We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value on Grace Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just back from week at Sands. Got a great deal on Jetsetter for 2BR Oceanview. Check in was quick and they honored our request for gound floor. We were initially disappointed that we were in building one but had a great full view of the ocean and very convenient parking right at our door. Room was very clean and any request was addressed quickly. We traveled with my sister and BIL and our dauhter. We requested rooms to each have king beds but the second room had twins. They made into king and very comfortably added an eggshell to avoid the issue with the split. They also provided eggshell for the sofabed which made it more comfortable for our daughter.

The service in reception and the beach were very prompt and friendly. Never a problem getting umbrellas at the beach even if we arrived mid day. They always seemed to have more umbrellas and chairs to set up and did so without being asked.

Never ate at Hemingways but did enjoy drinks from their bar. Did not use the water sports items but others seemed to enjoy them daily.

This was our second trip to Turks and would definitely recommend The Sands as a great value located on the best stretch of a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandlwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent the most wonderful 5 days over Thanksgiving at the Sands Resort on Grace Bay. The Sands was recommended by a friend that is familiar with the island, and we are so glad we chose it. The hotel itself is lovely, located on beautiful Grace Bay beach. Their location is a bit better I'd day than others like the Seven Stars, because the reef a ways out keeps the waves nice and gentle by the Sands, Sibonne area. The sand on the beach was especially clean and soft, almost like flour in most spots. Grace Bay Beach was listed as #3 of the top 100 beaches by CNN travel, and I can see why.

There was a small hiccup with our room checking in (we had requested 2nd or 3rd floor, and were given ground floor) but Ri-Ann was particularly helpful and we were quickly upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite away from the restaurant with less traffic (still on the ground floor, but it was a great quiet location). Our room had a lovely screened in porch where we ate breakfast every morning, and a kitchenette with microwave, mini-refrigerator and sink with dishes, etc. It also had a washer /dryer which was nice.

The hotel is very clean and beautiful. The pools sparkle in the sunlight and there was always available chairs with towels on them. The beach always had a shade area available.

Hemingways (restaurant) is pretty good, but service is on island time if you know what I mean.

The hotel service (cleaning and beach staff, as well as concierge) were always super friendly and helpful. They even have a taxi service that for $12 each you can go to the grocery store and get supplies. Their manager's party on Tuesday nights was a pleasant surprise with appetizers and free drinks.

We enjoyed their free offerings of use of their bikes, catamaran, their kayak, and their snorkeling equipment, and also just walked the gorgeous beach. We also enjoyed Paradise Scooters wonderful tour of the island and Spa Tropique's massages.

Many of the hotels have great restaurants- I would call out the Mango Reef as the best ! We walked on the beach to many other hotels for dinner, but the Mango Reef was to die for. Best meal we had on the island, and maybe over the past 10 years anywhere! Mr. Groupers, a local owned restaurant was also a wonderful spot.

We adored the Sands and can't wait to go back. Wish we were there now- as it's snowing here today, and I keep staring at our wonderful pictures of our trip to try to keep warm!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to Room 2104 and it was lovely! I was so grateful to Ri-Ann for helping that I trie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were very pleased with the Sands. It was a great location and an excellent value for the price. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The shuttle to the grocery store was great and the bicycles were a plus for trips into town. My husband was on the hobie cat each day. Hemingway's was so convenient and the food was exceptional. The manager's reception Tuesday night was such a nice surprise. The resort had everything we needed and more.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChaZeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Coming from San Francisco, a 12 hour flight one way and a 15 hour the other way is brutal. But we decided to spend an entire week during Thanksgiving and check out this paradise I had heard so much about and it was our 7 year anniversary. So i booked us an ocean view room at the Sands based on the description on the website and Expedia. The description said 'view of ocean'. if i had wanted partial ocean view I would have booked that. We unfortunately ended up with a partial ocean view :)

The reservation manager at the Sands was very helpful, gave us a bottle of wine for our anniversary, tried to switch our rooms when we arrived but had no availability. I would recommend Sands change the description on the website so it's not so misleading because trust me I would have booked an actual ocean view whatever that means in the same property - or elsewhere.

The Sands is a good property even though it does not have a whole lot of ocean view rooms, It is more condo style and an older property, so the furniture etc isn't modern exactly. It's clean, comfortable (Although for the first time in many years my neck ached from sleeping on the super thick pillow), just don't expect luxury and you'll be well prepared. For us, we found it quiet, it was never too full and we loved that. There is no problem getting beach chairs which is amazing. If the existing beach chairs are full, the staff sets you up with the green umbrellas and chairs so you're all set.

The hobbie cat, kayak and paddleboard are all included so it's awesome.

The restaurant, Hemingways, is very average. We loved Alexandra, Bay Bistro, Mr. Grouper, and the local Fish Fry on Thursday night - I basically ate fish for lunch/dinner the entire week because it was so good. At Alexandra you can sit right on the beach and have dinner - it's just divine.

There was a beach party one evening at the Sommerset hotel on the beach and we danced the night away under the stars - it was incredible. I didn't see that happen again however. So maybe it's only once a week?

From what I could see this November, The Sands, Sommerset, the hotel that houses the Bay Bistro right next to the Sands and Alexandra have a great stretch of beach. If you go toward 7 Stars resort the beach was more wavy, more rough (not protected by the reefs anymore as you can see the lack of a reef break so the boats can enter in and out) and more commercial as you have the big 7 stars resort, Club Med etc on that side.

The beach is stunning in front of Sands - the water is clear and calm on some days depending on weather. We had only one day where the water was a little rough and it kept pulling us in - a lot of people remarked about how this day was a bit scary for them in the water. But the rest of the days were just calm and stunning. At some points in the day you feel like you're on a pristine stretch of beach with no one around you.....so it never felt busy.

I would return to the Sands knowing what i know now. If you want a proper ocean view, book it in building 3 and there are about 6 rooms that give you that full view.

What i don't understand is why they would construct a hammock area somewhere near a parking lot in the back of the property. We never tried the pool either - it looked small and not too inviting (I'm referring to infinity pools in Mexico that are gorgeous) but who cares about the pool when you have a stunning ocean that's calm to enjoy in :)

This property also has screened porches - i did detect mosquitos at night on the beach - so perhaps the screen is not a bad idea. It did not bother us or detract from our experience.

Yes I have experienced much better resorts, grounds designed very well etc in other islands but if you know what you are getting, this is a great place to be. We enjoyed ourselves and did not let anything detract us from having a fabulous time, not even the towel guy who once told us in response to our multiple queries for two towels (after spending an hour in the water): ''the towels are not back yet from laundry..what do you want me to do...go to the laundry and get them myself?" Eh....it's island life. Relax and let go of the small things and you'll have a great time.

Room Tip: Building 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank undefinedpreethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I just returned from 6 nights with my family over Thanksgiving at the Sands. We were a group of 6 - my parents, my husband and 2 brothers (25 and 22). We loved the Turks and Caicos and the Sands.
We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom suites; however the 3rd bedroom is just a pullout couch. We were led to believe that it was a regular bed so this led to frustration and a lack of customer satisfaction. We made it work for the week (1 brother in the pullout in the 3rd bedroom and another brother in the family room on a pullout) but make sure to check when booking.
Now to all the positives...everything was clean. Well equpped kitchen - we cooked in 3 nights and it had everything we needed. Great pools, 1 jacuzzi, although not all the jets were working but it was clean and big. The beach is beautiful and well -equipped. We used the paddle board several times (there is only 1). We used the snorkel gear and walked about a mile to Coral Gardens to snorkel.They have a nice tennis court - make sure to bring balls because they only had 1 to give us to play with. The bikes to get into town were great to have and its easy to bike to the Gourmet Market. Although, only 1 bike had a basket.
We did a fishing trip on Wednesday with Shoreline Adventures (Kerry and Cajun). This was fantastic!!! They picked us up on the beach in front of the sands in the boat. We did a half day trip and they took us to a great spot. We caught 6 fish (grouper. parrot fish). We saw a shark. Cajun filleted the fish for us on the boat and then Hemingway's cooked it up for us and we ate it back in our hotel room. Definitely check them out - it was terrific! Also, look for Morley - one of the guys walking the beach - he lined us up with them and was very helpful during our trip.
The manager's party on Tuesday was super fun - make sure to check that out. Lots of rum punch.
If you are looking for a pool bar, go to the Alexandria. It had tasty drinks and we had it all to ourselves.
If you are younger, there isn't much nightlife. We went to Danny Buoy's one night to watch the football games and hung out with some locals. And then Thanksgiving night we went back to Danny Buoy's again and we met some locals who took us out to the happening spot on Thursday nights. Everyone on the island is so nice and friendly. The people of the Turks and Caicos really made the trip!
Beer is expensive on the island. The local beer was $10 for a 6 packs of cans. Other beers were $16-20 for a 6 pack. We also went to the Duty Free in Philly and stocked on hard alcohol for the week.
The location of the Sands is perfect - there are no other resorts right on top of it. You aren't near the Beaches resort which is crowded and full of kids. And you have an easy walk to the Salt Mills.
This was a fantastic vacation! The only negative was the bed situation. We all agreed we would definitely come back!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor with an ocean view (not ocean front). It was great because we could wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked two weeks at the Sands for a family vacation, and got a two bedroom unit. Nice and roomy in the common area although the dining table was a little cramped with 5 (and one at the counter-top on a barstool). No views from our place really to speak of, but the screened porches are large and comfortable and great for reading in the evening and later...something generally not done in the tropics from the bugs, but the screens kept most of them away.

The resort itself is in a good position on Grace Bay, not too far away is the gigantic Beaches, but we were far enough away that we didn't get over-shadowed, and the neighboring resorts were quiet and far enough away that we felt as if our beach really was "our" beach and the only other traffic were the beach-walkers passing by in twos and threes or the odd jogger (probably staying at Ganesvoort).

The Sands has rickety bicycles that will easily make the trip up and back to the fancy store so there's no real need to take the $10 shuttle for the same trip. The fancy store looks more like an Andronicos (for you west coasters) than a typical Caribbean shop -and you can get just about anything you'd want while "roughing it" in Turks and Caicos. But it is all for a price.

The currency is in good old-fashioned American greenbacks so don't expect the exchange rate to kick in in your favor at the check out counter when you pull out your BofA debit card and ask "how much in American dollars" cuz honey, it's all American money.

Down around those shops are places to buy a Rolex (really? A Rolex?) or straps for your fins (more my style), or the usual puka-shell/shark tooth necklace junk we've all wasted money on more than once.

The Sands also has a tennis court and they've got rackets you can borrow (kids sizes too) which is cool -but you'd better bring a can of balls from the US because the court is surrounded by thick bush and one goes over the fence it is pretty much gone....and refer to my above comment about the general cost of things.

If you've got kids, you can forget about sitting with them in the spa. It sits there on the walk and the kids always want to go in, but the "18 and Over" rule is strictly enforced by resort staff and a few bitter old men and old women who seem to be determined to spend their last few years in sour discontent and unhappiness and report anyone too young to shave sitting quietly in the warm water. Seriously? Yeah. Actung, baby.

There's a gym with a few treadmills and weights to keep (or start) your six-pack abs if that's important to you.

They have a masseuse who will trim your toenails, but we didn't partake.

The pools are great! Two small pools connected by a "river" on either side. The kids had great fun pretending to be explorers. Also the pool alcoves are positioned so that you can camp out there in relative privacy. The larger pool by the beach gets poolside service so you can run up a nice bill drinking Rum Punches all day (worth every penny). The beach is large and wide enough to accommodate families and sand-castles and beach holes and there's a stand-up paddle board, a couple of ocean kayaks, a small catamaran for jaunts out to the reef.

Snorkeling - Nothing to see down there but sand and sea grass and the occasional yellow-tail snapper. The water is nice and clear but it is hike down to Coral Gardens if you want to see anything else (or your could bike it). But even coral gardens is kind of a let-down although sitting here typing this in the cold Northeast, I'd rather be there than here.

WiFi - Nice robust service in the room. Netflix with hardly a glitch.

Service - Staff is friendly and courteous...even when they are kicking you out of the spa. Always a "good morning" and a friendly smile and wave. They cut down green coconuts and showed my kids how to get the water out.

Hemingway's Restaurant - Did Papa ever visit T&C? Does it matter? Great music (Prince's guitarist even), great food, a really nice place to sit in the evening and have an app and enjoy being half a world away from the ennui of western civilization.

All in all, a nice place to stay. I think from a pricing standpoint, very good, if not excellent. Am tempted to try Beaches on the next trip...yes gigantic and the antithesis of intimate, but it seems like quite a party.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent a lot of time researching places to stay in Turks and Caicos and we are extremely happy with our choice. We wanted to stay in Grace Bay and The Sands is in a perfect location. We were there the last week of October 2013 so the prices were a little lower than prime-time. The beach is beautiful, the grounds are pretty, and the rooms are nice. We had an ocean view studio apartment and it was just right for our needs. We ate a few times at Hemingways and we found this restaurant to be our favorite. We did eat at Sevens which was excellent but twice as expensive. Very elegant and I would recommend as a special occasion. We were within walking distance to other hotel restaurants and the town. Also within walking distance is Bight Reef and Smith Reef is a short drive. Smith Reef is outstanding and is a must for snorkeling! We saw 5 stingrays and many other beautiful fish! Bight reef is smaller and they are trying to preserve it so we had to stay in the outer rim area but we still saw many colorful fish and turtles. We went on two snorkeling trips with Island Vibes, which the hotel concierge had set up. We had a lot of fun on both trips, led by Cardy & Tank, and saw starfish, Jojo the dolphin and conch. We also took a scooter tour of the island with Paradise Scooter and our tour guide, Rose, was very informative. We really loved everything about our trip. I would highly recommend a trip to TCI and The Sands!

Room Tip: We asked for ocean view and we had a perfect location. I wanted ocean front but there weren't an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
2,032 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,623 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#8 of 44 in Providenciales
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £145 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing