We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!! ”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Age 25-30
(Homosexual couple)
Water was beautiful!!! One of the best beaches. Resort was good. Room nothing to rave about. Pool was okay. September is off season, so not to much activity in Turks this time of the month. The resort has free activities which included: kayaking, sail boat ride and paddle boarding. Had lots of fun doing each one of these activities. Would recommend the resort. Nice and quiet

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JMV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager003_13, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear JMV22,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at The Sands at Grace Bay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences and that overall your trip was enjoyable and “Beautiful”.

I was happy to see that you found the water and Grace Bay Beach to be beautiful. Providenciales was named Top 10 Islands and Top 25 Beaches in the World by TripAdvisor’s 2014 Travelers’ Choice Awards and the Caribbean’s Leading Beach Destination by the 2013 World Travel Awards. In regards to the month of September it is one of the slowest months on island but there are still quite a few activities. One of the most popular is Thursday Island Fish Fry at the Lower Bight Children’s Park, karaoke at some of the local restaurants and bars, and other tour operation activities to keep you occupied.

Also, we were glad that you enjoyed the complimentary water sports equipment and that you found the resort relaxing and will recommend us.

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Adrian Archer
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    678
    135
    53
    41
See reviews for
552
826
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City Area
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hi all. I'm a bit late in posting this review, as we stayed there June 15 - 21 2013. My husband, daughter, her husband, their 5 year old son and myself. This was our second visit as we were there the year before. This year,we were in condo 4201. This was a two bed and two bath condo with wrap around screened in porch. Bathrooms were redone as was the kitchen with exception of the appliances. They all worked, so no complaints. There was a partical ocean view and we could see the main pool area. Hemingways was slightly to the left of us. We had no problem with any noise. Furniture could have used an update, but it was fine. Loved the washer and dryer. Easy unpacking when I arrived home. Staff was nice and friendly. Condo was clean. I love this place! The beach is the best I've ever been too! Crystal Clear water. We ate at Hemingways and several other restaurants on the Island. Food was good to great. Did make supermarket run, but this year I am cutting back on purchases. Had way too much left over. Did pack non-perishables from home. Yes, we are returning again this summer. I booked it last September, got what I believed was a fantastic price. Going a bit later this year, as the grandson gets out of school late June. Water should be warmer, but I had no problem with it the past two years.

I love the slow pace of this Island as it lends to a very relaxing vacation.

My grandson has one request.....could you please get some parrots for around the property! He loved them when we were in Aruba. He wants to go back there to see the parrots! So please make my life easier by doing the above. LOL

Anyone thinking about going to The Sands at Grace Bay, just do it! It is not an upscale condo resort, but it has all that you will need for an enjoyable reasonable vacation. Great for kids with out breaking the budget.

Hope this review was helpful.

Barb

Room Tip: Upper level ocean view or oceanfront rooms should be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Beach and grounds were great. Food at Hemingways was very good, service was cheerful. Only complaint was our "suite", room 3104. This is a lockout room that should NOT be rented separately from the adjoining rooms. The second door separating our room was missing and every conversation on the other side was clearly heard. The bed and couch were extremely uncomfortable and should be replaced. The "courtyard" location did not allow in any daylight. Our friends had a very nice suite in building #5 with a screen porch, so we had an escape from our "hovel" of a room when we were not at the beach.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Barbara B,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our facilities and service.

I would like to address your concerns. We typically change out beds between 5-7 years based on age and usage. We did go back and check this one in particular and recently had it replaced. With regard to the door, some of our rooms not all, have connecting doors to a 2nd or 3rd bedroom. We had scheduled and replaced this connecting room door with a different type of door to help eliminate noise. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

The room type you mentioned is a Studio Courtyard, is our entry level room type and as described it is indeed located in a courtyard. These are the 2nd or 3rd bedrooms off of a suite and are scattered throughout five different buildings. The next room type above the Studio Courtyard view is Studio Garden view room which may be better suited for your needs. From there comes Studio Ocean and Studio Ocean Front. There are many guests who prefer and enjoy the Studio Courtyard rooms which is why this room category usually sells out quickly. However should you wish, we are more than happy to let you know the availability of the Garden view room category when contacting us at reservations@thesandsresort.com or by phone at 877.777.2637

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention so that we may address or correct any shortfalls. We care greatly about providing excellent services and product and appreciate your feedback. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Sands.

Yours sincerely,

Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I'd like to start out by saying that we unfortunately lost our camera the day before departure, and it had not (yet) been returned. If anyone reading this came across the camera and would like some good karma, please let me know in a comment below. It is a blue nikon underwater camera filled with vacation memories, which we were very sad to lose. We were on hotel grounds at the time. We did ask the hotel staff the next morning, but nothing turned up before our flight out.

That being said, many of the memories left in that camera were fantastic. The gentlemen that run the water sports on the beach were very kind, and happy to take us out for a sail since we had not ridden before. We booked 2 excursions through Big John (he sits at the towel hut). Both of these trips were extremely enjoyable-- getting to see the famed "glow worms" and spending a half day sailing and snorkeling by the reef (with a stop on iguana island). You MUST go snorkeling near the reef. It was breathtaking. The glow worm tour was well worth it, as it only occurs once a month and it was a spectacular sight. Consequently, you also get to experience a sunset on the water before-hand and have all the rum punch, beer, or wine you would like!

There were plenty of bikes available (with the exception of one day where we had to wait, but hey- it happens!). We took many trips to the Supermarket up the road. While some things are pricey, others are quite reasonable. You can save a lot of money by stocking up on some necessities and prepared food from the deli counters (sliced meats, lasagna, salads).

We enjoyed the food at Hemingway's. The prices are a bit high, but given it's location, this is to be expected. It's nice to have a drink on the beach or at a meal, but I would recommend stopping in the duty free shop before boarding your plane to PLS, and bringing a couple of bottles to make homemade rum punch. It saves a ton!

I would say this resort is VERY family friendly (read: lots of children). Take that as you will, as I'm sure you're aware of the pros and cons! Nights were very quiet and it was easy to take a dip in any one of the swimming pools and have them to yourself.

Chairs and umbrellas weren't an issue, as the workers would happily set one up for you if none were available, though space could grow a little tight. I don't think I need to review the water or sand.. it's Grace Bay!

The hotel room was very clean, and service was never an issue. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for the value and location.

Also, just a tip- arrive to the airport early and be prepared to wait and be frustrated regardless… what a mess!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for a better view, as most buildings are set back a ways from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Because of the Tripadvisor ratings for the Sands, we booked there on-line. I called the hotel before booking just to explain our needs and check out the bedding situation. They said it was a 3 bedroom condo.Because I have two sons that are 6'5 and a mother-in-law who is legally blind I wanted to make sure the bedding was adequate and that we would have a ground floor unit.They said this would not be a problem. We made the reservations 6 months out. The morning before we left, I called again to make sure the bedding, etc would be adequate, and they would not confirm a room for us - it's just first come first serve. We were the last plane in on Saturday night and when we arrived at the hotel, they took us to a condo that was not adequate and was not on the ground floor. The units described as 3 bedrooms are not 3 bedrooms, but are 2 bedrooms with a small study.The study had a sofa bed (a double that was like a camp cot) in cramped quarters and there were no linens on the bed. . Two four year olds could have slept on it but not two high school kids. We then had to get two roll aways which completely filled the tiny room. They have the 'study' so they can split out parts of the condo and rent it out separately, which makes it inefficient when the whole unit is used by one family. The condo was dated and the closet doors in the master bedroom had to be leaned against the wall, because they came off their tracks each time they opened. Except for our maid and a few individuals at the restaurant the staff was indifferent and not particularly helpful. I had called three times to the concierge when state side for help with SCUBA reservations and my message left was never answered. When I finally got through to her, she didn't know anything and said to 'go on-line'. We placed drink orders on the beach and the waitress never returned. We called the front desk to ask about local calls and they told how to do this, but didn't say anything about their charges for it. They charge local calls by time and location called. Our toll free call to American Airlines was charged $ 15 - so we had a hefty $90 + dollars tacked to our bill on departure. When my husband asked the manager (Mr. Grant) about the charges, he copped an attitude and said the info was in the 'book' - When asked where the book was, he said, "I don't know". Nothing was posted in our rooms by the phone. When we complained he swiped the credit card but refused to put in the amount of our stay until after we had to leave for the airport.
While the beach is spectacular, every resort on Grace Bay has the same beach and amenities. We would not stay here again. Was it a 'value' price wise? Compared to some places, yes, but we would have gladly paid more for a different location and more updated rooms and attentive staff.
Sash in Dallas

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank csharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managers_responses, Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear csharrison,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We have reviewed your concerns with our team and have addressed some of the areas you mentioned. We are sorry you felt some of our staff was indifferent and unhelpful and have reviewed your comments with our managers. We usually receive many nice comments about our staff and regret your experience was an exception to our norm.

As for your comment regarding phone calls, we must clarify this for readers. Mr. Grant did explain to you that the information about phone calls is in the guest compendium located on the coffee table in the main suite you occupied. All of our guest rooms are equipped with a compendium. Calls from the room are not free of charge and we do not advertise as such. All calls out going calls are subject to phone charges. Additionally, out of country calls whether toll free or not are subject to Caribbean tariffs. This along with phone call pricing is all explained in the hotel directory. There were many phone calls listed on your bill not only American Airlines but not $90 + dollars. Phone calls are posted to your account at the time you make the call and are charged per minute. Please note, at no time did he swipe your credit card however, what he did do was reduce your phone bill with a large discount as a gesture of hospitality since you may not have read the in-room directory.

We are glad there were many aspects of your stay you enjoyed. We hope you give us another try, but I am glad you will return to Turks and Caicos, it truly is a great vacation spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed a week at the Sands with family in a two bedroom suite with a nice view of Grace Bay. The room we stayed in was a little dated, but generally clean, and we did not spend much time inside. The location of this resort is ideal, virtually right in the middle of Grace Bay, and the size of the beach is terrific. We never felt crowded like we observed at several of the other resorts on the beach. The buildings and other features of the resort are set farther back from the water, leaving a much deeper beach area that makes the difference. Also, the resort is not too big so we never felt like we had to compete for pool or beach space. The pool area is nice and and there are kayaks, sailboats and other water sports activities readily available. The resort has an on-site restaurant and there are dozens more within walking distance at other resorts, or in the shopping district. We had a rental car, but next time I would consider taking a shuttle from the airport and not getting a car.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LPS789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at Sands in March 2014. The entire trip was easy. 20 minute cab ride from airport to resort, easy check in. Great resort. Lovely view from our 2 bedroom unit. Everything is close. Concierge made dinner reservations for us at several nearby restaurants. Beach staff set up umbrella and chairs for us and set up excursions for us. We rode bikes to grocery store for snacks. Everyone was very pleasant. Very quiet resort. Gorgeous beach. Best Caribbean vacation we have ever taken.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atlanta44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,973 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#22 of 44 in Providenciales
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Property: The Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing