We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Family Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Family Vacation!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had an amazing vacation at The Sands! This was our first time to Turks & Caicos, and certainly not our last. We travelend from 2/28-3/7 with our 6 year old twin girls. It is isuch an easy flight fron JFK... and a 20 minute cab ride to the hotel. Makes traveling with kids such a pleasure. When we checked in, we were disappointed with our room as it was in buliding 6 and our room was RIGHT next to the lobby and when you walk out our door,it was the parking lot. We worked with Raymond (the manager) to resolve our disappointment and we were in a different room the next day. He certainly made our stay much better by accomodating us! I highly reccomend a 1st floor room if you have kids.

We were here for 9 days and had perfect weather! The first 7 days were 100% perfection with a little rain the last 2 days. I couldn't believe how perfect it was! What i love about The Sands is you can still see the amazing beach even when you are sitting at the pool. They provide floaties for the pool.... and beach toys, snorkling gear, kayaks, life jackets for the beach. No need to rent or buy any of that while down there.

I hihgly recmmond booking a boat ride through Reef Peepers. They pick you up at the hotel and you go on a 4 hour boat ride. We dove for conchs and sand dollars.... and it was the most beautiful scenery i have ever seen. By far our favorite day activity wise.

Hemingways was delicious... we ate dinner there three times and lunch twice. We also explored the island... other favorite restaruants are Bella Luna (italian), Danny Bouys (lunch), Jimmy's Dive Bar, Mango Reef ( a walk down the beach to the left). They have two great ice cream shops which of course the kids loved. A tip we learned the last night... Hemmingways charges a $10 corkage fee if you want to bring in your own bottle of wine. Certainly would have saved us some money if we knew that 8 nights sooners!

Can't wait to go bacck!

Room Tip: we were in building 4 and loved the location. Faced the lazy river pool and gardens.... could't...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank LauraFuhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    678
    135
    53
    41
See reviews for
552
826
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Just returned Thursday from a last minute four day/three night trip w/my DH. The Sands was better than remembered from our six year hiatus. The resort was absolutely beautiful and impeccably clean and bright. The staff in every phase of our stay were so gracious -- service always with a smile and greeting -- every one! The check-in staff said we should have no stress on this vacation, and they meant it. The pool and beach staff was so accomodating. No need to run and grab a palapa. Yes -- they did fill up; however, the staff had an endless supply of chairs and umbrellas that they would set up, whenever and wherever, for your convenience. Also, the complimentary water catamarans were great. I even saw a staff member take out people who were a little apprehensive.

Our room was amazing. We were supposed to be in an ocean view studio; however, I think we were upgraded because the bedroom was separate. It was 3308 - fabulous view w/a perfect private screened veranda. Incredible! I can only thank Nicola Reid from Reservations for helping me obtain this last minute room. She was great.

Hemmingways had excellent cuisine as remembered. Service was extremely friendly and professional. Prices for meals were in line w/higher priced NYC fare or any high-end hotel. We ate almost all meals here - service was leisurely (I would not say slow - the staff is extremely attentive, but you are on vacation). Our only sticker shock was with drinks which were much higher than any other Caribbean Island I can remember! No happy hour at this resort -- however, the Tuesday Manager's Cocktail Party was lovely. When you take a walk -- check out some of the other oceanfront restaurants/bars on the beach. We would stop @ Somewhere at Coral Gardens for a refreshing drink for the walk back from the reef. On that note, I should mention that the on-site shop did have a limited array of snacks and beverages. We chose to buy our wine and cheese here -- it was higher in price; however, not so bad considering that we chose to do this for convenience. However, the hotel offers a $9/round trip pp to the local supermarket at 9am and 6:30pm where they will let you shop for 45 minutes. Looking back, we would have definitely given up an hour to stock up on some convenient snacks.

It is such a wonderful low-key place to go. You can literally walk for miles; which we did! It is the perfect size and the level of service is so top notch. Even when we checked out and used the "locker room" facilities to get ready - those facilities were gorgeous -- so spotless! Made the end of our stay just as we walked in -- perfect!

Thanks to all at the Sands personnel who work so hard to create such a beautiful environment. You succeeded!

Room Tip: Building 3 is the closest to the ocean. I believe it has all room choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 100moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed in an oceanfront 3 bedroom suite during February school vacation week. We have previously stayed at Ocean Club West several times and (more distantly) Coral Gardens and Allegro. There were 3 adults and 2 kids aged 5 and 7.

Loved: Beach was not at all crowded; there is no hotel directly on the left (facing the ocean), and only 2 rows of sunbeds. 3 Hobie cats, an ocean kayak, a windsurfer, and a paddleboard available for free. Staff were helpful and pleasant, especially the ones on the beach. Kitchen was better equipped than other hotels with good quality pots, toaster, panini press, blender, coffee machine, stove/oven, microwave, dishwasher. Pools were very well-maintained. Towels were copiously available. Room cleaning was effective and efficient.

Didn't like: 3 bed suite is 2 bedrooms and the tiny sitting room of the back room - the 3rd bed is a sofabed - it was honestly described online but disappointingly cramped. Mattresses were pretty awful. Hemingways restaurant food was enormous and boring. The live music played at Hemingways was extremely loud until 9pm and once until 10pm, and the oceanfront rooms face it. Shower in the en suite was useless, more like a mister.

How does it compare to OCW? The Sands has the emptiness of the beach, the helpfulness of the staff, the readily available catamarans, and the kitchen (we cook most meals). The OCW has 3 beds in a 3 bed suite, rooms are more spacious, better room locations of the oceanfront rooms being further away from the Seaside Cafe, the food at the Seaside Cafe was better, and there were 2 grills for guest use.

Great vacation and no bad weather days! Provo remains my favorite destination :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MLS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands_Managment, Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear MLS99,

We appreciate your feedback and kind remarks about our friendly and helpful staff. We will certainly share your remarks with all of them.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the staff, beach, pool, en-suite kitchen and housekeeping services during your stay.

We were sorry to see that the mattress and shower was not to your liking and hope that you will email us and let us know what room you were in so that we may review it and take any necessary measures. Also, we have shared your comments regarding Hemingway’s Restaurant with the appropriate leaders so that we may have the opportunity to take any corrective action.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Providenciales in the near future.

Sincerely,
Raymond Yip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua NH
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I was hoping to give the Sands a glowing review, but unfortunately you may find your experience to be mixed. This was our second trip to Provo, and arrived 2/23/2012, having booked an ocean view room.

Checkin was slow but smooth, and the front desk staff was courteous and offered us a delicious rum punch, which was a nice touch. It was 2pm, but we were told our room was not yet ready. We found the guest lounge and were able to change and use the facility until our room was ready later in the afternoon.

Our room was the first disappointment. We were given room 1106, which was the first floor of the building to the far rear of the resort. We had a distant view of the ocean, which was OK, but our primary view was a road and parking area. This road serves a public beach and had a number of cars parked, people walking and kids playing. We have never been to a resort where we felt like our room was an afterthought, not part of the main resort, and with a road. Based on the noise, I returned to the front desk and was told that the resort was fully booked. The representative then checked with the hotel manager, who did not come out to see me, but relayed the message that there was nothing to be done. Fortunately, as the week went by, the amount of traffic and noise declined, but be wary. Building 1 may not be the best choice if you book here. On the other hand, you will have no noise from the resort, because you are facing away from it.

The room was spacious, housekeeping was fine, but the amenities are a bit outdated. A 14inch TV? Safe to small to hold a laptop or iPad. Again, not a big deal. . What the Sands did get right however is WIFI, at no cost, everywhere on the property, right down to the beach, and no hassles to login. This is what every hotel should do.

The grounds are kept in top shape, and the beach is great, and we found the beach staff very helpful in setting up chairs and umbrellas. It would be nice if the Sands added some real stand up paddleboards (SUP) to the beach toys, as was found at all the other hotels on Grace Bay. Instead, they are using two yellow thin kayaks, which are a poor substitute. It's a perfect place to SUP, so I'm not sure why this is overlooked.

Hemingway's, which is the property restaurant should be avoided. While the food, once it arrived was tasty, the staff was inattentive, uncaring and was painfully slow, even by island standards. 90 minutes for breakfast? We tried once for lunch and twice for breakfast and simply gave up. Once your food is delivered, nobody checks, and you may have to go find your waitress to ask for a check. There are far better options. Simply walk onto the beach to the left, and Bay Bistro offers a better breakfast, for less money, with better service.

All of this said, we enjoyed our vacation very much, but I'm not sure I would book this property again. There were many many positives, but just a few important negatives that must be addressed. There are many choices now on the island as compared to our first visit in 2004.

Room Tip: Be careful if you are booked into building 1, this is on a road to a public beach, and you may not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank surfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands_Managment, Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Surfun,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. We were delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and found your room spacious, grounds in top shape and the beach staff attentive. We will share your feedback with the entire staff.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room location. Unfortunately, it is true that during this busy time of your stay we were left no flexibility to move your location from the ground floor though many times this is preferred building because it is a very nice forward facing ocean view building.

Indeed, we do have new stand-up paddle boards which are designed to make it easy for all skill levels. Higher-end SUP can be rented at various outlets around the island for about $25 per hour.

Regarding Hemingway’s Restaurant, your experiences were shared with the appropriate leaders so that we may have the opportunity to take any corrective actions to better serve our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as our
guest once again in the future.

Sincerely,

Raymond Yip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Sands at Grace Bay at the beginning of February. We stayed in a garden view studio room on the 2nd floor in building 6 (which is the farthest building from the beach). We really liked the location of our room. The resort is small, so despite being the farthest building from the beach, it was only a one-minute (or so) walk. The resort is made up by 6-7 buildings making a U-shape around a series of swimming pools connected by streams. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well-kept. Each room had a screened balcony with a couple of armchairs and a little table. When not at the beach, we sat there eating/drinking, watching people going to and from the beach. Check-in and check-out were easy, no problems. There’s a shuttle that took us from the airport to the hotel and back for $11 per person per trip, no reservation required. Room was cleaned/tidied up daily. Our room had a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, plates and silverware, which we used quite a bit. TV seemed to have the regular channels. The beach was pretty and clean. Plenty of chairs were available. People would call in to have chairs and umbrellas set up for them, but it definitely was not necessary to call ahead and we never did. Beach towels were always available. Everybody at the resort was genuinely nice to us: smiles, helpful, no attitude. Their on-site restaurant, Hemmingway’s, cooks good food. We ate there for breakfast, lunch and dinner or took food to our room. The resort is a bit far to walk (although we did) to the supermarket and some other restaurants, but they have bikes you can take (free), and that way it’s only a 7-10 minute trip (and it’s fun to ride a bike). There were quite a bit of families with little kids, but it was not at all bothersome. There seemed to be an even mix of young and older couples and families with kids. Overall, it was a lovely trip, a very accommodating property with pretty grounds and good amenities (hammocks, hospitality lounge). We would return here again and definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Romashka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peapack-Gladstone, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We returned from a great week in Providenciales on Saturday. On our last visit to the island we decided we would try the Sands on our next visit since we dined at Hemingways multiple times during our stay. We didn't get off to a good start upon arriving to find that our reservation requests were not met in the least. My husband gave me this trip for Christmas and had called several times to confirm our ocean view room would be second floor or above. Each time he spoke with a reservationist he was assured that his request was noted and would be met. (He actually watched as our previous room number was marked through to write the new room # but told there was nothing that could be done.) Well, it was not...we were on the first floor of building 4 and to say it was oceanview is a stretch!!! It is hard to highly recommend a resort that does not keep their word. There are plenty of other wonderful resorts on the island and we will be going back to another favorite next time. The grounds and rooms are very nice for the price point and overall everyone is very accommodating and friendly. It's just hard to want to go back to a place that doesn't value client relations. But we will be back to Providenciales for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blueH20lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands_Managment, Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We do our best to accommodate reservations requests. I apologize if we were unable to get you into a second floor room. Our hotel policy is we never guarantee buildings, floors or room numbers.

I am glad you saw the value at our price point and enjoyed the other aspects of your stay. We strive to provide the best hospitality possible and hope you can understand why we are not able to accommodate everyone's requests, especially in high season.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as a guests in the future.

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I spend last week at the Sands hoping to get some rest and relaxation. Unfortunately, due to the high number of children EVERYWHERE, we had a hard time finding some quiet places to read or just chill out. The beaches were great, but it was very difficult getting an umbrella and beach chairs until late afternoon (we worked out each morning so got out to the beach around 11 or so), and so we settled for the kid-filled pools instead. The number of unsupervised children was ridiculous, there were children in the hot tub all the time, even when the management put up an additional sign which read that children were NOT allowed in the hot tub. Either the children would be in there (again unsupervised) or their parents would bring them in (really, are you kidding me?). I think my husband and I will be looking for a more adult-only resort the next time we come to Turks. Being woken up by a crying baby EVERY morning at 4:30 am is not my idea of relaxation. The best day we had was spent on a snorkeling trip (no kids!), and out in the restaurants at night (no kids!). The weather was beautiful every day, and our room was just fine (we had second floor studio with small balcony, kitchenette, washer/dryer). I did have to request the floor be cleaned the first day as it seemed rather dirty to me. They were very accommodating and we had no issues with cleanliness the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EKJCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands_Managment, General Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear EKJCt,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at The Sands. We appreciate your comments and will share them appropriately with our managers and staff.

We are sorry to learn the number of children in and around the resort affected your stay. Indeed, we are a family friendly resort and welcome all guests. We realize there was an issue with children inside the hot tub with and without their parents. We tried our best to be watchful of this, unfortunately even with clearly posted signs and warnings it was challenging to control at all times. As such, we are in the process of enclosing the hot tub area, and will be making it an adult’s only area in the immediate future.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Providenciales in the future.

Sincerely,
Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,973 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#22 of 44 in Providenciales
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Property: The Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing