We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sands for 8 nights in mid-December in a one bedroom garden view. We were upgraded from a gardenview studio so I was thrilled when we were shown into our spacious corner unit. Now we won't be able to book a gardenview studio when we go back. And we ARE going back. After travelling to many places and to some of the world's best beaches we found everything we've looked for in one spot - and close to home too, well only a few short hours away. Here's a list of the pros and cons of staying at the Sands, which as you can see from our 5 star rating, there's not much to complain about!

Things we loved:

Accommodation
. Large screened-in patio, loads of room, had breakfast there every morning.
. Bathroom just redone, great shower, nice toiletries.
. Great kitchen with everything you need.
. TV in bedroom as well as living room.
. Washer and dryer.

Grounds
. Beautifully landscaped and looked after.
. Pools weren't too cold to swim in.

Beach
. Is there any beach better than this anywhere??!! Rainbows to the right almost every day, stunning sunsets to the left, white sand, turquoise water, a picture everywhere.
. Lots of palapas to choose from and at this time of year not much of a problem to find a vacant one. The odd time they were full staff would set up a couple of beach chairs and umbrella for you (tipping not mandatory but appreciated).

Restaurant
. Hemingway's - fish tacos, deep fried ice cream, etc., etc. - fantastic spot to sit and eat, drink or listen to music and you don't even have to leave the resort.
. Great to have beach service for drinks or lunch when you just can't turn your back on that turquoise view in front of you.

Staff
. Friendly and helpful staff on the front desk - thank you in particular to Priscilla!

Manager's cocktail reception
. Weekly reception makes a wonderful lead-up to dinner with appetizers, beer and rum punch - and a nice touch to have the Manager walk around with staff to introduce themselves to guests.

General
. Close enough to walk to lots of other beachfront restaurants as well as The Saltmills and Ports of Call shopping areas and Graceway Gourmet (as long as you didn't have too many groceries to carry back)

Potential cons:

Accommodation
. Loud noise from people walking overhead on the tile floors - this only happened a few times during the week but could be annoying if it happened more frequently.
. Noises from adjacent unit - we could hear the blow dryer in the bathroom next door - soundproofing could be better.

Those were the only 2 negatives the entire week and they wouldn't be enough to dissuade us from staying here again. Sooooo many positives to outweigh these.

During our stay we ate at Hemingway's, Bay Bistro, Somewhere on the Beach, Danny Buoy's, Las Brisas, Da Conch Shack, Sharkbite - I'll do reviews in the next couple of days.

Room Tip: Not sure I'd want to stay in a courtyard studio. While a few of the locations looked all right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bluewater_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    668
    133
    51
    38
See reviews for
531
810
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

From the front entrance way throughout the entire resort we were so very impressed with the courtesy of the staff at this resort! The rooms, the gardens and the beach areas were impeccably clean and well maintained our entire 10 days. We saw some of the best natural scenery the earth has to offer right from the beach! The complimentary sail boats, kayaks and clean beach towels were offered daily! The view was spectacular! The water was awesome. The cool white powder sand is amazing. Having the options to ride bicycles or walk to the town shops and grocery store was an added plus! The mellow atmoshere was an added bonus for us!
We would consider returning to this location every year as our vacation destination!

Room Tip: Having a second level room was more private and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My sister and I came here for a getaway: 4 night stay.We had never been to the Sands, let alone the island itself, so we were looking forward to the experience.

We had a marvelous time -facilities were topnotch, beach was not only extremely beautiful but also extremely clean. We ate at Hemingway's there and were very pleased: lunch is available till 6pm and is very reasonably priced. We had the grouper sandwich and mango shrimp and can highly recommend both!

We were also extremely pleased with our room: a courtyard suite complete with stackable washer and dryer, mini fridge and microwave, along with a small sink in the kitchen. We loved the veranda we had off our room; looked out over the grounds, which were impeccably maintained.

Would love to return and would highly recommend the Sands!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a place for a larger group, there looked to be some really nice rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnut0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I was a little suspect with some of these reviews here on this site. But as I found everyone was great and helpful and always greeting me with a smile. The location is the best and walking distance to great snorkeling and great shopping and dining. Our room was on the small side but we never really spent any real time there but only to sleep. But it was a one bedroom with a remodeled bath in building 3 only building with an elevator. This hotel has everything you need, restaurant, gorgeous beach, water sports, excursion desk, pools, bar, jacuzzi, and an awesome happy hour with complimentary finger foods and drinks. Another thing the grounds are very well kept up.....Overall I would recommend this place to families or couples there weren't that many kids when we were there but there is numerous pools.

Room Tip: I think a ocean view is the way to go but we were always on the beach so if you like to stay in a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank otalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This is our fifth or sixth trip here and we've already booked our may trip. The beach is clean with white sand. He water is crystal clear the people who work here are nice and remember you each time you come. Great bang for the buck! If you're looking for fancy, then look at other hotels. Hemingways is the restaurant on the property and its very good. Also, excellent restaurants within walking distance. If you're looking for nightlife, go to Aruba because Turks & Caicos is tranquil

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbiwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Sands. This was our second time in Provo, the first being just a quick overnight after a trip to Ambergris Caye.

We were looking for a hotel/resort in a prime spot on Grace Bay, but not something over the top, Miami-resort style. The Sands turned out to be a great place for just that. Located literally in the middle of Grace Bay, we were able to walk to all other resorts to dine (as far down as the Gansevoort) and bike to Turtle Cove to snorkel Smith's Reef.

We stayed in a Gardenview Studio on the ground floor. There are 6 buildings, no more than three stories each. The Studios were ok, but would probably book an oceanview or oceanfront the next time. The reason I chose a Gardenview over Oceanview was bed size. Gardenview rooms come with a King Bed, while the Oceanview rooms have Queens. Our room did have one chipped floor tile, but everything else was fine. The bathrooms have all been recently renovated as well, and our studio came with a washer/dryer.

The beachfront area at the Sands was really, really great, and larger than many of the other resorts on the island.. No rocks, and enough space to spread out under the built-in thatch roofed palapas.

The restaurant/bar on-property, Hemingway's, was a pretty good spot, and one of the few directly on the beach. They have TVs above the bar area and even carried the Thursday night NFL game. We did, however, find breakfast to be much better next door at the Bay Bistro (a minute walk down the beach).

One gripe...the shady bike guy. The hotel provides bikes to all guests, however, it's on a first-come, first-serve basis. One morning, by 9am, we approached the concierge desk/front desk and asked to take out two bikes. They summoned this guy - who told us he might have them - but we had to take them now or they might be gone. We had to drop our bags at our room then we were ready to go. He again stressed they might be gone in 2 minutes if we weren't back (can't hold them for 2 minutes??). We dropped our bags, came back to the main reception area, and waited another few minutes. We finally inquired and they told us to just go to the side of the buildling and find them. We did, and there were two adults bikes and one child's bike. Both adult bikes had almost flat tires. The bike guy was nowhere to be found. We took our chances and biked down to Turtle Cove, and thankfully two really nice guys asked if we needed air and filled us up. It would be nice for the resort to provide bikes with the air properly filled.

The gardens, grounds and the pools were very nice and well-kept.

Room Tip: Ask for a building closer to the ocean, and be sure to find out bed size before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

One of the most beautiful beaches in the world. At least in our experience, this particular resort is more suitable for couples and younger families with small children. But perfect for my husband and me. The suites are beautifully appointed and we lucked out with a corner suite overlooking the ocean. Screened in wrap around porch had comfy wicker furniture. The staff are very welcoming, helpful and professional. Having a great onsite restaurant is a big plus if you don't want to cook. If you do, take jitney to local grocery store, $9 per person, lovely time. As for airport when departing, spend any waiting time on the sky deck. No kids allowed however, but less crowded and you can have a cocktail while you wait. Bon voyage.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room facing ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveacorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#18 of 45 in Providenciales
1,673 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
992 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing