We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sands at Grace Bay, Turks and Caicos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sands at Grace Bay, Turks and Caicos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went to this hotel in 2013 and came back again this year, 2014. This time we got a 1 bedroom instead of a studio. If you want to cook any, make sure you get a 1 bedroom because you cant with the studio. It only has a small fridge and dishes in it. The other rooms all have full sized kitchens. I love this hotel because it is right in the middle of Grace Bay and is walking distance to "the village" where most of the restaurants and shopping are at. At one of the bay is Beaches and at the other end is Club Med. Most of the hotels are actually condos that people rent out through a hotel. Sands has Hemmingways Restaurant and a great beach. One of the rules on the beach is that there is no loud music which is greatly appreciated! And it is enforced.

Room Tip: If you want to party, this is not the hotel for you as noise irritations are strictly enforced. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaliforniaFlyingHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager003_13, Guest Relations Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear CaliforniaFlyingHigh,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at The Sands at Grace Bay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences and that overall your stay was an excellent one.

Indeed the restaurants and boutiques are conveniently close to the resort and it does make it easier to enjoy a walk to the shopping plazas such as the Regent Village and Salt Mills as well as our beautiful beaches. Hemingway’s has a delicious and reasonably priced menu.

Again, thank we look forward to welcoming you back on your “3rd trip”.

Sunny Regards,

Adrian Archer
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    660
    132
    51
    38
See reviews for
523
802
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from another great vacation at The Sands! This time we brought most of the family for my twin Aunts 50th birthday celebration. They were all blown away and understand why I go back so often. The staff here is wonderful and accommodating. The food and drinks at Hemingways is excellent (never had a bad meal or drink) and the beach is just spectacular. Can't wait to be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear luv2travel0708,

It was so nice to read that you brought the entire family including your twin Aunts for their special 50th birthday celebration to The Sands at Grace Bay. I was delighted to know they too had a wonderful stay.

We appreciate your continued patronage and compliments of our staff, Hemingway’s Restaurant and our spectacular beach. We will share them with the entire team.

Thank you for taking the time to post your survey, we all look forward to your return very soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Sands at Grace Bay is a beautiful resort on a beautiful beach. The resort is older but well kempt and clean. The staff is attentive to your needs in your room, at the beach and at the pool. Lobby staff, beach staff, restaurant staff, room staff and grounds staff were all helpful, pleasant and ready to engage in conversation about the island, the resort and our needs.
Hemmingway's is the resort restaurant right on the beach where we ate several times. Large selection of dishes with comparable prices to other restaurants (also try "Mr. Grouper" which is right around the corner).
We stayed 12 nights. A one bedroom suite with an ocean view suited our budget and our needs. This room worked perfectly for our length of stay. We stocked the full kitchen to help the food budget. Access to the grocery store was easy with a taxi ($20 round trip). Be prepared for the higher prices (although no sales tax at grocery store).
The main attraction for our trip was the beach. It did not disappoint. The most spectacular blue water and white sand. Spent most of our time there. The beach staff had all chairs, towels and equipment you needed to have a wonderful time. Spent a few days using the pools. These were clean and ready for use every day. The garden planted around the pools gave a sense of seclusion and privacy.
A couple of recommendations for the resort. Adding a ceiling fan on the balcony would be nice. The resort should update their website. Some items on the website were out dated.
I'm giving 5 stars for everything because it was a 20th anniversary once in a lifetime trip and The Sands at Grace Bay came through in every way. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pajdok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Love this property!! Our reservation at Blue Haven was messed up and we needed to find a place to stay and The Sands came through. The price of this hotel is probably one of the best on the island for the location. Pool is great and Hemingway's is delicious!! Love the staff. Our room had a few small issues with it, but we aren't picky and just glad to be in paradise.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEJ-MWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I brought my entire family with me on this vacation and it was the best vacation we ever had - Every year we go to either Hawaii or Mexico but the beach here is by far the best we have ever been to. However it wasn't the beach that made the vacation it was the people. We spent 10 days at the hotel and the staff quickly became our friends - Special shout outs For Barbara and Monica who made sure we were very comfortable - there were three or four other women at the front desk that went out of there way for us as well ( i wished I could spell their names properly but the concierge and the women who ran the front desk were phenomenal) - The on site spa offered a great massage and Hemmingways did a great breakfast - Though the Tikki Hut gets our endorsement for the best dinner value and tastiest food - Scuba diving was incredible - we felt that Ocean Vibes had the best guides but the equipment was poor whereas Dive Provo had the best equipment but the guides weren't as good - Provo Ponies is a good stable and snorkeling the bite is a good day trip but none of it would have been as enjoyable if it weren't for the ladies at the front desk. From movie to restaurant reviews - need towels or want to know the best places to shop? The staff was only too ready to help. This is one of the few places that I will go back again - I just hope they remember the tall guy - I rate this place as a 10 out of 10 and hope to be back next summer - Way to go ladies!!!!! Thanks for making the trip so enjoyable!!!!

Room Tip: Go for either Ocean Front or Garden View - Some of the Ocean View rooms don't have a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We adored the Sands and hope to return again and again! It offers the perfect balance of so many things. While the Sands is on spectacular Grace Bay Beach it is positioned so that it is quiet and not crowded in between other resorts. Great attention is given to overall aesthetics - lovely white cushions on pool lounge chairs, white umbrellas, thatched huts on the beach, hammocks in a palm grove and plenty of chairs for everyone. There are many places for people to settle if what they want is quiet! No piped in music...just wonderful peaceful natural beauty. Top quality amenities without being stuffy - exceptionally beautiful and relaxed. The food and drinks were terrific. The Hobie Cat was rigged and ready for some of the best sailing ever, and sailing, masks and snorkels were free of charge. Very easy to schedule snorkeling adventures through the hotel (We recommend Island Vibes - with Captain Moe and Dandre!) Everyone working at the resort is so nice - they treat you like returning friends. Adrian the front desk manager sensed we were a bit frazzled from our travels, and promptly offered us all rum punches. The entire resort is so clean and well cared for. Cociana our housekeeper was very kind and took exceptional care of our condo. While we where at the Sands, there were two weddings and a family reunion, and it never felt too busy or hectic. The water and the beach are absolutely gorgeous! What a special vacation :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstr0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our second visit to The Sands. We visited first 5 years ago as a couple for our 1st anniversary and returned 4 years later with 5 additional family members in tow. It was an even better experience. It was our first family trip abroad and my 3 year old is begging to bring him back already.

Here's why I would recommend The Sands to anyone visiting Turks & Caicos:

- You can't beat the price. It is the most reasonably-priced resort that is located on Grace Bay that still comes with amenities. Nearby resorts charge 3-4x more. You would think that you are sacrificing a lot by staying at a place so much cheaper or that it is really scuzzy, but The Sands is NOT!
- The pool areas are excellent. There are multiple semi-private sitting areas all curved around the different pool areas, surrounded by lush landscaping. My toddler had so much fun walking the "lazy river" (it is only 2.5 ft deep) and going under the little bridges, as well as the kiddy pool.
- The rooms are spacious and our 1-bedroom had a full-sized kitchen which came in handy to make breakfast and snacks. We also loved our enclosed deck, to overlook the property & see the ocean.
- The concierge desk was super helpful. We were traveling with 6 adults & 1 child, and was incredibly patient in helping us plan dinners & activities.
- Elaine from SpaTropique gives a fantastic massage and was super sweet. My mother-in-law agreed and appreciated how comfortable she made her feel for her first body wrap.
- You can walk into town from The Sands (last time we visited, there weren't even sidewalks, but there are now and it is an easy 5 minute straight walk to shops & restaurants.)
- Kayaks, hobie cats, sand toys, towels are available for guests
- You are right on Grace Bay, a beautiful, clean beach that you can walk up and down with ease, enjoying the turquoise water
- Coconut Grove Hammocks is a great hidden, shaded spot to lay in a hammock and read or just relax
- The kitchens are all getting upgraded to stainless steel appliances, so that's nice. In general, it seems like they make sure to keep the property up-to-date.

We rented a car for the entirety of our stay because we like to explore the island and visit different beaches. We used it to go to the grocery store, the Conch Farm, Taylor Bay (2x), Bugaloo's for lunch, out for a paddle-boarding trip with Big Blue Unlimited, etc. So, it was totally worth it rather than relying on taxis.

So, what does The Sands not have?

Room service & indoor restaurants (there is 1 restaurant on the property, Hemingways). So, you really aren't missing much. Sure, there are more luxurious hotels on Provo, but be prepared to pay significantly more for that. For a big ol' family trip, this fit the bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Messin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing