We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at The Sands. The location was perfect situated on a beautiful white sand beach with empty space on either side of the hotel. This was unusual since most of the other hotels were crammed in next to each other. The grounds were magnificent with three swimming pools, a jucuzzi, tennis courts and a restaurant (Hemingways). The restaurant was great for breakfast, lunch and bar drinks. The dinner food was average. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious with a sleeping area with a comfortable firm bed and soft feather pillows, a large sitting area with a sofa, chairs and flat screen TV, a bathroom (unfortunately the water pressure in the shower was terrible and I would have appreciated a make-up mirror), and we especially enjoyed the large screened-in patio. We reserved a studio with a graden view and were delighted to discover that we had a fabulous unobstructed view of the ocean. The views were best from the third floor but there is no elevator so be prepared to walk up three flights of stairs. The hotel included free water sports and we spent a day sailing on a hobbie craft and another day snorkeling at coral gardens (a thrity minute walk down the beach) The room had a cofee maker with complimentary coffee, a refrigerator, complimentary bottled water, a microwave and even a clothes washer and dryer (which we never used).. Unfortunately, our front door faced the east and the sun came in at 6:00 a.m. and woke us up. The staff brought us a black out shade which we hung over the door which helped eliminate the glare. We rented a car for a day but there is very lttle to see on the island. There is virtually no night life except for two small casinos. We had two gourmet meals at Coco Bistro and at Grace Cottage. The other restaurants were disappointing at best. My husband enjoyed eating at the Conch Shack but I'm not a fan of fried food. We loved our week at Turks and Caicos and hope to return to The Sands for another vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
There are newer reviews for The Sands at Grace Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2008

We were looking for a laid back island with a great beach to renew our vows for our 10 year anniversary. Travelled with 5 yr old boy and almost 9 yr girl from Boston. FIrst time to T & C -

Had a horrible blotched vow renewal on the beach on Friday night which compromised the rest of the trip. The concierge, Jason, is TERRIBLE and basically incompetent. Started planning this ceremony with him in Jan. Can you say no cake, no flowers, no beach set up, no champagne, not the correct names, AND no inclusion of our requested poem AND a pastor who was clueless about who we are. Enough said - if you want the really gory details of incompetence PM me.

Suite - Oceanview 1 bedroom - building 6 - the rooms are quite lovely and come fully equiped, great screened porches. However I would not recommend building 6 - we had a constant stream of employees talking and the dumpster being emptied, not a great location.

After our not so nice ceremony, we were moved to 3206, a premium oceanfront room... it was amazing though a little too late. The room had a screen porch appr. 3 times larger than our last one and overlooked the pool area and ocean. If you could spring for this room - it is well worth the extra $.

Car - I would highly recommend renting a car - we used Grace Bay Rentals and while pleasant enough we had our share of problems... Paul was 40 minutes late at the airport to meet us, because of a broken down car - wonder if it was ours since our then broke down the next night. Island is easy to get around and driving was not as hard as we expected.

The Beach - Color is AMAZING, it exceeded our expectations!The first few days the water was rough and had an undertow. Day 4 we woke up to a big bathtub of a sea. Calm, warm and beautiful.

Staff - With the exception of Jason, we found the staff to be very, very friendly, always a hello and smile, the front desk was especially good ...Roselaurie wonderful! Went out of their way to help!

Pool and extras - Loved the pool area - 1st day we were the only family at the resort...kids loved doing the canal tour ( following the canals around. Plenty of floats, good snorkling equipment, always gota chair whether it was beach or pool side. Great service from bar.

Hemmingways - Thought the restaurant was very good, had a breakfast, lunch, dinner and many take-out from here to eat on our porch - this way we did not have to deal with kids having to sit and behave all the time, also saved $ because we had drinks at the room. The grilled caesar and fish and chips were very good.

Other restaurants -
Dinner at Tiki Hut - Wed. chicken and rib night - Fun place, but the food was dry and not very good. Kid's pizza was very good.

Dinner at Bay Bistro - average food though nice setting, kids meals outrageous! $12 a plate of spaghetti and $4.50 for milk

Breakfast at Saltmills Cafe - very fun and great wait staff, slow

Dinner at Caicos Cafe - Fabulous! By far our best meal, sad we didn't get back there for another meal

Lunch at Da Conch Shack - Great staff ( at least our guy was the others looked pretty sullen) great location, good food, missed the live music night our car broke down - would have been a fun night out.

Dinner at Coco Bistro - Loved the setting, food okay

Trip Highlights -

Booked a half day sail trip with Capt Tim and the Beluga - what a wonderful day!! Highly recommend

Photo session with Tropical Imaging on the beach at sunset - great photos, highly professional and fun.

Semi-Submarine Tour - out of turtle bay - kind of expensive but a great way to see the reef - enjoyable

Nissi House - had contacted the island's only orphanage and brought a suticase full of donations. Nice visit.

Snorkling - fun, easy and highly recommend.

All and all it is a beautiful island and while the Sands had a lot going for it, the front desk concierge services was so bad that it basically ruined the trip for us. We were not the only ones complaining about his lack of service. We will be back to the island though probably not to the Sands.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank musicmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We chose to visit Turks and Caicos because of the direct flight available from New York. We brought our 2 year old son with us and wanted to visit an island with calm waters so that he could enjoy the ocean. Our vacation was perfect. We stayed in a Studio Garden View suite. The only annoying thing was that some of the rooms are still being renovated so you heard all the workers arriving early in the morning, sometimes talking right outside your door, playing music, or whatever. Other than that, the resort was great. Our rooms were clean and nicely updated. We had a small kitchen sink, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and refrigerator. I was able to make my son breakfast every morning in the room which made things a lot easier. The restaurant "Hemingways" was good......nothing extraordinary, pretty basic menu items. We didn't travel to any other restaurants because food was pretty expensive and we didn't want to add to our bill with a $30 cab ride each way. Depending on how far you go, it's about $10 per person to take a taxi. We stayed a week and ended up spending about $1000 on food for the 3 of us. We didn't order anything crazy and even split our meals with our son to save money and still ended up spending that much. It would have been a good idea to take a taxi to the supermarket just a few minutes away to get basics for breakfast and lunch. The staff at The Sands and also at Hemingways were all very friendly and eager to please. The beach was incredible. Soft white sand and blue blue water with barely any waves at all. We floated on rafts in the ocean for hours at a time. The beach was never crowded and we were always able to secure an umbrella and table. They had plenty of sand toys for the kids, rafts, scuba gear, all kinds of things for the beach and pool. We plan to visit Turks and Caicos again, it was a great family vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MMarotta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

I just spent 5 days at the Sands last week with my wife and 8 month old baby. Let me begin by saying the room we had (Studio Garden View) was excellent. The room had a microwave, refrigerator and washer and dryer. This was great since we had the baby. The room was very clean and everything was well decorated. The resort itself has 3 pools and the onsite Hemingway's restaurant. The restaurant is great, the food is awesome and the waiters are so attentive and very nice. We ate there many times during our stay. They also attend the beach area and you can order lunch or drinks while relaxing in the beach. The prices in the restaurant are very fair when you compare it to the rest of the island. My wife and I loved the food in the island in general. Very gourmet and good menu selections, just very pricey.

Back to the hotel, every night they leave you 2 bottles of water which come handy the next day by the beach.

Problems encountered:

Water in the room smelled burnt and one night it was brown. We ran out of paper towels in the room and after speaking to housekeeping and the front desk, I never got it.

Overall this resort is a good option and very well kept. I would definately come back to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jrtl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

First vist to Turks & Caicos. The weather was perfect, the ocean is beautiful. Would love to visit again. However, I would not recomment The Sands at Grace Bay. We had a 2 bedroom condo "ocean view". First off, the condo actually faces the garden/pool area - the only view of the ocean is to walk out to the screened in porch, turn side ways and you see a glimps of the ocean. Each bedroom had it's own bath tub, shower etc.
The master bath tub would not drain nor would the bathroom sink drain. We had to pry the drains open with a knife. As the bath tub filled - the water was extremely dirty. We had to also ask for a refill on moisturizer and shampoo(after $10.00 tip per day, you would think that would be automatic). Our condo had a guest book to jot a little note about our stay. We found it very interesting that someone had checked out of that condo 1 1/2 hours before we checked in............ We were also charge $43.50 +tax on our final bill for Maid Service?????????
Some of the staff could have been a little friendlier. Friends of ours stayed at the Alexandra hotel - the learned Salsa dances, had other games/interactions with the staff - The sands did not have any games/interactions).
We would love to visit Turks & Caicos again - but would not stay at the Sands.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Traveling050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Sands from 4/23-5/3. The place is lovely and our room was great (especially loved the screened in porch). The Sands however was not for us. We are childless and in our early 50's. We found many more children (mostly preschoolers) than we had anticipated. Whenever we went to use the pools, all we could hear was squalling and squealing. Fortunately there were not too many on the beach, but unfortunately the wind was very high and the water was fairly rough, which did not make it conducive to spending much time there. We rented a car and went to several other beaches on the island which we found much quieter than Grace Bay.
The staff at the Sands was friendly when we made overtures, but they are not terribly efficient. Items we needed in our room had to be requested more than once and getting information out of anyone was strangely difficult. Why does no one at the resort or in their documentation mention there is an ice machine in the Spa area? We ate lunch at Hemingways the first day and like others found it very average so did not go back.
We did the Glow Worm tour with Silver Deep. Though interesting, the "captain" got us stuck on a sand bar for two hours! We had to be towed by another boat. The worst part was the "captain" (and I really don't believe he deserves that title) never once said a word to the passengers - he just revved the engine the whole time. There were little kids on board who were afraid and crying.
We also did the Island Getaway with J&B tours - it was okay, but not worth the money. The Native Cruise was better (also with J&B) but again because of the rough water the snokeling wasn't much fun.
All in all an okay trip but we won't be back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosiesmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

My family and I stayed at the Sands at Grace Bay for 5 nights in January 2008. The hotel was great, beautiful open lobby, tennis courts, convenience shop, and pools. We got a 2 bedroom room, it had a kitchen, dining table, living room, and 2 seperate bathrooms each with their own bath. Basically the rooms are like condos for people who own time shares. We took a taxi to the IGA the first day and bought food. Oh my god, super EXPENSIVE. Everything is imported and gasoline there is around $5 or $6 a gallon so everything is expensive, but taking a trip to the supermarket and cooking breakfast and lunch for ourselves each day really did save us a lot of money.

The beach is beautiful, not crowded like Beaches and there weren't a ton of people or children around so you could really relax. You could walk the beach for hours, and I did on a few occasions, checking out the other hotels as I walked along. All the beaches are public so you can swim/hang out wherever you like. The sand is pure white and clean as can be (which makes shells hard to find if thats what you're looking for). The water was great too but a little chilly and a little churned up from the weather. We took a couple excursions which you MUST do, they were fabulous, and you could really see how beautifully clear the water is when you were out a little further or in a cove.

My only problems with the vacation was the weather, which was still a little chilly for me (in the 60s-70s), and the somewhat lack of nightlife. I would definitely 100% go back though, but I would probably go in June or July when the water is supposed to be warmer and clearer.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NYMets57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,984 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#22 of 44 in Providenciales
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £162 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing