shop at hotel, but shopping on Provo wasn't great anyway. Since we were not there to shop, it didn't matter. Hemmingways Restaurant at the Sands was wonderful -- try their Shrimp and Mango Salad.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

All in all a decent resort. All staff were incredibly friendly in contrast to some of the other negative reviews of this property. While Mango Reef has moved, their replacement seemed similarly priced. At the off-season rate of 60%+ off, this place is steal, right on the beach, and on the nicer end of Grace Bay.

Just don't pay for an "oceanview / oceanfront" room unless you are in building #1. Just get a botanical view room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geterd0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

This is the perfect spot if R&R is your goal. The beach is stunningly beautiful. Rooms
were well kept & very nice. Excellent location which for us means away from the crowds. We took a cab from the airport & asked the driver to stop off at the IGA where we picked up some rum and other necessities-then headed to the resort. Be prepared for sticker shock-groceries are high but is was nice to have coffee
(I brought my own) & a light breakfast in our room each day. Check out the Mama's right
next to Club Med-look for the red Dive sign. The lady can cook & her food was also great value. Recommend the jerk chicken & rice and the grouper. Skip their souvenirs though. Bike to the shops down the street (turn right). Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fingerlakesdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

We rented a car from Avis for the four days we were in Provo which was a great deal because we like to explore on our own. I felt a little nervous driving on the left side of the road at first and always had to concentrate fully on the new road rules. But eventually I learned my way around and got used to the turnabouts.

When we arrived at the hotel, the check-in was very quick and Noel took our bags to our room. He was extra friendly and that made for a great first impression. The hotel staff helped make us with dinner reservations when we needed them. We highly recommend Parallel 23 for an elegant dinner and Shark Bites (almond crusted grouper with coconut rum curry sauce) for a more casual meal.

The room was super clean and fresh. The bed was a free upgrade to King Size with pillow top mattress. We had a spacious 2nd floor patio facing the pool and garden area.

The hotel is right on the beautiful turquoise blue ocean beach so we enjoyed a walk on the uncrowded beach every morning. The pool and jacuzzi are crystal clear and because the hotel is uncrowded, we were always the only ones using them.

What we liked best were the great landscaping and spotlessness of the resort. All of the public bathrooms and areas were immaculate with new fixtures. Everything about the hotel was perfect and we are very glad we picked this hotel. We feel we got a great value.

Best of all, the weather and relaxed island atmosphere are fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallTannedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

We just returned from this resort after 6 nights. While the resort was very nice and the staff was pleasant our trip was a bit disappointing. Upon check in we were handed a notice that said the restaurant and bar would be closed for 3 days due to a new restaurant moving in. Need less to say the restaurant did not reopen on the third day. However at that time they did set up a table where you could purchase drinks. I feel the resort should have given us some sort of credit for the inconvenience. Going to the grocery store to stock you on food or beverages is not my idea of a vacation. We like to have breakfast or lunch where we stay and not have walk somewhere every time we want to grab a bit to eat.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#21 of 45 in Providenciales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#14 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#16 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, West Indies and TravelUp so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing